Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Color Oops Extra Strength Hair Color Remover

Color Oops Extra Strength Hair Color Remover

The safest and most effective way to reverse an undesirable hair color application. Corrects your hair color by shrinking the dye molecules, allowing you to simply wash them away. It removes artificial color from hair that has become too dark. For instance: if your hair was blonde and you applied a brown color that is too dark, it can be used to get your hair back to a blonde shade. It can also be used to remove artificial color from hair that was lightened but became off-tone. For instance: if you have naturally brown hair and used an ash blonde color and your hair is now blonde with a green tint, it will remove the green tint, but your hair will remain blonde.Removes all artificial hair color Gently removes permanent & semi-permanent hair color Takes only 20 minutes Ammonia free/bleach free Re-color the same dayContains: Part 1Part 2Made in USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.075 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(694 Reviews) 694
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (694 reviews)
5 stars
378
4 stars
179
3 stars
30
2 stars
25
1 star
82
165 out of 197(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Review 441 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan

Just do it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:August 18, 2008
Pros: Great Color, Easy To Use, Natural Look
Cons: Smells Bad, Messy
My natural haircolor is light mousy brown. I color and highlight to a medium golden blonde. Late last night I applied Natural Instincts in dark golden blonde. What I got was very dark red, almost burgundy, yet somewhat orange. It didn't look well on me at all. I sat up for hours perusing the reviews for Color Oops. The positive feedback outweighed the negative, but after living with this horrendous color for a morning, I was afraid to do anything. I never dreamed that this color would look so bad, but lighter orange hair wasn't a much better option. I went to Walgreen's and bought a box (on sale!). I was pretty scared, but my husband finally said, "You have to do something." That's when I knew that my hair was even worse than I realized. I did the strand test, and the results looked like an improvement, so I went for it. It does smell pretty bad, but only while I was using it. I took all of the bottles, gloves, etc. out to the trash can right away, and put the towels right into the washing machine, used an exhaust fan in the bathroom, and it was fine. I did follow the rinsing and shampooing directions religiously. My hair is very close to the color it was last night before I colored. I have some pretty nice highlights, and the dark root line is blended in very satisfactorily. So try it. Just follow the directions, and don't cut corners. And don't assume that semi permanenr haircolor isn't a huge commitment.
Review 442 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Niagara Falls NY

Didn't Do Much of Anything

Date:August 18, 2008
Pros: Gentle, Easy To Use
Cons: Smells Bad, Messy
I bought a brown hairdye a couple of days ago and when I dyed it last night it turned my hair BLACK!!! Devastated I tried clarifying shampoo to fade it (less then 5 hours after I did the dye job), strand tested a high lift brown that didn't do anything to the hair, took that back and bought the color oops. It seemed like a great product based on the 100+ reviews here and considering it hadn't even been 24 hours thought for sure it would help. I bought a toner to remove the brass once I did the color oops and then proceeded.
I followed the directions to the letter. After my 2 shampooings and 15 minutes of intermittent rinsing as directed by the package, I didn't get the orangy brownish color that was mentioned by everyone. I came out a few shades lighter with a coffee brown color with noticeable reddish tones when standing in the light. I mean I'm glad it's not black anymore but it's not much of an improvement.
Is this typical? I thought this stuff was stronger than that.
Review 443 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:DC

Decent product

Date:August 16, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use
According to other reviews, some consumers of this product ended up with red hair. I, on the other hand, used this product to *rid* of redness. It worked for the most part for getting rid of the red color. The smell didn't bother me that much, just about as bad as many other beauty products that women use.
Review 444 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Geneva, WI

I wish I knew about this years ago!!!

Date:August 15, 2008
Pros: Gentle, Easy To Use
I dyed my blonde hair red about a month ago. It was a little darker than I wanted it to be so I tried to lighten it by dying it back to blonde. No go. It didn't do much of anything. I gave it a few weeks and decided to try to lighten it again. Still no go. So I searched the internet for something to get the color out and found the reviews here for Color Oops. After reading it I tried to give it a try. It worked! My hair is a little brassy but I probably could've left it in a little longer. I'm going to do my highlights this afternoon and then use the L'Oreal Tone Refiner to tone it down a little. Overall I am impressed. I wish I had known about this before. I tried to dye my hair brown once and ended up with green hair. I went to the salon to have a Malibu treatment, which is supposed to strip all the color out. It didn't. Then I went home and dyed it 5 more times. It still had a hint of green but it wasn't as bad. The only problem was my hair was fried. I eventually got it all cut off because it could only combed when it was soaking wet, otherwise it would snap right off. If only I had known ...
Review 445 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:rockford, IL

Works PERFECTLY on black hair.

Date:August 13, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use, Natural Look, Great Color
Cons: Smells Bad
I dyed my hair black not really thinking about how hard it would be to get it light again. After my very light-brown roots started growing I looked for something to fix it. Salon's quoted my cost anywhere from $75 to $150 to fix it and I'm a broke. So after reading hundreds of reviews on this product I tried it. I didn't think it would work at all or turn my head orange. But it took my very black hair to my natural color that I haven't seen since I was a freshman in high school *8 years*. Wonderful product. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Review 446 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:United States

Works as well as reviews say

Date:August 11, 2008
Pros: Natural Look, Gentle, Easy To Use
Cons: Smells Bad
I recently decided to darken my dark brown hair a bit. I had never dyed my hair (either at home or in a salon). I bought a box of semi-permanent black dye. I left it on for seven minutes and when I rinsed it out my hair was jet black. I tried some of the home fixes I read online--washing with Prell repeatedly, washing with hot olive oil--but none of the color came out. About 36 hours after initially dying my hair, I bought Color Oops after reading the reviews online. I left it on my hair for 14 mins and it pretty much took all the black out and returned hair to my natural color. I think my hair is still a tiny bit darker than my natural color was and has a few natural looking reddish highlights now. However, friends that didn't know I dyed it black and then removed black dye, didn't notice that anything was different.
The only real con was the smell. Although I don't think it is nearly as bad as some of the reviews make it sound. Because I had read the reviews first, I lit some candles in my house before starting the process and that helped. I also opened a window afterwards and the smell is not that strong a day later. None of the friends I was around just a couple hours after Color Oops could smell the sulfur odor. (I shampooed with Nexxus, conditioned with Neutrogena Hair Mask, and put Biosilk on it when dry to help with the smell.)
Overall, extremely pleased with Color Oops. It took the black out and got me back to my natural color quickly, easily, and without damaging my hair.
Review 447 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:USA

It WORKS! I love it!!!!!

Date:August 11, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use, Natural Look, Great Color, Gentle
Cons: Smells Bad
It works I dyed my hair about 6 times to achieve a light color I wanted. I got sick of the color so I died JET BLACK. Big mistake! I got the Color Oops and it was PERFECT! My hair is a beautiful auburn with a tinge of red! Go for it ladies! :O)
Review 448 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Arizona

Completely Worth The Smell

Date:August 8, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Smells Bad
I have been going to the salon for years for my color. I am a strawberry blonde naturally , but sometimes I get a wild hair and want to go completely red. Well, when I get sick of coloring my hair every four weeks,I go to the salon and have my girl "fix it." That visit always takes anywhere from five to seven hours in the chair and costs me approximately $140. With the economy the way it is, I had neither the time or the money for all of that. I found Color Oops at Walgreen and decided to try it. I did the strand test and it lifted the red to a coppery blonde (which, I read in the bad reviews is what makes people mad... these are obviously people that have never had their hair stripped. I have to say having done it through a salon that the copper color even happens there). Knowing that, I had bought Natural Instincts no brass blonde to follow up. I left No Oops on my hair for 20 minutes under a shower cap and then washed it off with two shampoos and deep conditioned my hair. When my hair was air damp, I followed up with the no brass blonde and ended up with a lovely Honey Blonde color with no brass what so ever. Seriously people give this stuff a try. It is really smelly, but again most products are, so just be prepared. It is pretty stinky but it was soooo worth the effort and the price. It cost me only [$] (Color Oops plus the Natural Instincts) and about an hour and a half of my time to go from a deep dark red to a beautiful honey blonde. Give it a shot :)
Review 449 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Short Hills, NJ

Cures Dyed Black Hair

Date:August 1, 2008
Pros: Natural Look, Easy To Use
Cons: Messy, Smells Bad
A few monthes ago, I had decided to dye my hair jet black. (I have natural black hair, but I had dyed it light ash brown) Little did I know it's one of the hardest colors to get out. I tried to bleach it today, but then only my new growth lightened (to bright orange!!!! =[), while the rest of my hair stayed JET BLACK. Then, I read all the reviews here, and I had hope! I told my bf to buy me some color oops, and just one box saved me!! I used it right after I had bleached, and it was so gentle. Now, my hair is an over all even reddish brown color, which I don't really mind. I might even just leave it the way it is, and not dye it the brown that I wanted to. Just make sure you rinse it alot!! I LOVE COLOR OOPS!!! Saved me hundreds of dollars at the salon =]
<3 <3 <3 <3
Review 450 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Florida

DO NOT USE

Date:August 1, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Color Misrepresented, Too Harsh, Smells Bad
Color Oops is one of the worst products i have ever used! I originally had light brown hair and wanted to try dark brown so I went out and bought Loreal hair dye. It was too dark so i went out and got color oops. Color oops took my hair from a Dark Brown to Orange! i will never use this again!!!!! DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 451 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atanta GA

Worked on dyed BLACK hair

Date:July 22, 2008
Pros: Natural Look
Cons: Messy, Difficult To Use, Smells Bad
I had dyed black hair (supposed to be dark rich brown) perm. colour. I used this product and really glad i did even though I was terrified. I now have a reddish brown colour (with a rotten egg smell)id rather smell bad than looklike morticia on a bad day!! Go for it!!
Review 452 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX

Not a miracle, but pretty darn effective

Date:July 21, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use, VERY EFFECTIVE
Cons: Harsh, Smells Bad
I used a "Mahogany Chestnut" dye that turned my salon-dyed auburn hair that's naturally a bronze blonde a frightful shade of eggplant. I'd had it done at the salon for years, but I was trying to save money - how hard can it be to dump dye on your hair, right?
Wrong. After doing my best to fade it out with dawn and repeated washing, I tried Color Oops. I left it on for about 12 minutes. It took the deep purple out and left me with pale auburn orangey hair - about what you'd expect - my natural color is pale but I've been coloring it reddish for years.
I was able to re apply a more sane shade of auburn the same day and am much happier.
I applied a deep conditioner on my hair and let it sit for about 30 minutes after I was done, but my hair wasn't overly fried by the Color Oops.
It does smell pretty bad - I smelled like a home perm until after the deep conditioning and a long second shower.
Very happy with the product over all. It met my hopes and expectations and didn't do any of the things I was worried it would do. (I had visions of my hair falling out in colorless clumps.) Even after the first bad dye, the 25 showers, the color oops and the second dye job, my hair is still pretty healthy.
Review 453 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:York, PA

Just wow!

Date:July 20, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use, Natural Look, Gentle
Cons: Smells Bad
I was strawberry blonde and tried to darken the red a bit..I ended up dark magenta and very unhappy. I did a search for removing hair color and found color oops at Walgreens. I took the trip in, purchased two packages and about an hour later was back to blonde. I was amazed. It did bleach out my hair a bit more then it was, so my hair is now a bit blonder, bit I'm just so happy to not have dark magenta hair anymore!! I've not yet redyed my hair, but plan to soon.
It does have a bad smell, similar to perming solution, and it still smells like that the next day, but to have the bad dye out of my hair makes it worth it.
Review 454 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:reno,nv

Not what I had hoped for

Date:July 19, 2008
Cons: Smells Bad, Color Misrepresented
Color oops took my hair much lighter than either my natural shade or the color it was dyed. Not only is it much lighter but it is also a very brassy copper color.
Review 455 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Griffin, GA

happy with results

Date:July 19, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use
Doesn't take you back to your real color, mine was gray so that was good. Left it a light reddish color which was easily taken care of when I recolored immediately (the instructions recommended anyway). Buy a color filler (local beauty supply store) to make sure the new color takes properly.
Review 456 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado

how wonderful!

Date:July 18, 2008
Pros: Natural Look, Does what it says it will, Easy To Use, Great Color
Cons: Messy, Smells bad not horrible
I am not a hair color junky. Over the years I had dyed my hair once or twice, but never very far from my normal color. On a whim, I decided to dye my flaxen-blonde hair red. I really did like it, but after a few days I realized that I wasn't as confident with the red as I am blonde, and maybe I chose a color a bit too bright for me. I decided to try this product after reading HUNDREDS of reviews online. I did the strand test and kinda saw results but couldn't tell how good. So I took a risk and poured it on. The stuff is a bit messy, but not horrible. I wore an old rain poncho which helped with the mess. The smell was a but pungent, but after washing my hair 5 times (I wasn't going to take a chance) with herbal essence shampoo, and conditioning with biolage intensive conditioner (both of which smell yummy), the stench wasn't bad. I also use Dr. Bromner's eucalyptus soap as a body wash which makes the whole bathroom smell like a spa! I swear that my hair went back to a lighter shade of blonde than normal, like how it used to be 5 years ago before it darkened a bit. YAY for me, but be careful if you don't want results like that (I left the goo in for the full 20 minutes). Also, there is a tiny tint of red, so subtle but enough to give me a great strawberry blonde look. I think this is because my long hair (thin, but a huge head full down to my breasts) needed a bit more of the stuff than one bottle provided. One hint for those ladies who hate the smell: Use a bit of leave in conditioner (herbal essence's is nice) for a few days. Not only will it make your hair smell great, but it will help to protect it in its delicate state.
Review 457 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Illinois

OMG

Date:July 17, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Smells Disgusting, Smells Bad
Seems to work ok but i just cant get over the smell. It is the most disgusting thing i have ever smelled in my life and i just wanted to throw up........it was horrible. No matter how good this works i dont think i could stand smelling it again. If you can stand the smell then definetly get it.
Review 458 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Buffalo, NY

Thank Goodness for Color Oops

Date:July 15, 2008
Pros: Great Color, Easy To Use, Natural Look
Cons: Smells Bad
I've been coloring my hair for along time now. Since Ive been outside a lot, my hair color had faded alot. I decided to color it with a chestnut brown and it turned out a magenta black color. I was mortified!
Very skeptical about Color Oops but after I tried what Revlon told me, dandruff shampoo with baking soda (not) and rinsing with Diet coke (not) I bought a box.
Started out with a strand test and after 8 minutes could see my hair changing. Put the rest of the formula on and kept checking the color. Only 10 minutes later I shampooed, rinsed for 5 minutes (MUST DO!) and conditioned. My hair is a very pretty light golden brown.
Thanks so much for a great product! :)
Review 459 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prince Frederick, MD

It works GREAT!

Date:July 13, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use, Great Color, Natural Look, Gentle
Cons: Smells Bad
A friend of mine wanted to dye my hair black and my bangs reddish. Black is a good color on me but usually by the summer time it has grown out and blended beautifully with my natural brown and red tints. However this summer it stayed balck and the red grew out!! i think it even got darker the more sun I got!! So I wanted to dye my hair back to my natural color. I got two boxes of Color Oops and two boxes of Natural Match... I used the Color Oops first and it only took onoe box!! (my hair is long). When I rinsed it out my Natural Color was back COMPLETELY!!! (except for my bangs which came out a little to blonde). So I used my hair dye to even it out...only it took it back to black!!!!
So I then used the Second box of Color OOps to take out the dye I used and when i rinsed that out I had the Orginal Gorgeous color that I was suppose to get from the Natural Match dye!!! A Golden Medium Brown!!!!
I can't say i was completely horrified by my color to begin with I just wanted my natural back, and Color OOps gave me EXACTLY what I wanted!!!!
The smell is horrible but from reading other reviews about rinsing it with a deep conditioner...I will try it and hope it works!!!
Oh yeah and I am also almost Six months pregnant and have severe Asthma, but this product is COMPLETELY safe to use and didn't irritate or bother me once!!!!!!!
Review 460 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Buffalo, NY

my story

Date:July 9, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Smells Bad
It doesn't get any easier than mixing the contents of bottle 1 into bottle 2. You don't even have to shake it. Just 'tip it over' a few times.
My boyfriend went into the bathroom after I used color oops and he said it smelled like "bad eggs," or, something comparably putrid.
A few weeks ago I colored my hair ashy blonde. But because my ends were so light from being highlighted (and from sun exposure), they really absorbed the dye and just became a tint of dark grayish-green. The rest of my hair took the color well, but when I then tried to highlight on top of that, the highlights turned a white-ish yellow!
I just wanted to start over!
Color oops will take the dye out. However- and this is on the box- it WON'T take you to your original color if you have EVER lightened your hair.
If your hair is in good condition then this product won't do any harm.
The box also says that you can re-color the same day but I advise against this. All hair color kits recommend that you wash your hair no sooner than the day before you are going to color your hair and especially after removing color you'll want to let your hair's natural oils build up to protect it a little.
<<prev 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 ... 35 next>>