Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zanfel Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash

Zanfel Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash

A specially formulated wash for urushiol-induced contact dermatitis. Urushiol is the toxin known to cause the itching and rash associated with poison ivy, oak, sumac, poisonwood and related plants. The most important step in eliminating the rash is to remove urushiol from the skin. The wash works by surrounding urushiol and bonding with it, enabling it to be rinsed away with water. The wash offers relief at any stage of the reaction and often with only one wash. Most individuals experience relief from the itching within 30 seconds of application. The rash will begin to subside within hours if the reaction is mild to moderate.This tube contains enough product to wash approximately 15 patches the size of an adult hand or face Safe for use by children and pregnant or nursing women Safe for the face and genitals No known side effects
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
4 out of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Review 1 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Cheaper Than a Doctor Bill

Date:June 14, 2013
Pros: Simple To Use, Works Quickly
I had poison ivy so bad once I had to have a steroid shot (+pills to come off it). After that it seems it just takes looking at the stuff to get it. Since I learned of this product in 2004 from a friend I've been able to deal with it at home. The trick is to use exactly as directed, no short cuts or it is a waste of the product. If it starts itching again after a few hours, it just means its time for another treatment as more urushiol is coming out of the bumps or it was picked up again from something (towels, clothes, bed sheets, etc). I have to follow a strict wash-everything routine to keep from re-infecting myself elsewhere. While I've come across one other (store brand) product with almost the same ingredients, it took more of that product and dried my skin out, so even though it was slightly cheaper I prefer to spend the money for this and watch for sales to get a tube before I need it.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Middle
California
Posted October 2, 2013
Have you ever found this on sale? Where?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

IT WORKS

Date:July 19, 2011
I had poison ivy on my stomach that spread everywhere...while this is expensive for such a small amount - it is worth it!
The "wash" is gritty - so when you use it, you get instant relief from the desire to scratch.
The next day - the rash started to dry up and by the end of the week, it was gone.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
David
Houston
Posted June 29, 2012
Waste of time and money. Poison ivy affects nervous circulation system, this is wht causes rash. The wash does nothing for this reaction, and it actually can spread the plant sap if you have been exposed. Unless you are a doctor, you need to see a doctor to stop the reaction from lasting 6-10 weeks. Just get real medicine and real help. Yes I tried it, I had the time and money to waste, but this did not help any more than a regular soap.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lexington, KY

Found Relief I Thought Would NEVER Come!

Date:August 2, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Safe, Promotes Healing, Effective
Relief came so quickly when I used this! Followed the directions exactly. I had a VERY bad case of poison ivy. Every time I get it, it seems to be worse. I feel very fortunate the Zanfel is around now! I was miserable before I found it. I had the oozing, itchy blisters and I was sure it was going to scar. I used the Zanfel and it stopped itching and cleared up in just a couple of day with NO scar afterward!
I know it's expensive but there is nothing that compares to this product! Believe me I have tried many things, some not so conventional and Zanfel is the only thing offered relief, and FAST!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
itchy victim
Milton, WI
Posted August 7, 2013
This stuff works great! nothing comes close. I've been suffering for 4 days with the itching and big ol blisters. after using calamine lotion and home rems, used two applications so far and the red rash has gone away still left with the blisters and a little itch but its tolerable now. just wish I heard of this stuff sooner! a little pricey but it does work with the moderate allergic reaction I had.( up and down both legs and on my arms) aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh sweeeeet relief!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Natick, MA

Will stop the ITCH!!!

Date:July 29, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Nothing
This medicine relieves the itch for up to 6 hours. The poison Ivy dried up after a couple days of use. If you are expecting the medication to take the symptoms away instantly, it's not going to happen. I loved the product becuse it relieved the itch and got me through this horrible time of having poison Ivy. It's worth every penny.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sykesville, MD

Great Stuff

Date:April 25, 2009
Pros: Promotes Healing, Easy To Use, Safe, Effective
This stuff is great. It's the best remedy I've ever used for Poison Ivy.
Review 6 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Monroe OH

this is a keeper

Date:September 23, 2007
Pros: Effective, Promotes Healing, Easy To Use, Safe
My husband is very allegeric to posion ivy and his physician recommended this and ZanFel. The two work wonders!! My nephew came over to visit and he had it every where and was just plan miserable. He had so much pink suff he could have been a peep. I had him get a shower and wash it off the pink & then scrubbed him down with Zanfel. I just gloves and let that sit for a few minutes and rised him off then sprayed him down with Ivy Dry. The posion ivy was no longer itching and most was gone by morning! The only draw back is that the Ivy Dry does sting a little at first but it is really worth it.
Review 7 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA

A miracle treatment

Date:June 5, 2007
Pros: Promotes Healing, Effective, Safe, Easy To Use
This stuff is extremely expensive but worth every last penny. It's so effective, I stock an extra bottle in the house. Very easy to use and provides immediate relief -- head and shoulders above any OTC treatment out there. Not like other soaps that are supposed to wash off the poison oak oils. Can be used well after the point of infection.
Review 8 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA

I believe this is a cure for poison ivy!

Date:May 24, 2007
Pros: Easy To Use, Promotes Healing, Cleared it up in 2 days, Effective
My husband and I did some yard work and didn't realize we were handling poison ivy. It got ALL over our entire body. We suffered for a week with intense itching and constant scratching. We tried all of the other over-the-counter ointments and creams, but nothing seemed to work. We felt like it was a no win situation until we found Zanfel [...]. It cleared us up in 2 days! I believe Zanfel is worth every cent.
Review 9 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA

Very best poison oak remedy

Date:April 9, 2007
Pros: Safe, No Side Effects, Promotes Healing, Works Fast, Effective
It often only takes one application to work. Works almost as well as prednizone without the internal nasty side effects. It is absolutely the best and worth the extra money.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cumming, GA

It works, best stuff on the market

Date:February 26, 2007
Pros: Promotes Healing, Effective, Easy To Use, Safe
[...] Stuff removed the poison ivy in a matter of days. It stops the itch almost immediately.
Review 11 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Great product!

Date:June 20, 2013
I get poison ivy at least once a year. This product seemed a little expensive but having tried everything else I was willing to try it. In two uses my poison ivy began to dry up and stopped itching. I would definitely recommend!
Review 12 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-65
Gender:male

Best I have found

Date:July 20, 2012
Pros: Good results
Cons: None
I am a believer.. This is the best over the counter product I have ever found for poison ivy. It is very effective and easy to use. Use as hot as you can stand water with the wash and use it as soon as you feel you have been exposed. I work in the woods and in shrubs all the time and have used Zanfel many times. I have never been disappointed.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Marquette Heights, Illinois

amazing

Date:June 15, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Promotes Healing, Safe, Effective
My daughter got into some poison ivy that I was not aware of. Usually we take a cold shower and wash with dawn dish soap anytime we think we might have come in contact (seems to stop severe breakouts for us), not this time. She has it everywhere. Went to the Dr., he gave us the steroid and told me to give her allergy pills every six hours, this didn't stop the itch. I used the wash twice about 7 hours apart and she is looking better but best of all she is not scratching the spots open. If the wash stops the itch for 5-6 hours it is worth the price and then some. I have used it before myself and was surprised by the results i got. Anyone who has had a severe case of poison ivy knows there is no price on itch relief, especially at bedtime.
Review 14 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ

It is a life saver for our family.

Date:July 13, 2008
Pros: Effective
It works great for us, I am sorry some people don't get the same effect. You have to apply it a couple of time before the itch stays away for good, but you get essentially immediate, genuine, relief from the itch. I've never found any other poison ivy product that does that.
There is a generic version called "poison ivy oak wash" for half the price. That is what we used.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Irving, TX ( DFW Metroplex )

Expensive & Sounds Unrealistic BUT WORKS

Date:June 2, 2008
Pros: Works faster than you do, Heals systemic reactions, Safe, Promotes Healing, Easy To Use, Actually removes allergen, Effective
Cons: Slightly expensive, Messy, Harsh, Difficult to believe
IT WORKS - IT WORKS – IT WORKS. I didn't believe it and wouldn't have tried it, especially at that cost, except that my mother bought it for my son. I, for some reason known only to He above, don't get it...but I do pass it along with cloths, etc. That said, I wasn't the one itching and I do know that those that get infected can get it bad. But, THIS STUFF REALLY WORKS!!! No doubt about it. Cost doesn't matter as much when relief is to be had. Both my wife and son have gotten it systemically, that is to say it got into their blood or lymphatic system and little dots kept popping up for almost a week. Every time one popped up, it got scrubbed and the itching went away. Those that say it doesn't work have either used it wrong or have systemic reactions which ALWAYS NEED A DR’s INTERVENTION, and didn't get it. GOOD JOB ZANFEL. I personally & professionally recommend this to anyone and everyone with Poison Ivy, etc. Sometimes I will give them a tube and bet them double or nothing for the cost of the tube. NEVER LOST! This works by removing the root of the problem, Urushiol. For those interested, soap works by creating a molecule where it has a big head with an attraction to dirt and a long tail with an attraction to water. Wash, and the dirt sticks to the head and the tail washes away with water. Zanfel works the same way, only somehow Zanfel Laboratories have found a head that has an affinity to Urushiol and a tail to water. Wash, and the Urushiol is removed with the tail. P-R-E-T-T-Y SWEET!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego

Only thing I've found that works

Date:July 5, 2007
Pros: Easy To Use, Effective
Cons: Expensive
I have had poison oak more times than I can remember. Of all the 'remedies' I have tried, Zanfel is the only thing that works. There are two caveat's; A) It's expensive and B) If the poison oak has gone systemic, it won't help, only a steroid injection or oral steroid pills (usually cortisone) will work once it goes systemic. Also, once you get it, make sure you wash everything that might have come in contact with the oils, including clothes, and things you touched after you came in contact with poison oak. You can easily reinfect yourself..
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ant w
pembroke
Posted August 28, 2012
waste of money dont buy it didnt work for me at all i get poison everything all the time and this was a waste total let down
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX

Eases itching...for a while

Date:May 8, 2010
Pros: Instant relief, Easy To Use, Effective
Cons: Temporary fix
Applied within one day of rash appearing. Got instant relief from serious itching. However, the relief lasts only about 3-4 hours for me, then returns pretty much to full strength. Also do not expect it to stop other outbreaks elsewhere. It does really relieve the itching very quickly but sadly I have not found the relief to be permanent as some others claim. For [$] a tube, that's a disappointment.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Delaware

Works on some but not others

Date:March 15, 2009
Pros: Safe, Easy To Use
From what I see in the reveiws, the product only works on half of those who use it. So I would say it's a gamble. Either try it, and/or suffer with poison ivy.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Church Point, LA

Made it WORSE!

Date:July 21, 2009
Cons: Ineffective
I paid a small fortune for this stuff. When I used it, the rash wash fairly big, but no oozing blisters yet, because I had not scratched it. After using Zanfel the first time I developed big oozing blisters. I tried it 2 more times and each time the blisters got worse. I actually have to keep my arm wrapped in gauze because they ooze and drip down my arm if I don't. I will never use this again, and do not recommend it to anyone. Especially not for the price you have to pay and it may make it worse.
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted July 11, 2012
The same thing happened to me!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Wash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Murfreesboro, TN

Didn't work

Date:May 26, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Ineffective
I used the product as instructed and it didn't provide any relief. I went to the Dr. and paid a $20.00 co-pay and the relief was pretty quick. If you have insurance pay your co-pay and get the shot. [...]
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>