Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Color Oops Extra Strength Hair Color Remover

Color Oops Extra Strength Hair Color Remover

The safest and most effective way to reverse an undesirable hair color application. Corrects your hair color by shrinking the dye molecules, allowing you to simply wash them away. It removes artificial color from hair that has become too dark. For instance: if your hair was blonde and you applied a brown color that is too dark, it can be used to get your hair back to a blonde shade. It can also be used to remove artificial color from hair that was lightened but became off-tone. For instance: if you have naturally brown hair and used an ash blonde color and your hair is now blonde with a green tint, it will remove the green tint, but your hair will remain blonde.Removes all artificial hair color Gently removes permanent & semi-permanent hair color Takes only 20 minutes Ammonia free/bleach free Re-color the same dayContains: Part 1Part 2Made in USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.075 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(694 Reviews) 694
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (694 reviews)
5 stars
378
4 stars
179
3 stars
30
2 stars
25
1 star
82
165 out of 197(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Review 441 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington, IA

color oops to the rescue.

Date:September 22, 2009
Pros: Natural Look, Easy To Use, Great Color, Gentle
Cons: Long rinse time, Smells Bad
A life saver at a sensible price. Highly recommend for anyone with a color oops.
Review 442 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN

The only thing that actually worked!

Date:September 24, 2009
Pros: Natural Look, Easy To Use, Gentle, Great Color
Cons: Smells Bad
I cannot believe how well this worked! It is a week before my wedding and my golden-brown demi-permanent hair color turned out black. I was really upset! I tried washing numerous times with Dawn and Prell which seemed to lighten my color slightly, but not enough. I tried this product as a last resort and it completely removed the black from my hair. Although it did smell terrible during the application, after washing my hair 5 times during the rinse process, my hair smells and feels great. My final color is back where it was before my last dye-job. I highly recommend this!
Review 443 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hawthorne, FL

Too much smell without enough help.

Date:September 29, 2009
Cons: Messy, Too Harsh, Smells Bad, Difficult To Use
Here's my story:Seven months ago I dyed my hair black, when my natural colour is a dark brown. Although it did fade, it never completely came out.A few weeks ago, I dyed my hair a deep red. This was disastrous, only affecting my roots and leaving me with bright red roots and dark brown hair with black streaks.Before the red, for weeks I'd been looking for ways to get my hair back to normal: I tried evening it out with medium brown dye, lightening it with honey, lightening it with vitamin C... All these did was lighten my roots.I found this product, and picked up two boxes due to me having very thick hair. I followed all the directions, and used Dawn as the shampoo.My hair was brittle, which never happens. I have healthy, oily hair, so I was upset. After putting tons of conditioner on my hair, it seemed to have gotten it close to good condition.My scalp afterwards and any body parts the product came on during the shower have burned all night and all of today, and have been really itchy. My scalp is bright pink and irritated, no matter how much they tell you this product is "gentle".It added a few pretty red highlights, but the colour is not even. I don't even know if it got the black out of my hair. I am throughly upset.Not to mention I had to wear an odor mask while I applied this. This has smelled up my bathroom horribly - already a day later, no one can walk in it.So now I have itchy, burning, irritated scalp; uneven colour between my roots and the rest of my hair; more brittle hair; a horrible headache from the smell; and a bathroom that smells worse than anything you could imagine.The only "pro" I got was red highlights, which are minimal.And all this happened from using a "gentle" product. [...] It's like wrath in a box.
Review 444 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Lavaca, Texas.

DON'T BE FRIGHTENED BY THE BAD REVIEWS!

Date:October 3, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Step-by-step instruction
Cons: Smells Bad
It's about the same story you've read on here dozens of times. I meant to dye my hair dark brown, and of course it came out PITCH BLACK. I was so upset. I must have cried for about an hour. I did everything I could find to get the color to fade out: baking soda, dish soap, prell, and of course NONE of it worked. The black just wasn't budging. I read a significant amount of reviews on this product, and afraid as I was that I was going to go bald, I tried it. Incredible product. Although it didn't remove ALL of the black, it did make my hair colour considerably softer. I suffered NO hair loss from using this product. Although it smelled, it was as bad some people say it was. Open up a door or window and you'll be fine. I encourage you to rinse, rinse, rinse when you use this product. I know that if I had rinsed a bit more, the black would have bit lifted even more than it was. I love this product. I read a negative review that said something about the users of this product review right after it was used, and how the stripped colour would eventually return. This is false. My hair mishap and use of this product was about a week and a half ago, and the black hasn't returned in the least. Now all I have to do is wait for November to roll around and I can get my hair back to brown. I constantly thank God for Color Oops. It definitely saved me face.
Review 445 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ

This worked perfectly for me!

Date:October 8, 2009
Pros: Great Color, Natural Look, Easy To Use, Gentle
I was trying to go back to my original medium/light brown shade that was growing out about an inch or two after having had lightned and highlighted hair for a year or so. So the top/roots were brown and the rest of my hair, which I had just had cut yesterday to the nape of my neck, was highlighted/blonde. I bought a medium natural cool brown shade that I thought matched my natural color. NOT!! I ended up with very dark brown hair, almost black on the ends. I read the reviews here and then this morning went out and bought the Extra strenth Oops. I did a test patch for 20 minutes and thought it was too light, so I kept the product on my hair for only 15 minutes and then rinsed and shampooed for the 20 minutes recommended. I conditioned it for several minutes with some haircolor conditioner. My color came out the color that I was origianlly going for!! a light to medium brown all over. Honestly, after reading some of the reviews, I was so scared to do this, but for my situation it turned out great! I thought it was going to smell terrible, it didn't! I thought it was going to be so messy, it wasn't. My hair is soft and not dried out like I thought it would be. Conditioner takes care of that. Hope this helps someone out there:)
Review 446 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:conroe tx

My Hero

Date:October 13, 2009
Pros: Natural Look, Easy To Use, Great Color, Gentle
Cons: Smells Bad
Here is the thing i was trying to dye my hair a nice burgandy and it just turned my roots purple so i was upset and not at all happy about my hair. so i got color oops and i was not to sure if it was going to work but i got it anyways....well let me just say this stuff works it's great it took out all the dye and i dye my hair alot...and turned it a pretty light blond red color ... now im not ever sure im going to redye it
Review 447 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tulsa, Ok

LOVE IT!!!!

Date:October 18, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
I did what so many others have, I bought the dark brown hair color just for it to turn out Jet Black. I was so upset, I was sick at my stomach. Nothing worked to lighten the color, until I found this product. This product wiped the black right out and now my hair color is the exact shade I wanted it to be in the beginning. I didn't have to recolor my hair. This product saved me a great deal of embarrassment and I appreciate it!!
Review 448 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clarks Vegas, Tennessee

Red back to Blonde-- Amazing Results!

Date:October 19, 2009
Pros: Versatile, Great Color, Gentle, Easy To Use, Natural Look
Cons: Need more for long hair
This product works miracles! I am a natural dark ash blond who bleaches or has highlights as my roots grow in--thus most of my hair is light blonde.
I decided to become a redhead using Natural Instincts and completely regretted it! I had left the Natural Instincts on much longer than the box said to really get a deep red, and despite this, Color Oops still really pulled it off my hair.
I followed the box directions to the letter (except for not bothering with the strand test), and 99% of the red came out and my blond is back! I would recommend buying 2 boxes if you have a lot of hair...I have long hair and I think all the red would have come out if I had used 2 boxes to really saturate the back, hard to reach places. It left my hair in great condition, no breakage/falling out/etc. Wonderful product, will use again if I need to!
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ncteacher100
NC
Posted March 3, 2013
Life Saver! I had a beautician color my hiar dark brown which actually turned out to be black with red highlights. I am a very fair complected person and it was horrible. I hated it, my husband hated it and even the people at the stored told me it was too dark for my complexion. I was honestly going to buy a wig. I was so embarrassed to go out in public. I went to Walgreens to buy this product. I used it and it returned the color to my natural blonde. Thank goodness for this product. I would recommend it anytime.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 449 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Trevose,PA

Works, But Bad Smell

Date:October 21, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Smells Bad
It Work Great, but The smell is really bad. My boyfriend didnt even want to get near me. I had Black Hair and it change to a dark brown. but just recolor for a ligher look.
Review 450 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern CA

Great!

Date:October 23, 2009
Pros: Natural Look, Long-Lasting, Easy To Use, Versatile
Cons: Smells Bad
I used it on my black hair (that I've been dying black multiple times over the last few months) turned it a nice dark strawberry blonde.
Review 451 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clarkston, GA

Relieved and happy!!!

Date:October 23, 2009
Pros: Great Color, Gentle, Versatile, Natural Look, Easy To Use
I have natural "dirty" or "dishwater" blond hair and have been coloring my hair for the past 20 something years. About four months ago a girl asked me, "What color IS your hair? Sometimes it looks blond, sometimes it looks strawberry and sometimes it looks light brown", so I decided it was definitely time for a change! I decided to color it a little bit darker than I had been and the first time I did this, I thought it to be a bit too dark (although it really wasn't dark at all!) So I went to a beauty supply store and talked to a girl there who seemed to be very knowledgeable and talked me into purchasing a highlight kit. I had bought one at [@] but it did not come with a cap and needle and there was NO way I was going to do this by free-hand! I have pretty thick hair and it's just past my shoulders. Well, I put the highlights in and was so proud of myself! They looked great!So about a month and a half later I noticed that my hair was looking dingy (drab) and decided to highlight it again. I also purchased a color to put all over that was closer to my natural color and then did the highlights after coloring. This time it did not come out as well. (I think it was because I used a different all over color that was not quite as dark as the previous time I colored all over before highlighting). It looked good, but not as good. So I thought I'd get a little bit darker of a color the next time. I purchased a gorgeous color and once I read the pamphlet on the inside (it was not on the outside of the box) it stated that it should be used on brown color hair and that it was not recommended for blond. Well, I did a strand test (which I NEVER do!) and it looked okay. I figured the highlights would brighten it up. I put the color on, and while I was in the shower cleaning the drain of my hair, I noticed it to be an odd color. Dried it and due to the not so good lighting in our house, I had a difficult time trying to figure out the exact color of it! My roots were a dark strawberry blond and where I had the highlights... it was a mixture of gray and greenish-blue! I called my husband (he works nights) at 5am this morning and told him, "Honey, I have a problem. My hair turned out gray!" He called me back after I did some online searching. Then I happened upon Color Oops and told him how much it was versus going to a professional. He came in from work this morning and wanted to know how "Granny" was doing! lmao! Then he handed me some money and off to [@] I went, with my hair in a bun. Thank goodness there were only about five people in the store, three of whom worked there. I was looking for the Color Oops and turned around and looked in a mirror in their lighting and sure enough, it was confirmed that my hair was very gray, greenish-blue!I came home and immediately read the directions. [...]Well, I began to wonder how my hair would turn out, even after having read about 100 reviews (two of them were the exact same thing that happened to me and one of them stated the name of the product which is the very same one that I used and it turned my hair these odd colors!). So I went ahead and did the strand test. Took it out to the living room and showed my husband. Then I decided to go for it. I read so much about how horrible the smell was so I was pleasantly surprised that it did not smell nearly as bad as regular hair coloring does! I put the product on my hair and was continuously putting in a little bit, then combing it. At first I thought for sure that I would have to use both boxes. 22 minutes had passed before I finally got all of it in (I'm a big comber and wanted it to be even!) and then hopped in the shower. I washed, rinsed, washed, rinsed, washed, put a three minute conditioner on, washed, then put on a regular conditioner, got out of the shower and noticed how blond it was. I was scared it was going to be too strawberry for my liking, but once it dried it reminded me of when I was a kid and had that gorgeous very light (borderline bleach) blond. I was very surprised at how well it turned out.While at the drug store, I went ahead and read the directions and also purchased the color that I knew I would be safe using ~ as I've used this particular color probably 20 times. After I finished drying my hair, I just decided to leave it like it is. It is a couple of shades lighter than my normal hair color, but that's fine with me. Instead of coloring it closer to my natural color, I am going to put lowlights on it in the near future. But for now, I'm going to enjoy how pretty it looks!Yes, I was skeptical at first ~ especially after reading so many where the product did not work for people. I don't know what they did different than what I did, but it was a lifesaver for me!!! I KNOW my husband is VERY happy that he doesn't have to come up with money for me to have it professionally done!And the extra box that I have... I've already put it in the closet ~ just in case!Yes, I HIGHLY recommend this product!!! I've already told one of my friends on the Internet about it! I just hope and pray that I don't wake up in the morning and it be that horrid color it was this morning!To the makers of Color Oops ~THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 452 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chicago, il

VERY HAPPY WITH MY RESULTS!!!

Date:October 24, 2009
Pros: Gentle, Easy To Use
Cons: Smells Bad
IT REALLY WORKS!!! i am very happy with my results. i have been coloring my hair with Clairol's Natural Instincts for about 4 years and recently, it has left my hair: (1) unevenly colored--with the roots lighter than the rest of hair & (2) the rest of my hair length [not the root area] was soaking up so much color that it looked black & muddy. it was black even tho i was coloring it with a semi-permanent med/lt brown. the problem is that coloring has made my hair is so pourous, that it soaks up color like a sponge. also, i have VERY fine, thin hair, and semi-permanent (supposedly gentle) hair coloring has made my hair even more fragile. as a consequence, i was extremely scared to use a color remover on my hair. i read about Color Oops and many other color removers: Colorzap, Uncolor, Colorfix, The One & Only, and more. I found out that Color Oops is different from all the others in that it is sulphur based (more gentle than other color removers, i.e., not bleachy). i had to use the most gentle product i could find. i read a ton of reviews, and since soooo many people have had luck with Color Oops & because it seemed to be the most gentle of the color removers, i thought i'd give it a try. viola!! it worked great. i planned on recoloring, but i am happy with the color it is now, a sort of auburn. in addition, because my hair is lighter now, the grey in my roots is not as noticable. i'm sure i will recolor sometime soon (my grey roots do need covering), but the color i am now after using color oops is nice and i think it looks much better! also, the smell is nasty when you're using it, but my hair smells fine after shampooing/ conditioining/ blowdrying just one time.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 453 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Texas

OMG What am I going to do.

Date:October 31, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Smells Bad
I have very light red hair with not grey but rather bright white all over. I decided to try and go one shade darker than my normal hair. OMG IT WAS a aweful!!! I ended up with Dark MAROON Hair! This is a life saver. I have Company VIP's coming to our office in 2 days. It was 1:00 in the morning and I tried to wash some of the color out. No luck. I found a 24 hour Walgreens after reading reviews and said I had nothing to lose.
Follow the directions. Your hair will be really dry so get a good conditioner. I got Clairol's Nice'n easy color seal. It's the same conditioner that you use after you color. Works great. I ended up with a very light cinnamon color and it looks very natural. I would tell everyone to use this product when you have a hair color oops! Thank GOD for this wonderful product
Review 454 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oklahoma

AWESOME!!!!

Date:November 1, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Gentle, Great Color, Natural Look
Cons: Smells Bad
I had my dishwater blonde hair professionally colored to a reddish brown, complete with purple highlights. It was fun for a few days, but not something I could live with long term. Color Oops took me to a really nice strawberry blonde - not my natural color but I didn't care. It looked and felt great. After about ten days of my normal shampooing, I noticed even the strawberry blonde was washing out, and now I really am back to a darker, natural blonde. I am sooooo happy. Thanks you Color Oops. I didn't have to go back to the salon or spend a fortune on color correction. And yes, the smell is unfortunate, but no worse than a perm. It's a small price to pay!
Review 455 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Columbus, GA

Expensive, Hard to Manage, and Vile Smel

Date:November 1, 2009
Cons: Smells Bad, Messy, Too Harsh, Difficult To Use
NEVER AGAIN. This stuff is vile and hard to manage. Results middling.
Review 456 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:new jersey

didnt work,horrible smell!!

Date:November 3, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Messy, Smells Bad
i used a semi permanent black hair coloring product and it was supposed to wash out in 6-8 weeks which didn't happen so i decided to remove it myself and bought color oops...i followed the directions the right way,the product smelled horrible i kept wanting to puke from it the whole time,and i was angry to see it didn't even work!! don't buy it if you're trying remove black hair dye,it won't work!!and dispose of the bottle you mixed it in immediately in an outside trash can,it will make your whole house smell bad!!
Review 457 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:missouri

removed black but left hair purple red

Date:November 7, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Color Misrepresented, Smells Bad
Okay 3 weeks ago I decided to have my hair professionally dyed back to the color of my natural hair, which is dark brown. My hair came out black. I had finally been sick of it and decided to use this product. After rinising my hair for the full 20 mins plus the additional 5 minutes it said my hair is now a purply red color. This product did what I wanted it too, it removed the black, but now I have another nasty color to deal with.
Review 458 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring,MD

It worked

Date:November 16, 2009
Pros: Gentle, Natural Look, Easy To Use
Cons: Smells Bad
It worked thank God! I wanted to go a little darker brown after coloring my dark drown hair to a reddish brown color. My dark brown roots started creeping up so I went darker....BAD mistake! It turned PITCH BLACK! Color oops worked exactly like it said it would. Oh and if this happens to you try calling the color company, they might refund you back your money. They did for me.
Review 459 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cda, ID

Surprising!!

Date:November 21, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Gentle, Great Color, Natural Look
Cons: Smells Bad
I dyed my hair black (non-permanent) for part of my Halloween costume and then got sick of looking like an emo/goth chick. So! I decided I'd permanent-dye it light brown. What I got was about 1/4" light orange roots with black hair. I panicked and literally called every salon in this city and the next (about 30 salons) and they were all closed - it being a Sunday and all. I was seriously considering calling in sick to work tomorrow lol Then my best friend told me about Color Oops. I figured it was worth a shot and [$] was a heck of a lot better than 150+ I'd be spending at the salon. The results? So close to my natural hair color it's scary! I didn't even remember what my natural color was until my said it haha I would definitely recommend this to anyone dumb enough to dye their hair black lol Amazing! Oh! And one more thing - this doesn't smell any worse than permanent dye; so if you're used to that, this is nothing.
Review 460 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Louisiana

color oops!!

Date:November 22, 2009
Pros: Gentle, Easy To Use
I have dark brown hair with natural reddish in it. I dyed it non-permanent midnight black about a month ago. I got color oops earlier today and just got done recently using it. My hair is now drying. My mom says she can see my natural color and that it's not as black. I can't really tell yet. I may use the other box tomorrow. I guess it's OK. DID NOT turn my hair white or orange. Granted it's not completely dry but I don't think the color will change much.
<<prev 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 ... 35 next>>