Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abreva Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream

Abreva Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream

FDA approved to shorten healing time* Pharmacist recommended *Only non-prescription cold sore medicine approved by the FDA to shorten healing time and duration of symptomsMade in Germany
Average Customer Rating:
4.599 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(573 Reviews) 573
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (573 reviews)
5 stars
442
4 stars
86
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
25
507 out of 532(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Review 1 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Life Saver!!!!

Date:February 12, 2014
Let me first say that I never write reviews! So this product must be worth my time. I have been battling cold sores for the last 25 years and have tried every home remedy possible. During my last break out (appx. 3 months ago), my lip was so swollen, it looked like I had just stepped out of the ring with Mike Tyson. That was after applying ice non-stop for an entire day! It took about 2 days just for the swelling to go down. Well, Monday night as I was lying in bed, I kept feeling a tightness in my lip in the area where I normally get break outs. I kept checking in the mirror, but saw nothing. Had no idea I was on the verge of yet another break out so soon. I generally only get about 1-2 per year. Well, I finally fell asleep, and when I awoke Tuesday morning (at appx. 6 am), I had a few blisters in the corner of my lip. I was devastated! Here we go AGAIN! My 9 year old daughter is the one who suggested I try "that stuff that they show on T.V.! " :) I actually tried Abreva some years back and was disappointed. Possibly didn't give it enough time to work. Or may have been too far into the break out. Nonetheless, I had none on hand, and had to wait for the stores to open. Needless to say, I was standing at Walgreen's doors at 8 am waiting for them to open. Within those 2 hours, my blisters had already begun to grow. I went in, made my purchase, and as soon as I got in the car, applied the first dose. As the day progressed, the blisters worsened, but only ever so slightly. I applied doses probably every hour or so. By that evening, I could definitely see a difference. The blisters were already oozing. And no swelling at all. I am now on day 2 (Wednesday), approximately 29 hours after first signs of blisters, and the cold sore is almost non-existent! I am still applying the Abreva, just not as often. At this rate, I am confident that by tomorrow (day 3), I will see nothing. And it doesn't appear I will have to battle the scabbing phase. I am honestly surprised at how well this product is working. As nothing EVER works for me like it does for everyone else. I will keep my Abreva at arm's length for here on out!!
Review 2 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Surprisingly worked!

Date:December 4, 2013
I was going on vacation on a Friday, felt an outbreak coming the weekend before, on the Saturday. Went and picked one up immediately and applied it right away. Just to be safe, I applied it every hour/hour and a half (more than the suggested dosage) because I can't afford to let it ruin yet another vacation. It usually takes 14 days or longer for it to heal without abreva. This time it healed up under 5 days and I was more than happy it did right before my trip. I usually get an outbreak once or twice a year and always at the worst times!
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best cold sore medicine!

Date:November 22, 2013
It works like magic. When used immediately when you see redness and feel a tingling, blisters don't even form. Unfortunately for me, though, I didn't notice that stage and just woke Thursday morning with a few tiny blisters. I immediately grabbed my tube and was applying it all day long. By Friday afternoon, I had gotten to the yellow crust stage. It really does speed up the process. Obviously it can't work on everyone as some people's virus is just a lot more complex than your average one. But I think it works very well for most people. Just make sure you use it no later than when you start seeing little tiny blisters, otherwise it won't be too useful.
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newburgh, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Waste of $20

Date:June 27, 2013
Cons: Price, Does Not Work
Put it on at the first sign of a bump on my lip. Seven days later and still no better. Save the $20.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:18-24
Gender:female

Healed in Less than 3 days!

Date:September 27, 2012
Pros: evident and quick results.
Cons: the price. kind of expesinve for small tube
I am so happy with this product. I was at work Tuesday morning and as soon as I saw a small blister coming out I found out about Abreva and asked my sister to get it for me right away. I as going on a date on Thursday and I didn't want that thing showing up! Anyways, Tuesday morning I applied it right away at least 6 times a day and Thursday morning the cold sore was gone!! Usually it would get extremely big and would last 12 days to cure, but I am so glad I bought this product. It is totally worth it.
P.S. For better results make sure to apply before bed time.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:michigan

the only product I use

Date:December 16, 2009
Cons: Pricey
as soon as I feel a cold sore start, I apply Abreva and it goes away.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern New Jersey

Not Good

Date:September 26, 2009
Cons: Pricey, Ineffective
Does almost nothing for the pain and doesn't make my cold sores heal any faster. Lip balm does the same thing for a fraction of the cost.
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:atoka tn

i love abreva

Date:September 24, 2009
Pros: My daughter cold sores
Cons: Pricey
my daughter has been cold sores ever since she was 6 monthes old...the doctore told us get abreva and will worked...my daughter is 8 year old now..and still buy it and every fall and winter we are useing it..
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Charles, MO

Works most of the time

Date:July 17, 2009
Cons: Pricey
Abreva works as long as the cold sore outbreak isn't in several places on the lips.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, Fla

Excellent Product!

Date:May 8, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
As soon as you feel you are getting a cold sore, apply this product and it is gone within a few days. It relieves the pain and it is extremely effective.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:new mexico

it worked for me

Date:April 16, 2009
my only complaint, it cost too much for the amount of product you get, but it works at the moment of tingle and applied or on fully developed blister, buy the tube instead of pump, youll use more of the product instead of wasting it, that way. other ways that may help fight this virus are: vitamin c, lysine and lemon balm and not stressing over it.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA

Highly Recommended

Date:December 10, 2008
Pros: Effective, Lightweight, Easy To Use
Cons: Leaves lips a bit white, Expensive
I had my first huge outbreak earlier this year. I wish I had tried it then. My Dr recommended this when I was having a second outbreak. I used it on newly forming white sores and it cleared them right up.
It is expensive but amazing. I don't bother with any other treatments.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City

It doesn't do anything for me either

Date:November 18, 2008
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Doesn't do anything, Expensive
I get cold sores about once a year-Spring or Fall. I have to say that I've used this product on a few different occasions, always hoping it would work the next time or the next time. I did follow directions and applied it at the earliest sign, but I never noticed a difference. The cold sore came in full speed and lasted for days and didn't go away until it was ready. Abreva didn't shorten or change a thing. But even one day with a cold sore seems like FOREVER. The product may work for a select few people. In addition, Abreva is EXPENSIVE- the price that was already expensive went UP about $6 in the last 1-2 years!! ABREVA! Shame on you.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bptx01
texas
Posted December 10, 2013
Judging by the reviews, saying it may *not* work for a select few people would be more accurate. You appear to be one of those few.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TAMPA, FLORIDA

GREAT PRODUCT

Date:November 9, 2008
Pros: Absorbs Quickly, Effective
Cons: Cost
THIS PRODUCT ACTUALLY CURED MY COLD SORES, AFTER 6 TUBES OR 10 USES. I HAVE NOT HAD AN OUTBREAK IN A YEAR, I USED TO GET THEM EVERY 3 MONTHS. IT IS IMPORTANT TO APPLY AT THE EARLIEST SIGN AND APPLY EVERY TWO HOURS. APPLY A MINIMAL AMOUNT.
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:atx

WARNING;DO NOT BUY

Date:September 1, 2008
Cons: Bad Taste, Sticky, Ineffective
I have the herpis virus from birth and i get cold sores on my lip maby ever 3 or 4 months, this product does NOT WORK its seriously a wais of money and a drive to the store, what actually helps when you feel the little bump or tinggel, drink alot of oj and take about 5 asprins i swear to that Vitamin C kill it,if you have ins go to your doc and get VALTREX, but if your on the go or whatever HERPECIN-L cost $6.49 and heals the score in about 15 min if its not fully developed and if it is out already it will wuickly heal it I PROMIS THIS WORKS ,...Ive had the virus for 21 years now and i know 3 ways to help myslef
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC

Do not recommend PUMP

Date:August 19, 2008
The pump wastes most of the product. Buy the tube.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Union County, NJ

Not All Its Cracked Up To Be

Date:August 6, 2008
Pros: Absorbs Quickly
Cons: Ineffective, No difference whatsoever, Teeny tube, No less time involved, Way overpriced
I don't see a bit of difference while using this product. Shame on the FDA for approving it.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley, Ca

Works The Same As All The Other Products

Date:May 21, 2008
Pros: Absorbs Quickly
Cons: Ineffective
I've had cold sores for years and have used every product on the shelf. I did not see any difference with this product except for the price and it did not heal it as fast as they say. The only thing that heals cold sores is time. Don't waste your money!!!
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Coweta, OK

NOT WORTH IT

Date:December 16, 2007
Pros: None
Cons: Greasy, Ineffective
Abreva did not help at all!!! I hate it that I spent that much money and actually had to go spend more to get something else!!
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:wisconsin

Great Stuff !!!!!!!!!!

Date:September 20, 2007
Pros: Effective, Soothing, Healing, Absorbs Quickly
Cons: Cost too much, Tube use to be larger
I have had cold sores for years, I never found any thing that works this good and so fast !!!!!!
I just wish the tube was bigger and cost less like before !!!! plastic tube would be better!
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>