Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NCR Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit

NCR Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit

Perfect for home and business use Refills most black inkjet cartridges including HP, Canon, Epson and Lexmark Fast, easy refills with no mess Cartridge not includedContains: Four 20 mL blackTwo 20 mL cleaning solutionOne toolkit/instructions
Average Customer Rating:
2.786 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
18
3 out of 6(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Review 1 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Benson, NC

Love it!! Read my tips!!!

Date:September 1, 2009
Pros: Long Lasting Color, Long Cartridge Life, Dries Quickly
Cons: None
Number 1 Rule: Use gloves and prepare this over the kitchen sink, in case of spill (cleans easily on stainless steel)
I have a HP Photosmart printer all in one
First what I do is fill the syringe with the ink
Go very slow, and try to get all the air out of the needle first. This is like adding insulin to a needle)
Then I pull the sticker off of the cartridge, and look for little holes with sponge type material behind it... There should be 3 pin holes. I usually add ink to each hole. Go slow and watch, as if too much ink is added, it will overflow.
I love this product, has saved me tons of money and gets easier as you use it..just be prepared your first time to make a little mess.... get gloves.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gary W
Las Vegas NV
Posted December 12, 2011
Search for video instructions on Youtube. The best one is posted by inkmizer. You won't have any trouble once you watch it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:kentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:male

works well

Date:August 22, 2010
Pros: very cheap, good quality ink
Cons: Poor instructions, can be very messy, poorly made syringes
instructions not very clear, can be very messy, wear gloves and use on disposable surface. works great with hp 920 cartridges, syringe that comes with not very good, needles work fine, very good quality ink, very very concentrated will clean up with water saves me a fortune, refilled over ten times so far works great
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Verona Wis

It work Great if you read the book 1st

Date:April 28, 2008
Pros: Saves you a trip, Saves you money, Sharp Tones & Colors, Clean Replacement, Long Cartridge Life, Gives you control
Cons: Some trial error
We use ink round here like it was water. So yes refills are of great importance. I only wish I could wash the pages off and reuse them as well.
Refilling does work and works well if you follow the guide as some brands are less for giving than others and need a bit more coaxing or care mostly the key is to not let them dry out.
How do they dry out? By letting them run dry & waiting weeks to say "hey hon can you see whats wrong with the printer?" As if, what could be wrong other than out of ink, or a paper jam.
My wife can't stand reading anything document of length on the computer monitor. She has to have a hard copy in her hands. She even writes everything
out long hand first and then types it in afterwards edits the typed page with red pen and re-does it again. Why dear God Why ?
My friends anyone who has a working brain, a computers purpose is supposed to make your life, my life, everybodys life easier. How ? By doing repeative tasks of any origin it's why we use them in offices, machine shops, making music, not used to do things you need do only once.
If you only need to do anything just once you don't need a Computer! period you merely need a Typewriter! A pen and paper. Which by the way all said variants do also use paper and ink, the rebutal so what's the difference ?

Basiclly making the reason for having a computer a moot point, as she continues to kill tree's printing out everything and then stashing hundereds of printed pages everywhere.
I'm guess some day she'll discover the database software and want to create a database to hold the locations of each printed document. Which would be a correct reason to have and use a PC.
As for the monent, she's single handedly undone 30yrs of technological progress and killing the reason for making advancements of any kind by working the whole thing backasswards. HELP !
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OHIO

It works fine, ignore other reviews!

Date:January 20, 2010
Pros: Easy to refill, Sharp Tones & Colors, Long Lasting Color, Clean Replacement, Dries Quickly
Cons: None
I bought this product even though some of the reviews aren't good, but it works great and saved me a lot of money! I didn't get ink all over the place and it was very easy to do! Ignore the negative reviews they obviously didn't refill their cartridge right and weren't very careful.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:kansas

worked fine for my canon!

Date:May 10, 2009
Pros: Clean Replacement, Worked fine
Cons: Nothing fancy but not bad
wasnt hard w/ my canon cartridge...just pulled off a sticker, found the predrilled hole, put the syringe on a refill tube & used one up. [$]not messy at all, just go slow
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fort Lewis, WA

pretty basic

Date:January 16, 2009
Pros: Solid dark black
Cons: Messy Replacement
This was the first time I have used a refill kit. I bought it because walgreens couldn't refill my cartridges. It was about as simple as I would have expected. I wasn't expecting to have to use the drill to get the syringe needle into the fill hole. Once I got the hang of it it was pretty simple. However fill slowly because when the tank gets full it squirts out all over the place (thankful for magic erasers!). I will definately go and buy the color refill kit now that I know what to expect. I definately recommend this for anyone willing to do a little dirty work to save a lot of money.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TARPON SPRINGS, FL

GET GLOVES DO OVER SINK

Date:February 21, 2010
GET GLOVES AND REFILL OVER SINK!!!! I LOOK LIKE I VOTED IN IRAQ ELECTION. BUT IT WORKED WELL OVERALL. THE PROBLEMS WERE MY FAULT. SO FAR PRINTING IS CLEAR AND CLEAN. HP 564 CART BLK
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO

DO NOT BUY THIS FOR LEXMARK 36 CARTRIDGE

Date:May 1, 2010
Pros: Seemed Inexpensive
Cons: Doesn't Work
We were in need of an ink refill. Purchased kit to refill cartridge. Apparently Lexmark has a fuse or something inside the cartridge that prevents it from working after you refill it.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Villa Rica, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Ink

Date:May 7, 2011
Cons: it is miss leading, the 30 ml kit is not sold for purchase
Kit does not contain the hand spike for acess into the ink barrel. With reading the Contents one will think that would be included in the kit./instructions until you read the instructions included inside.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
will
florida
Posted March 11, 2012
Pros: Needed ink on a Sunday, everything was closed, works well for Canon 220 Black.
Cons: Poor instructions, but enough to get you through the project, make sure you have a surface or something to catch the mess.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Putney, VT
Age:35-44
Gender:male

**DO NOT USE THIS**

Date:August 3, 2012
I did a refill according to the directions. the ink leaks out the bottom of the cartridge and ruined my brand new printer!!
Just spend the money on a new cartridge unless you want to replace your whole printer like me.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Javee
Los Angeles
Posted September 8, 2013
I tried it on my ip3000 the ink dripped because it not meant for cartriges that have big holes on the end but I refilled my mp160 and ip600 and they work like a charm basically pg40 or pg50 ink cartiges work just drill a hole in them
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Exploding Ink

Date:June 25, 2012
Followed all the directions and it exploded all over me and my wife.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:mn

you want save money?

Date:April 14, 2010
Pros: Clean Replacement, Sharp Tones & Colors
there are 4 containers i use one and i save 3 in the future. each one is 20 ml. that was nice way to save money.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
momlivingincarrollton
Carrollton Tx
Posted November 3, 2013
I just purchased this produced it was easy to refill my Lexmark 34 black ink cartridge 'works great. Saved me money.thanks
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:C. Texas

Save lots of money & time w/ patience!

Date:October 12, 2009
Pros: Save lots of money, Great Value, Long Cartridge Life, Clean Replacement
Cons: Need to be patient, Not an OEM replacement
For home/personal use.
A great alternative to short-lasting, marginal quality, pricey remanf'/refilled cartridges.
Depending on printer & cartridge condition, results may vary. Inks differ from brand-to-brand of printer cartridges. Give the printer time to do its calibration/diagnostics to make sure there is no blurring/smudging/bleeding.
I can likely get 6-8 refills from this kit. For my needs, this is ideal.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rio Rancho, NM
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Money Saver that is easy to use!

Date:April 5, 2014
Pros: Easy To Use, QUICK, ECONOMICAL
This ink refill kit works great, and saves a ton of money! I was able to refill both my color and black ink cartridges in about 15 minutes, and still had a ton of ink remaining in the kit! I estimate that I'll be able to refill the cartridges about three more times with this kit, which will save me about $200.
If you are tech savvy in the least you'll be able to refill the ink cartridges without instructions. I did find that the hand screw tool included in the kit doesn't work well. Instead, I used a drill bit and electric drill to bore out the hole in a matter of seconds.
Review 15 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ripon, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Saves hundreds of dollars!

Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: more than all you need
Cons: A bit messy
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 16 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson

Worth the money

Date:April 3, 2010
Pros: Long Lasting Color, Easy to Replace, Dries Quickly, Clean Replacement
Instructions aren't perfect, but are good enough to get you there. Otherwise worked perfectly. Easy and not messy.
Review 17 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MA

smeary and messy

Date:March 25, 2010
Pros: Output smeary looking, Container no good dispens, Print drifts on parer
Cons: Use a bottle with lid, Needs quick dry solvent, Messy Replacement, Smears easily
the fat dispenser 'syringe type container' did not dispense through tip much, but popped open all over everything in back. use a botle with a lid, not a gimmick.
the ink dries slowly and drifts on the paper, giving a smeary look. use a fast drying solvent.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
josie
fort wayne, indiana
Posted January 27, 2012
there is no clear instruction on how to use the white bottle. where do you inject it? how much do i need to inject on the cartridge? is there a video that i could watch so i will not make a mistake?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rhode Island

works great ease of use big savings$$$$$

Date:January 13, 2010
Pros: Ease of use
Cons: NO PROBLEM
ease of use, will purchase again, big savings $$$$$.
Review 19 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Il

Not worth it-Very MESSY!!!!!

Date:November 12, 2009
Cons: Messy Replacement
[...] This kit is horrible! best bet is to buy a syringe to avoid the mess and please wear golves. Wish i read the reviews before i started.
Review 20 for Universal Black Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:san francisco, ca

wear the gloves...seriously

Date:September 15, 2009
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, Dries Quickly
Cons: Messy Replacement
i thought i could handle it without the gloves...my fingers are still black. the ones that come with the kit were way too big and awkward (thats why i tried to do it without). probably better off buying a cheap box of fitted latex or vinyl. the syringe was a little bit hard to depress, so use gentle pressure. i pushed way too hard and got it all over the place. totally my fault, though. all in all, worth it. my hp 74 cartridge will prob get 10 or 12 refills for [$]
1 2 3 next>>