Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Natrol 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules

Natrol 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules

Relaxing* Double Strength 5-HTP 100mg Dietary SupplementPromotes Balanced Serotonin Levels* Helps Enhance Mood* Helps Control Appetite*Natrol® 5-HTP is all natural and helps enhance mood and outlook, and was created with your lifestyle in mind. Taken daily, it helps to balance your brain's natural serotonin levels so you can balance the rest of your life.*Oftentimes, unsettling feelings and an indifferent mood can lead to unhealthy eating patterns. That's when you know you need to just relax and take five! 5-HTP from Natrol, that is, which helps enhance mood. As nutritional science continues to uncover more benefits from nature, scientific studies have demonstrated the significant value of 5-HTP.*Serotonin is a compound found in the body and concentrated especially in the brain. This neurotransmitter is responsible for regulation of mood and behavior. Having adequate levels of serotonin can help in feeling calm and relaxed; Having too little sometimes leads to irritability and uneasiness.*Taking Natrol® 5-HTP can help. Natrol® 5-HTP, naturally derived from Griffonia seeds, converts to serotonin in the brain and liver; balancing the body's serotonin levels to help enhance mood and control appetite naturally. It helps you maintain a positive, healthy and restful look.**These statements have not been evaluated by the Food & Drug Administration.Does Not Contain:Yeast Wheat Corn Milk Egg Soy Glutens Artificial Colors or Flavors Added Sugar or PreservativesHelp enhance your mood naturally with double-strength Natrol® 5-HTP!Questions? call 1-800-2-NATROL or visit natrol.com30 Capsules
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 2(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Review 1 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good value

Date:December 24, 2013
I've tried SAMe, and it gets pricey to maintain the right effect and mood balance. Will give it a try to 5-HTP
Review 2 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Petaluma, CA
Gender:female

5-HTP

Date:October 1, 2013
This over the counter mood enhancer really helps me. Taking this product along with my normal mood enhancers, from my doctor, works just right together. I have to say that I've used the same brand but it was sustained release. If I had to choose between the two, I would spend a bit more and purchase the sustained release. It keeps things more level, if you get my drift.
Review 3 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:texas

great deal

Date:May 4, 2010
Pros: Just what I wanted
I use this often and was glad to find it on special.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco

Recommend It!

Date:February 18, 2010
Pros: No Side Effects, Simple To Take
Product delivers as promised! Everyday is simply a good day! What more could you ask?
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA

A higher concentration on life!

Date:January 25, 2010
Pros: Simple To Take, Alleviates Symptoms, Quick-Acting, Long-Lasting, No Side Effects
I use this product to cast out negative thoughts, to be happier, help support my healthy lifestyle & sleep better. I have been using it for a week & a half & noticed a difference by day 2. I feel an even larger difference since then & am enjoying being able to concentrate at work, school & not letting my lack of coping with life reflect upon my children! I take it in addition to therapy & can't wait until I get to my 6 months of feeling terrific!
Review 6 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona

WORKS FOR ME!

Date:May 30, 2009
Pros: Alleviates Symptoms, Quick-Acting, Long-Lasting, No Side Effects, Simple To Take
Cons: Results Fade Over Time
This product is amazing! It makes me naturally happy and energetic and it's non-addictive as well. Also, one is enough. It eliminates hunger better than any hunger suppressant i've ever taken. If anything it works too well, sometimes I have to force myself to eat! Which could be a good or bad thing. I've had no bad side effects. Never the less; great stuff, I highly reccommend it.
Review 7 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midwest

Migraine, depression, insomnia relief

Date:November 14, 2008
Pros: Alleviates Symptoms, No Side Effects, Quick-Acting, Long-Lasting, Simple To Take
I have to absolutally recommend this product. I've tried fish oil, St. John's Wort and SAMe and none gave me the results that the 5-htp does. To sum it up, I've noticed a handful of what I thought were unrelated symptoms cropping up in the last few years. Insomnia, wierd sleep patterns, weight gain, overall pain and fatigue, and lately a lingering depression that was starting to worry me. But what really drove me to look for a solution was headaches that were getting more and more frequent and severe in intensity. I'd been on SSRI's in the past and didn't want to go that route, but I needed to do something. I have been taking this for about a week and already my headaches are gone. I am not as hungry as usual, am sleeping better than ever and waking rested, and for the first time ever, didn't get PMS symptoms like usual. I think this supplement actually works to raise your seratonin levels, which by the way, a SSRI won't do because that's not how they work. This product could save you HUNDREDS on Rx drugs and is worth a try.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN

Better than any perscription I've taken.

Date:September 22, 2008
Pros: No Side Effects, Quick-Acting, Alleviates Symptoms
I was feeling down a couple of months ago and despite my best efforts to make very simple changes in my life, I was getting no improvement in the areas that I sought to improve. I considered myself depressed, I've been there before and I know well how it manifests itself in my life. I've also taken prescription anti-depressants too, wound up on 3 different kinds at the same time once. Prescriptions anti-depressants always gave me equal amounts of relief and side effects. I really don't like side effects. To me, there is no better way to say, "that stuff your taking is kinda screwing you up, makes you wonder what else its doing to your body." I did some research that led me to 5-HTP and SAM-e. I started taking both at the same time... results were extremely quick, I noticed a huge turn around within a week (5 days). Oh yeah, no side effects for me! I may take these things indefinitely. Of course, you should consult your doctor regarding any medical issues.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO

May help mild depression

Date:July 17, 2008
Pros: Alleviates Symptoms, No Side Effects, Simple To Take
I didn't like the side effects of my mild anti-depressant this product seemed to really help with the mood swings and sadness.
Review 10 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO

Use for migraines

Date:June 10, 2008
Pros: Long-Lasting, Simple To Take, Alleviates Symptoms
Cons: May cause drowsiness
I was diagnosed with migraines due to my inability to store seratonin. Like another reviewer stated, this isn't a replacement for medication for depression, but I am supposed to take 10mg Prozak. Instead, I take one pill and find that suffices when combined with exercise. I wouldn't tell anyone to skip their meds, but I am able to experiment with treatments without causing myself harm.
Review 11 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:STL,MO

Good choice

Date:January 19, 2008
Pros: Simple To Take, Quick-Acting
Cons: Sexual appetite/drive, Has Side Effects
It really works I feel more positive and I can sleep and focus,I am happy with it.
The negative thing about it,is that my sexual perfomance/appetite has been decreased,other than that like I said it works
Review 12 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL

Works great, but do your research first

Date:December 1, 2007
This stuff does exactly what it says on the box. However it is not a magic bullet for depression, or a substitute for SSRI's. See a doctor for that. You can find a lot of evidence online that 50mg-100mg of 5-hydroxytryptophan is a very large dose for regular use.
My guess is that these huge doses are given so that you feel an effect quickly and know that the product is working. When you eat one of these, you certainly will feel it the next day. This stuff is no joke. You can easily take the pill apart if you want a smaller dose. 10-20mg with food daily is probably a better & safer amount.
Happy holidays.
Review 13 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX

LOVE IT!

Date:September 27, 2007
Pros: Long-Lasting, No Side Effects, Alleviates Symptoms, Simple To Take, Works gradually
I've used this for quite a while & found it very effective in reducing depression & lifting my mood. It works gradually but I've had no side effects - not even an upset stomach.
Coupled w/ kava for anxiety, I'm getting more done w/ less stress & a happier outlook. LOVE IT !
Review 14 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St.Louis,MO

THIS IS A LIFESAVER

Date:August 10, 2007
Pros: Alleviates Symptoms, Simple To Take
Cons: Has Side Effects
I suffer from migraine headaces. My migraine specialist recommnended me trying this supplement over two years ago. I now do not miss a day!! It increases the seratonin level in your body which,if at a low level, can trigger migraines. The supplement can give you a strange sensation in your stomach,,,not nausea or ache,,,,but strange feeling. If you take it at night you won't notice it though. I have recommended this to all family/friends who suffer from migraines. The comments from others about mood improvements,etc. is just another plus.So if you have migraines give it a try. It probably took about two weeks of daily use for me to notice a big difference. I have decreased my migraine prevention/treatment medication by 75%.
Review 15 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:colorado

yes it works

Date:July 17, 2007
Pros: Acts Quickly, Produces Results
i would recommend this to any stay at home mom
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingsport, TN

I love this product!!

Date:June 11, 2007
Pros: Produces Results, Acts Quickly
I have been anxious, annoyed, grouchy toward my family, large cravings for sweets (mostly chocolate) tired, wanted to sleep all the time, very emotional and many symptoms of depression/bi polar for over a couple of years. I have never been diagnosed but my Mother has been and I was showing many of her symptoms. I tried this pill about 1 month ago and have taken it daily. I have never felt better in my life!!! I feel like I am in control of my life again and it started taking effect in just 24-48 hours! I am going to check with my doctor to see if this can be taken for long term but if the doc says ok, then I plan to be balanced for the rest of my life!!! This is a great pill!
Review 17 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kentucky

Incredible lifesaver

Date:January 6, 2007
Pros: Good Value, Simple To Take, Easy To Swallow, Effective
I had a friend who is a pharmacist [...] recommend looking into taking this when I started having issues with the hardcore medicines my doctor had me one. I talked it over with my doctor who suggested I could try it in combination with omega 3 fish oil pills, and I have not had a problem since. This is amazing. Its not a cure all for depression, that requires intense realisation of what can and can't be fixed but it certainly helps me.
Review 18 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miller Beach, Indiana

Nature's Best!

Date:December 17, 2006
Pros: Good Value, High Quality
Cons: Small quantity, Expensive
This is truly a wonder-product. It helps in many areas, including weight loss, mood elevation, and sleep aid. I highly recommend this product to anyone wanting help in those areas.
Review 19 for 5-HTP, 100mg, Double Strength, Capsules
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, Ky

Better than any psychiatrist

Date:November 18, 2006
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Durable
Cons: Expensive
This is the number one used product in Europe for depression...any wonder why? Three years now and I love this and I wont ever stop taking it. IT WORKS!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.