Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gopher Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Gopher Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool

Extend your reach nearly 3 feet with this handy helper. Use it every day for reaching up high or picking up down low - without bending, climbing or straining. It's precise enough to pick up a paper clip, yet strong enough to lift a 5 lb. bag of sugar. Great for indoors or outdoors, this reacher has lightweight, durable aluminum construction and folds for easy storage. Super suction cups get a better grip on both large and small objects, and the trigger lock keeps suction cups locked into position. You will find hundreds of uses: Reach under and behind furniture Water hanging plants and clean up the yard Pick up messy garbage and broken glass Put away groceries and pick up after the kids Change a light bulb Pick up the newspaper Put up decorations Get into tight spaces And so much more...Made in China
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
3
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Review 1 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Puerto Rico
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Functional

Date:April 3, 2013
Pros: i don't have to bent to pickup things., easy to fix., grabs even coins off the floor., made with durable materials.
Cons: cups detach easily., faulty folding feature., can't lift heavy objects.
I bought it when it came out originally , since then : I had to re-attach the suction cups with new screws (wider thread) , adhered metal to the post with electrical tape so it wouldn't fold ... ( I use 3 cement nails), because this feature broke easily. Other than that it has work as expected. That's why I bought another, which I'll keep and give away the first one to a friend. I don't see how he could brake it now , since it's gone through 5 years of heavy use.? Maybe more!?
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JENNIE
PUERTO RICO
Posted June 10, 2013
I HAVE 2 AND BOTH HAS BROKE THE SUCTION CUPS ALWAYS FALL OF AND I CAN'T FIND THEM. AND I PAID 12.99 EA. in cabo rojo walgreens.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:El Centro, Ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Deluxe Grabber tool

Date:December 27, 2012
Pros: my husband is disabled. it is quite useful for him
Cons: not available locally.
I had previously bought the reaching tool in my local store and found it quite useful. It was broken in an accident, so I searched on the website to replace it. I was disappointed it was not carried in the store.
Review 3 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Meshoppen, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Helpful tips for Gopher Users

Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: very useful tool
Cons: could be better quality
I also do a newspaper route and have used these for about 6 yrs. I have found that when I first get one I open it up, lock it in place, and then wrap duct tape around the folding part-that way it lasts a long time and doesn't bend. I also take the screws out of the rubber and put clear nail polish on every side and the screw threads, then put it all back together and put nail polish on top of the screws. This one has lasted me a couple of years, but now the plastic piece broke that locks the handle so I am looking for another one. I always keep the rubber end pieces and screws from the old ones-just in case I need them.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Big Help

Date:February 27, 2012
Pros: Many uses
These are the best helpers for so many things..especially for reaching clothes that are way in the back of the dryer! Recuperating from recent surgery where almost any reaching or bending was very painful and this was a lifesaver! Murphys Law is that how many things fall on the floor are in direct proportion with how much your back, hip, shoulder etc. hurts....Get One of These!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Park Ridge, Ilinois 60068
Posted June 3, 2012
We have a Gopher grabber which is very helpful and gets frequent use.. However, one of the suction cups was lost and I can't determine how to get a replacement. Can you help?
Customer Avatar
Danny
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Danny is loaded.
Additional information about Danny could not be loaded.
Posted April 1, 2012
pretty good but the rubbers get loose easy and get losted. No refills available. Otherwise practical and useful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female

appropriate for handicap person

Date:January 18, 2012
This item was very useful for my sister who is primarily wheelchair bound but cooks alot. The reaching tool is excellent
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
3.9 out of 5(46)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, il
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Good idea, cheap design

Date:January 15, 2012
Pros: Good idea
Cons: bad or cheap design
Used it for 3 months, then the plastic bold in the middle popped out, I put them back in then the wiring to handle broke. Any american made ????
Review 7 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingsport, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female

A winner of a gadget!

Date:September 10, 2011
Pros: Light weight, Very easy to use
I'm disabled and roll around my house on a rolling walker with a seat. This handy little device saves me many ups and downs over the course of 24 hours ... I have one in almost every room in the house !
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
vinni
mt maunganui, new zealand
Posted December 14, 2011
i ve been using my one for the last 6 weeks for picking up tarballs on our local beach. A freighter ran aground and heavy fuel oil spewed out,. This item is awesome for the task, seems many more of the team will be issued with one of these also.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:oHIo
Age:55-65
Gender:male

Back saver

Date:August 2, 2011
Pros: back saver
Cons: goes thru rubber grabber parts
3 back operations later i can pick up fallen branches and debris from my yard easily. Ive also have become very deadly with throwing rocks with my reaching tool.
I went to a hobby store and bought extra rubber suction cups and glue. Now with parts and a self tapping screw i add when needed. {8-{ v
Review 9 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL

Third Reacher

Date:May 21, 2011
Pros: works okay for awhile.
Cons: designed to break!
This is the third Reacher I've purchased. The screws strip out from the rubber "grabber". A few weeks ago I used super glue to hold the screw in the grabber. I just found the grabber missing the screw again. I will definitely find another "reacher" to buy. I'm 70 next month and need help with a reacher.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:La Conchita, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Date:May 11, 2011
I live a block away from the beach, and it's not a public beach so the trash doesn't get picked up. I was tickled when I found the tool. I go to the beach and pick up trash. YEAH! After not even 10 times of usage the two rubber grippers at the end of it came off. I am very bummed!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:female

Date:April 7, 2011
Pros: great because it folds for storage, rubber grabbers vs plastic
I absolutely LOVE my Gopher. I have had mine for about 8 yrs. and have never had a problem with the screws. I had to buy a new one now because the hinge where it folds broke. I am buying 3 this time so I can keep them around the house or even in the car seeing as I am handicapped.
Review 12 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female

New Handy Way To Use!

Date:March 22, 2011
Pros: great for newspaper delivery route
Cons: suction cup screws don't last long, folding feature folds on its own when not needed
For Christmas I bought this for my husband that turned 50 earlier this year. He thought it was a gag gift! But actually I had a really bright idea how he could use it. He runs a newspaper route in a rural area. Many paper boxes are on the passenger side of the car. I figured this could make his life easier. And does it ever! He has delivered 1000's of papers with it and won't go without it now. If you know anyone that runs a paper route... pass on the word! Only downfalls are the screws on suction cups do need Gorilla glue after a while and the folding feature...well, I had to splint it with a popcicle stick and duct tape because it collapses on it's own. Overall...very handy, especially for his purpose.
Review 13 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest,Ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:male

Abolute necessity!!!

Date:June 10, 2010
Wouldn't be without these!! I have 3.
I solved the screw problem by epoxying ( or super glue ) the screws in when they first get loose. Never a problem after that. Too many uses to list!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carson City NV.

Excellent with changes made

Date:April 24, 2010
This tool is really a back-saver. Right out of the box it is poor quaility. Screws fall out fast. I replaced the screws and plastic with nuts and bolt and this tool is terrific, easy to use and very effective. Five stars after alteration, two stars out of box.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Conway, Arkansas

I bought two and should have bought four

Date:April 19, 2010
Pros: Effective, Compact, Durable, Easy To Use
I can pick up after my grandchildren better than ever.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland Heights, MO

We have six "Gophers" in our house.

Date:November 24, 2009
Pros: Compact, Effective, Easy To Use
Cons: Suction cups fall off, Screws should not be used
I'm handicap and the Gopher is a blessing for me; the best pick up tool I have found. Each one I purchase (have 6) I replace the screws holding the rubber suction cups with pop rivets. I used a 1/8 in. diameter - 1/2 in. grip range aluminum rivet AND a 1/8 in. aluminum backup plate. I bought spare rubber suction cups online but have not needed to use a single one of those yet. The factory should have used rivets instead of screws. The screws don't last long and I understand some people have been buying a new Gopher every time the screws fail. Perhaps that is why the factory keeps using screws.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Highland City, FL

This Gopher needs to go back underground

Date:June 12, 2009
Pros: Attractive Design
Cons: Poor Quality
This "bendable" version of the Gopher was suppose to be an improvement. The original didn't bend and held up over time. I suggest stores start carrying the original and discontinue this version of the product.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chalotte NC

You get what you pay for

Date:April 23, 2009
Pros: Good Value
Cons: Poor Quality
Though I love the product and it is a great help to me due to my very bad back, I have had replace my Gopher picker upper way too many times.
I do not expect the Gopher to pick up heavy items, and usually use it for simple things like paper and pens that keep on dropping off my desk at work.
I am very disappointed that the Gopher does not last.
First the screw comes loose and it can never be tighten enough or becomes stripped (the screw that is) Second the little black disc comes off and at that time this tool can no longer be used.
Walgreens has exchanged the Gopher every time and never gives any push back, It seems that they are aware that this is a faultily product.
Did you have a bad batch or recall?
So now I will return/exchange my Gopher and give you an update and advise how long this one last.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Green Bay, WI

Works great

Date:March 13, 2009
Pros: Attractive Design, Good Value, Great quality
I received this at Christmas and it's wonderful! I'm only 5'2" tall and ALL kitchens are made for at least 5'8" people. I was so sick of having to drag out the step stool every time I needed anything from an upper cabinet. It works equally as well on packages as well as glasses. Granted you can't haul down anything too heavy but those occasions are few and far between. I use it to pick up dropped items as well. I bought a second one to pick up trash that blows on to the lawn. A very good value in my estimation.
Review 20 for Deluxe Pick Up & Reaching Tool
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Palm Coast, Florida

Gopher

Date:March 6, 2009
Pros: Defictive, Needs Work
Cons: Poor Quality
There is a problem with the suction cup coming off. I've lost two so far. Had to buy another. The gopher helps me because of my disablities.
1 2 3 next>>