Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NCR Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit

NCR Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit

Perfect for home and business use Refills most color inkjet cartridges including HP, Canon, Epson and Lexmark Fast, easy refills with no mess Cartridge not includedContains: Two 20ml cyanTwo 20ml magentaTwo 20ml yellowTwo 20ml cleaning solutionOne tool kit/instructionsMade in China
Average Customer Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Review 1 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rio Rancho, NM
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Saves money, and works flawlessly!

Date:April 5, 2014
Pros: Easy To Use, ECONOMICAL, straightforward
Cons: hand screw is difficult to use
This ink refill kit works great, and saves a ton of money! I was able to refill both my color and black ink cartridges in about 15 minutes, and still had a ton of ink remaining in the kit! I estimate that I'll be able to refill the cartridges about three more times with this kit, which will save me about $200.
If you are tech savvy in the least you'll be able to refill the ink cartridges without instructions. You'll need to figure out what hole corresponds to each color, but other than that, the process is self-explanatory. I did find that the hand screw tool included in the kit doesn't work well. Instead, I used a drill bit and electric drill to bore out the hole in a matter of seconds.
Review 2 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:st.Pete,Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:male

save lots of money

Date:March 30, 2014
Pros: colors interchangable, cost is minicule, inks are useable for a long while
Cons: canbe abit messy
Going back to get seconds.Inks are interchangeable so you can use colors for black saving lots of money. Is abit messy,but well worth the cleanup.
Review 3 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Diaster

Date:February 3, 2014
Cons: Messy, Not easy to use
I bought this kit to save a few bucks and I will rather go back to buying the regular ink from dell the mess is ridiculous and its so difficult to use
Review 4 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Just buy a new replacement & avoid headache

Date:October 27, 2013
Pros: 2 bottles of each color decent amount of ink
Cons: syringe/bottle design, "cleaning solution" won't really fix a clog, messy & annoying
For trying to save a grand total of nine dollars compared to the cost of an actual HP replacement cartridge, I purchased this kit. The type of syringe bottle in this kit is terrible, you have to press so hard on the plunger to get the ink flowing but in doing so you will likely spray it everywhere. There's the finest line of hand pressure between the ink not flowing at all or spraying out.
While not a fault of this product, only after opening it and reading the instructions did it point out that if your cartridge has been empty for a while, the remaining bit of ink inside has probably dried and clogged the print head. So after making a mess and refilling all three colors, I still only get blue out of the cartridge as I was in the first place, red and yellow must be clogged shut. The kit includes a cleaning solution that says if you soak a bit in a paper towel and then sit the cartridge on top of it for a few minutes, it might be able to free up the clog. This did not work for me.
So at the end of the day I spent money on this and will still be going out to purchase a full replacement at the store later tonight. The only saving grace is that perhaps I will be able to use this kit to maintain the new cartridge I'm going to purchase as long as I pay close attention and don't let the new one sit empty for too long so that it clogs up. So maybe I'll still get part of my money's worth, but when that day comes and the new cartridge is empty, I'm not sure I'll really want to grab this kit out of the drawer and deal with the hassle again.
If you insist on trying to refill an empty cartridge, find a kit that includes normal syringes and not these squeeze bottles that you attach a needle to.
Also the instructions for this kit are a typical poor foreign translation and won't really give you any better understanding than just looking at what comes in the package and using your best guess to figure it out for yourself.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dissapointed
Tulsa, Ok.
Posted February 12, 2014
Poor syringe and needle design. The needle does not fit the syringe properly. It is so loose that even with care to firmly seat the needle it is still so loose the needle falls off just by turning both to the desired position to fill the cartridge. Of course when that happens ink is everywhere you don't want it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male

Tedious, Difficult, Fails with Plenty of Mess!

Date:October 10, 2013
Pros: black ink was really black and got on everything!
Cons: Worthless
Didn't have instructions for my cartridge--no way to tell from outside package. You tube video somewhat helpful. Package states "Fast, Easy, Refills, with No Mess!" Tedious, Difficult, Fails, Stained Fingers was my experience. Spent $20 to squirt ink all over kitchen sink, counter, and the empty cartridge. Whole kit and cartridges went into the trash.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:suburban chicago
Age:55-65
Gender:male

works great but...

Date:November 9, 2012
Pros: very cost effective, once you get the hang of it easy to refill
Cons: Can be messy, can ruin cartridge and printer if done incorrectly
I started using the NCR black ink refill kits 2 yrs ago to refill my HP74 ctgs. I have not used the color refill kits. This pdt saves me a ton of $ and works fine, but i strongly suggest a couple of things - 1) Watch several youtube videos on ink refill before you try it the first time, 2) don't totally refill the cartridge because you risk overfilling which creates a huge mess and ruins the cartridge. I refill mine maybe one-half way (its a guess becos there is no visual gauge) and 3) refill cartridges only 5 times max, any more and they seem to stop working
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pookie
Florida
Posted August 4, 2013
First work in a slop sink or protect your kitchen sink with a piece of cardboard and some paper towels. Next get yourself a pair of latex gloves. Look in your kit for a syringe that doesn't have a silver ball in it. I don't know what that stupid ball is for inside the syringe, but it cost me half my yellow ink trying to push the ink through the needle with the silver ball in it. It ended up squirting back at me, luckily I was wearing a junky tee shirt and it didn't hit my face! Once I changed out the needle, it was smooth sailing from there. I hope this is helpful for you. Clean up is easy with Clorox Clean Up.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Joppa MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female

NOT universal

Date:February 2, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: no list of compatible /imcompatible products
Beware, I bought this for Brother MFC-240C all in one and it says it is universal and it is not compatible. There is no way to tell by looking at the product discription or packageing whether it will work for you. By the time i needed it I just missed the return/Crdit deadline and I paid full price.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted February 3, 2013
why would you have bought this, it doesnt list brother on the front as one of the printers?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female

From Years of Experience

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: top quality ink
Cons: the squeeze fillers are a bad idea
I have used ink jet refill kits since the days of a Xerox 450 (back in the late 90's) - & this kit has some of the best ink you can get in a kit.
Here are a few tips I have learned through the years:
1) Do the refilling IN the kitchen sink for easier clean up
2) Invest in a GOOD pair of kitchen gloves
3) Use a normal syringe from another kit & suck the ink out of the squeeze bottles - the squeeze bottles are awkward to use
4) Put a small piece of tape over the printing head while you are working - cuts way down on the mess & helps to protect the delicate parts - and remove the tape OVER the sink once you have resealed the fill hole JUST IN CASE - the ink will run out of the cartridge if the fill hole is not properly sealed
5) If your printer does recognize the tank has been refilled, try putting another (empty) cartridge in your printer, let it tell you it is empty, and then change cartridges again and tell your printer that you have installed a new cartridge - fools about half of the printers!
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female

ugh

Date:September 22, 2011
Pros: Great Value
Cons: hard to use easy to mess up
It was a little hard to push the plunger down to get enough ink through the syringe. The syringe kept popping off, too. The cartridge worked fine after reinstalling in my printer, but the computer said the ink was still at a low level. I decided to take it out and refill it some more. This time I pushed too hard and the ink spilled over into the wrong holes. Now my thumb is blue (I did wear the gloves, but maybe I made a hole?), but worse, the printer is printing out the wrong colors because of my mishap. I guess I should stick with refilling the black-only cartridge to avoid color mixing.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:male

its ok

Date:August 4, 2011
It's ok to use it for 2 to 3 time refill
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:UT
Age:25-34
Gender:male

AWESOME!!!

Date:July 1, 2011
Pros: Great Value, high quality ink
Cons: messy of course but that is half of the fun.
Great Quality Ink. Works AWESOME!!! Yes it is messy and time consuming to keep refilling, but so very worth it. Printing is almost free compared to geniune ink costs!!!
Review 12 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Age:45-54
Gender:female

This Is The Only Way To Replace Empty Ink Cartridg

Date:March 16, 2011
Pros: price is great, only takes a few minutes, print quality is great, twice the ink @ half the cost, you can use same cartridge over and over
Cons: can be a little messy at first
VALUE, VALUE, VALUE, This Package Contains 2-TWO TIMES the AMOUNT of INK, For LESS THAN HALF The PRICE of Brand Name Replacement Ink Cartridges. Instructions Are Simple & EASY to FOLLOW.
My first couple of times refilling cartridges, did
leave me with ink on finger tips. But after I got the hang of it, I was done in less than 10 minutes, with no tell tale signs. And the money I save allows me to Print freely without worrying about the cost of more ink. I've been using this product for alot of years and never had a cartridge blow out or damage a printer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Age:55-65
Gender:male

Me

Date:January 16, 2011
All H P cartridges are easy to refill with this or any kit. The only problem is unless you buy a brand new cartridge the computer will not show that the cartridge is full. There is a new number in each cartridge that tells the computer that a new cartridge is installed.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Cruces, NM

Don't buy these!!

Date:May 2, 2010
Cons: Messy Replacement
I bought this cause I wanted to save money and I filled a cartridge up with this ink and I put it in my printer and the printer says I'm out of ink. So even though you refill it it doesn't register than you refilled it. I have a canon Pixma. [...]
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Steve K
Park Ridge IL
Posted April 29, 2013
So do I, and they have to be reset with a special chip resetter. You can get these online and they are not very expensive. It is really worthwhile if you intend to keep your printer.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA

This rocks!

Date:September 9, 2009
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Messy Replacement
I'm printing flyers that contain a lot of color and graphics. My color cartridge didn't last long so I watched a video on youtube on how to refill the cartridge and bought the refill kit.
I followed the directions in the kit and refilled the color cartridge for my HP Officejet 4315 all in one and Canon MP470. I wore the gloves and was very careful not to press the plunger hard after I was a little overzealous with the red ink.
The process was super easy, not as messy as I had expected, and my printers are printing in color perfectly. I'll never go back to paying ridiculous prices for cartridges!! :)
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA

Printer won't recognize refill

Date:August 18, 2009
Cons: Messy Replacement
I used the black refill kit and would like to give some advice because that one did work. Use the gloves that are included in the package. Check your needle to see if one of the little balls has lodged into the top as it will prevent ink from flowing through the needle! Make sure you attach the needle firmly onto the ink dispenser by pressing it firmly. The dispenser should be on a hard flat surface. Make sure it is snug!!! The black ink refill works fine but both my printers didn't recognize the refilled color cartriges and one of them made a big mess in the printer! This is a very messy job, no matter how careful you are you can expect to get ink all over the place and after all that the printer won't recognize it.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hattiesburg, MS

Saves Time and Money

Date:July 29, 2009
Pros: Long Lasting Color, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Messy Replacement
This is a great alternative to replacement cartridges. I have a Brother MFC4020 and Walgreens cannot refill these. For under $20 you can refill all the colors. You need to wear the gloves and have some damp towels for cleanup, but other than that it works great.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX

Buy this

Date:April 13, 2009
Pros: Easy and cheap
Cons: Instructions are poor
Refilled my cartridges while watching TV. Doesn't claim to work on Multi-Function Printers (I have a Brother MFC 3240C) so instructions were useless. I just grabbed a needle, popped it on the right color, stuck it into the hole, squeezed, cleaned up, and I was in business. Yeah, the ink got on my fingers and I should have worn gloves but, other than that, a 10!
Review 19 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Chester, PA

Bought it and will buy it again.

Date:February 8, 2009
Pros: Long Lasting Color, Sharp Tones & Colors, Dries Quickly
Cons: Messy at 1st then better
Wear gloves, have paper towels (some damp). I have a Canon printer. First time it took a while to figure it out, drill holes, overfilled cartridge reservoir. Make sure you push needle FIRMLY onto the refill supply nipple or else! By 3rd time, no problems.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Color Inkjet Refill Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:lakewood, ohio

junk

Date:February 2, 2009
Cons: Messy Replacement
worthless piece of junk
1 2 next>>