Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer

The exclusive design provides maximum performance and reliability. The vaporizer boils the water and produces a pure vapor which is released into the room. Pure steam vapor helps relieve cold and flu symptoms. The vaporizer will automatically shut-off when the water reaches minimum level.Small/medium room size 18-24 hours of operation 1.5 gallon capacity Natural and effective warm steam vaporizer. Up to 96% bacteria-free steam*. Helps relieve coughs and congestion for children of all ages.Dry room air is drawn into the vaporizerThe pure steam vapor is quietly released into the airIncludes medicine cup for Vicks VapoSteam Durable housing includes: Triple wall insulation to keep tank water at a safe temperature. East-to-carry molded handles Easy fill water level mark. Twist and Lift cap with large nightlight to locate vaporizer in a dark room. Protective steam guard design lowers the outlet steam temperature by 20% Exclusive non-rust carbon electrodes operate efficiently in any water conditions and require less frequent cleaning. Automatic shut-off when the water reaches minimum level.* Intertek-ETL test report 3120389-COL-001* Based on Independent Laboratory Testing, report # 3120389-COL-001.  Results are based on the reduction of the following bacteria after 2 hours of continuous use: E. coli showed up to a 96.4% reductionS epidermis showed up to a 95.5% reductionP fluorescens showed up to a 95.2% reductionMade in Mexico
Average Customer Rating:
2.827 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 star
18
2 out of 8(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Review 1 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Never again

Date:April 12, 2011
Does not work like the old glass style. Pitifully weak vapor stream (when it works). I purchased TWO of these, they both stopped functioning after only a few hours of use.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
angel
Somerset NJ
Posted January 1, 2012
is it does not has steam , put a pinch of salt in the water. I used it for many many hours. many winters
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cookeville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Does not work

Date:February 21, 2011
I have to use too much salt to get the humidifier to work, and it only works for a month and then stops. Not reliable.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

works great

Date:February 4, 2011
Pros: Works Quick
Cons: needs salt
Love how fast it works if you remember to add salt. Light and easy to move. non-breakable. Works super for a tight budget
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oxford, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:male

Inexpensive way to save your skin.

Date:January 22, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: not pretty looking
While this unit does not look like much, it does what it says by providing rich moisture to dry air. No knobs or fancy components to break and a low price make it a good choice for people who are on a tight budget. The unit does not work for the length of time mentioned on this website. Daily use provides between 7-10 hours of use on average.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Vapor review

Date:January 10, 2011
I am disappointed with this produc. I have to use too much salt in order to get the steam to start flowing and when it goes, sometime it goes to fast and makes too much noise. If I do not add the salt it will not start, I also have had problems with the water sputtering out too.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Pathetic amount of steam

Date:January 8, 2011
Pros: Night light
Cons: produces only a small amount of steam
This thing puts out a pathetic amount of steam. Adding some salt to the water helped a little bit, but then the thing started sputtering water. I remember when I was a kid my grandparents had a vaporizer that put out LOTS of steam. I have no idea what brand it was. This Vicks vaporizer probably has more safety features than that old vaporizer, but it doesn't put out nearly enough steam. I am disappointed with my purchase. There must be better steam vaporizers out there.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

won't buy again

Date:December 17, 2010
This only worked for one winter. Plugged it in for this year, and it won't heat. Not worth the price to fix it, so now have to buy another. It won't be this brand.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:United States

What vapor?

Date:November 26, 2010
I ran this all afternoon and throughout the night and still had a full tank of water and no vapor. I definately wouldn't recommend it.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ

Hate it

Date:February 26, 2010
Cons: Loud
Just hate it, sound like my coffee maker brewing. Turned it off after 4 hours of trying to get to sleep.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:USA

Adding salt is ok...

Date:February 16, 2010
Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight
Someone stated you are not supposed to add salt to the steamer per the instruction sheet.
FALSE...read the instruction sheet itself.
Here's exactly what it has written:
ADDING SALT FOR STEAM FLOW: Steam output depends directly on the mineral content of the water and the amount of salt you add. For the vaporizer to operate in areas of low or moderate mineral-content water, 3 TO 4 PINCHES OF SALT (1/8 teaspoon) MUST BE ADDED TO THE WATER AND MIXED THOROUGHLY.
If an adequate steam flow is not obtained after ten minutes, add another PINCH or two as needed, mix thoroughly. CAUTION: Add salt only by the
PINCH, since too much salt can cause excessive boiling, a blown fuse or tripped circuit breaker
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas

Great product for the money!!

Date:January 9, 2010
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use
Try "Fred from NY's" comments. They really work!! Twice the amount of steam with baking soda than salt. Not hard to clean if you do it about once a week. Get a soft brush if your hand won't fit into the opening. Hold upside down and shake up and down a few times and all the water comes right out.
Have to fill a few times if you want to run it all day. It's very inexpensive so it's worth the extra time and effort.
Review 12 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:barnhart, mo

I got what I paid for, bought cheep

Date:January 4, 2010
Cons: Hard to Clean, Loud
I got what I paid for, when cheep and got a loud boiling sounding vaporizer. Put out steam great but could not sleep because of the constant noise, going to [...] this time and buy a better one.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Austin Texas

high maintenance

Date:December 12, 2009
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Cons: Hard to Clean
Don't forget to add salt. Be prepared to shake, rattle and roll while rinsing upside down to get the crud accumulation out of the tank and element after every use; and prepared to soak the element in vinegar at least once a week to keep it running properly. The gunk is like sand and dirty crushed eggshells. I have two units and spend at least a couple of hours a week cleaning them. They don't often make through the night either. Haven't had them very long and don't know if this is a problem other companies models. Would prefer to pay more for another without the crud.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Smyrna, TN

Very useful!

Date:December 9, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
Easy to use, Comfortable, overall a good product.
Review 15 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York, NY

Not Enough Steam? Try this trick

Date:November 10, 2009
Hey guys - Here is the trick to getting more steam out of your Vicks Vaporizer. Please read this very carefully.
Steam Vaporizers work by using 2 electrodes (not a heating element) to boil the water. When the water sits between the electrodes 120v ac current passes through it. Water is not a good conductor at all. The only reason the vaporizer works is because most tap water contains minerals that do conduct. If you put in distilled or highly filtered water without any additives there will be 0 steam because the electricity does not pass through.
Here is the trick, but again, read this very carefully:
- Fill your vaporizer with water
- Do Not Add any Vaporizer Additives (Like Vicks)
- Take half teaspoon of BAKING SODA, add it to the water and stir it up.
- Turn the vaporizer on
- Wait approximately 15 minutes for vaporizer to reach it's peak.
- The steam output should be at least double. In some circumstances you may need to add another half a teaspoon BUT NEVER ADD MORE. If the vaporizer coducts too much electricity while it will steam a lot, it will also draw to much current and presents a fire hazard or tripping your circuit breaker.
PLEASE NOTE: Once you add this baking soda you do not need to add it again unless you empty out all of the water. The reason being is that when your vaporizer uses all its water, the baking soda is left because it cannot evaporate. i.e. Distillation process.
NEVER ADD SALT. SALT AND ELECTRICITY = Hydrochloric Acid. Very dangerous and would destroy your vaporizer, not to mention cause a severe chemical burn.
Make sure you read this carefully. Otherwise don't do this...
The old steam vaporizers even put on the label 'If no steam is being generated after 15 minutes, add x amount of baking soda. Never Add Salt.'
This is completely safe if you do this per my instructions above. You can even google 'steam vaporizer baking soda' for additional information.
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Richmond, va

to much fizz not enough steam

Date:September 23, 2009
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Loud
using this not much steam comes out, the next time using it boils the water and sounds like a person snoring it look like a sprinkler so much water shot out of it i was two feet away from it and it burnt me bad
Review 17 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plainsboro, NJ

Fantastic!

Date:September 6, 2009
Pros: Lightweight, Quiet, Easy To Use
This vaporizer is great...I have had the same one over two plus years and it only now is starting to die.....Its great for colds and my infant sleeps so much more comfortably when shes sick...I used it all last winter without the vicks just to keep the bedroom warm and humid at night.....cheaper to replace than any humidifier Ive purchased and it doesnt leak and isnt hard to fill like conventional humidifiers....
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL

Not worth the money

Date:May 10, 2009
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Fill, Hard to Clean
I have had my Vicks Vaporizer for a year and now it is constantly filling the container with black crud. I have to use it for my daughter due to allergies, and I constantly have to clean out the tank due to all the blackness in the water. Tomorrow I am going to buy a new one. It should last longer than a year.
Review 19 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago IL

Easy to clean product!

Date:May 3, 2009
Pros: Quiet, Lightweight, Easy To Use
I bought this item for my son due to epidemic going on. Saturday I took him to the hospital in emergency thinking he had the swine flu all cuz of a runny nose and the emergency DR. told me he is fine has no fever but that he could return on Monday to school. But as we were leaving the hospital some broad coughed like she saw I had a mask my son passed right by her with out one. I think he got it. He started coughing that day. So I took him with me to kmart purchased this humidifier and he has been coughing for 3 days now. Hopefully he well get better soon. Although he does not have much of a runny nose like he did previously. He is happy playing but still with a bad cough so School is definitely out for him tell he gets better.
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:boston

Ineffective

Date:March 16, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Lightweight, Size
Cons: Steam is very weak
Very little steam comes from this. I tried adjusting the salt content and even with that the amount of steam that came out was not effective. Ended up returning it for another brand.
1 2 3 next>>