Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Color Oops Extra Strength Hair Color Remover

Color Oops Extra Strength Hair Color Remover

The safest and most effective way to reverse an undesirable hair color application. Corrects your hair color by shrinking the dye molecules, allowing you to simply wash them away. It removes artificial color from hair that has become too dark. For instance: if your hair was blonde and you applied a brown color that is too dark, it can be used to get your hair back to a blonde shade. It can also be used to remove artificial color from hair that was lightened but became off-tone. For instance: if you have naturally brown hair and used an ash blonde color and your hair is now blonde with a green tint, it will remove the green tint, but your hair will remain blonde.Removes all artificial hair color Gently removes permanent & semi-permanent hair color Takes only 20 minutes Ammonia free/bleach free Re-color the same dayContains: Part 1Part 2Made in USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.075 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(694 Reviews) 694
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (694 reviews)
5 stars
378
4 stars
179
3 stars
30
2 stars
25
1 star
82
165 out of 197(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Review 121 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female

satisfied

Date:September 12, 2011
Pros: takes out haircolor, Fast Results, Inexpensive
Cons: smells!!!, dries out your hair
I decided to color over my blonde streaks with a light brown color closer to my natural haircolor. Well, my hair turned a greyish maroon color which looked horrible. 3 days later I decided I couldn't live with it so I read some reviews and decided to try this before crawling back to my stylist. I did exactly as the directions said and twenty minutes later I admit I freaked out at first because I saw brassy roots and darker bottom half of hair.
It smelled funky too. After I dried and styled it I decided it was not so bad. It's much lighter then my natural hair and a bit brassy but doesn't look as cheap as the dye job. Does what it says but after using a permanent color don't expect it to take you back to your natural hair color.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tshirtmom
greenfield
Posted January 16, 2012
I have been dying my dark hair red and browns and decided it was too dark. I did not have a disaster but used it anyway. It worked the first time. It was kind of orangy but people said it looked good but my husband said it was still darker at the bottom.So I did it again an hour later. Now it's a light redish brown and looks real nice. I rinsed real well both times. I am pleased and my friend is going to try it too. I say go for it, just make sure you rinse well like I did both times for 20 minutes. If it turns dark again I'll post again and let you know.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 122 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Perfect

Date:August 31, 2011
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast Acting, Gentle
Cons: Smells Bad
I bought this after having my very first hair disaster. I always do my own hair, and have never had a bad result. But it did finally catch up with me. I lightened my hair a little too light...OK, A lot too light. I remembered I had a bottle of brown hair dye left from previously. I got it, put it in and pretty quickly noticed something was wrong. It turned my hair jet black. I don't know if somone changed the color around in the box at the store or what, but it was horrilble. I tried lightening it with a lighter color...nope, still black I was so upset, and my scalp was starting to really hurt. I read about this.....prayed it would work and went and bought it. and within just a min. or so the black was disapearing!! I couldn 't believe my eyes. Or my noes. It smelled terrible! But for the result I don't care what it smells like!!! All the black gone, and I even re- dyed my hair. Perfection!!
Review 123 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:california
Age:18-24
Gender:female

it works!

Date:August 23, 2011
Pros: works!
Cons: Smells Bad
color oops really works! i have dyed my hair about 10 times black and stopped dying back in april. my hair was still black and i couldnt get it out! so i heard of color oops and tried it. it smelt really bad but i could tell rincing in the shower my hair looked brown already! once my hair was dry it looked kinda orangey but after 2 days my hair was back to its natural color. im so happy thanks to color oops!
Review 124 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orlando
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Boo

Date:August 19, 2011
This did not work AT ALL and was a waste of my 40 min. (20 min on 20 min rinsing)
Review 125 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:DeLand Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female

didn't go back to original color

Date:August 19, 2011
Pros: it took some color out and was easy
Cons: smells awful and didn't really live up to its name
I have silver grey hair .I had Matrix dark auburn put in, which lightens up very little through shampoos. For most a good thing I would guess. But not for me. I wanted to go back to grey after my husband said truthfully he didn't like the color. Now he tells me! :( So I went with a friend and found color oops thinking it couldn't hurt and would do what it said i tried it. I now have light rusty reddish shade with greying roots as before. Oh well......if it sounds too good to be true it is. Hopefully this will eventually fade if not my hair grows fast in Florida..Vanity thy name is Woman
Review 126 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Age:18-24
Gender:female

Date:August 15, 2011
Pros: takes out dark color
Cons: not recommended if you're trying to go blond
This product managed to take out all the black hair color I had put in, putting me back to an even auburn tone. So if all you want to do is strip out some dark color, go for it, this works (left my hair dry and static-y, though). Then I tried to bleach it. My hair turned a gorgeous white blond-- on my roots. Even though the hair appeared to all be the same color, chemically there was obviously a difference in the parts that had reacted with Color Oops. I'm going to see if I can get my money back, and use that for more dark hair color. This was a waste of time and money-- thanks, Color Oops.
Review 127 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female

Trial Failure

Date:August 13, 2011
Cons: smells because of the hydrosulfite, drips everywhere (it's runny), didn't work in my case
I've dyed pink streaks (using Splat) into my bleached blonde hair about two months ago and just reapplied it a week ago, but wanted to take it out for personal reasons. I've heard great reviews for it and thought I might try it. BIG MISTAKE.
I followed the directions to a "T" and even used clarifying shampoo to help remove the color, but to no avail. I'm fairly disappointed with this product. I'm going to a stylist tomorrow (used this product this evening) to get my haircut and will most likely ask her to strip my hair if possible.
All I hope is that this box of product was defective, and I turned out to have an unlucky batch. Best of luck to others who try it!
P.S.- I gave an average rating for quality and value because I know it can work, but obviously my batch didn't.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted June 22, 2012
The directions specifically indicate it doesn't work on certain tips of color, specifically pinks and purples and blues. I did it on black and it was fabulous.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted October 5, 2011
Color Oops doesn't remove unnatural color (pinks, greens, blues, etc)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted September 8, 2011
It says right in the directions that it won't take out pinks, purples, etc.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 128 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:st.louis,mo
Age:25-34
Gender:female

AMAZING!!!

Date:August 7, 2011
ok ,so after I have bleached my hair, colored it red and had a bright brick orange mess on my head I thought that's it! I'm done with trying to get my hair lighter ,I'm going back to black hair!!!" ..well that didn't turn out well since the black hair color I used had a purple tint to it and turned my hair in a purple/reddish mess! OMG!!! it was a disaster...my last resort was to go to a hair salon and get it professionally removerd. Since it was a weekend it ment I had to wait until Monday-NO WAY....so I found this product and thought what do I have to loose...well ,after carefully following dorections to the letter , let me tell you...not only did it work but it got rid of ALL the color and got my hair to my nautral light brown.I haven't seen that color in 15 years!!! I am truly amazed and happy I tried this product!!!! It is simply amazing,once again thank you for coming up with a product that trully works,even after 3 dye jobs gone wrong in 2 days on top of 15 years of hair coloring. THANK YOU!!!!!!
Review 129 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:18-24
Gender:female

it works

Date:August 5, 2011
Pros: Works great
Cons: Smells terrible
I dye my hair a different color like every three months, and have been for several years. My most recent was black and red at the roots from trying to box dye it red. I used color oops and my hair is now light brown with a red tint to it! It worked great the only down side is the smell. My hair still smells like rotten eggs even after I have washed it 5 times
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

it worked!

Date:August 4, 2011
I put a medium brown permanent color on my medium mousy brown w/gray hair. It turned out way too dark....a very, very, very dark brown that looked basically black. Looked terrible on me, I looked like a corpse!
I picked up a box of Color Oops at Walgreens and hoped for the best. It definitely worked! The dark color is gone! My hair color is not exactly the same as it was pre-hair dye fiasco, but it's close. It has a slightly reddish tint and is actually a little lighter. But it looks fine. I had bought another box of dye to put on it after the Color Oops, but because it looks so good I decided to wait a while before re-coloring it yet again. I figure why process it a third time in one day if you don't need to, especially since I'm not really sure how the second box of dye will come out at this point. I'm going to let it be for a while and give it a chance to tone down a bit more and then I'll re-color.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
greenmom
wisconsin
Posted October 7, 2011
i dyed my hair brown but it turned out black. it wasn't good so I used Oops and it lightened it nicely and now I love my hair. I left it on for 20 min from the first drop I put on. I would recommend 20 min from the time you finish putting it on if you want it to be truly out.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 131 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Age:18-24
Gender:female

I read all the great reviews, why bad results?

Date:August 2, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: doesn't remove color well, cost alot of money & doesnt even work, waste of hot water & time, coughing & weezing when applying to hair
Followed instructions, Color didnt come out.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:female

Oops

Date:July 21, 2011
I used this after my color was way too dark! My hair was a dark ash blond/brown. However, after using this, my hair is quite orange (redhead) in tone. Any feedback on why and whether this will tone down--or whether I should try another box? my hair feels pretty dry right now, as I don't nornally process it w/hair color, etc.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vestavia, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Worked

Date:July 20, 2011
My hair is a little brassy but it definitely helped a lot!!! Nice product.
Review 134 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:california
Age:45-54
Gender:female

IT WORKS!!!

Date:July 14, 2011
I was sceptical just like everyone else & stared at the box for several days. After reading these reviews I decided to risk it even though I am going to a wedding in 2 days. I am a graying dark brown naturally but have been coloring for years & have recently been using soft black, permanent dye. I followed instructions exactly & was amazed at the results...took it ALL out!!! I am very happy & there is nothing to fear...DO IT!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:grand rapids, MI

Very impressed

Date:July 1, 2011
Pros: it does what it's meant to do, doesn't dry out my hair
Cons: Very runny, Smelly
OK, so after only a week after i dyed my naturally blonde hair a "deep burgundy" I decided that I wasn't really into my new red color. I had had the red hair in the past, and had to go through a process of bleaching and toning in order to get it back to a blonde shade, but that left my hair in TERRIBLE condition. all the bleach made my hair very stringy. I decided to try this product since it is bleach free, and I was just curious. I am SO HAPPY I used this!! I followed the directions and to my surprise, it got my hair almost exactly back to how it was previously. In fact, I'm letting it process for a second time to try to get the rest of the warm tones out because there's still a hint of red, which is fine since I was expecting to have orange hair. I'm so happy I did this!! my hair does NOT feel damaged or fried. It's wonderful. One con though... this stuff stinks!!!
Review 136 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Age:18-24
Gender:female

WORST product EVER!!

Date:June 25, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: bad coloring, waste of water so it won't work, bad color after you re-color, not too cheap, Waste of time
I got this product hoping it would remove the dark brown from my hair and all it did was turn it a copper color. Not a big deal, i thought. But then of course, when I dyed it a golden blonde it turned even DARKER except my ROOTS!! Now, needless to say, my hair looks HORRIBLE. I wanted to save money instead of going to salons where they bleach and damage my hair and now I'm left with this horrible color that I'll probably have to end up going to a salon to fix. Worst product ever. I do not reccomend it to anyone. Don't waste your time or money---not worth it.
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Farmington, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:female

It really works!!!

Date:June 22, 2011
I was so skeptical about buying this product because nothing would work on my dark hair. My hair was a very dark dyed color and i didn't like it. I bought this product thinking it might work and i was so surprised because it worked better than i could ever imagine! It turned my hair a yellow-orange-blonde color which i really don't care about because i am just going to dye over it with a light color.
Review 138 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female

I am me again!

Date:May 29, 2011
I knew I had made a mistake when my oldest daughter told me I looked like rocker mom. I took my natural auburn color to almost a burgudy, when it should have only given me a shade difference according to the box. I was nervous looking in the mirror. I read all the fixes online that varied from olive oil to dandruff shampoo, and found myself driving to the neighborhood pharmacy at 2 in the morning for some Head and Shoulders. Just for fun, I looked in the color section for something like this product...I am so glad I did. It took only twenty minutes to restore my hair to its natural color and it feels like I hadn't chemically killed it. I am very please with this product. Does it smell a bit? Yes! Is the smell a small price to pay for having my hair back? ABSOLUTELY!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California

It works!

Date:May 20, 2011
I had put an ash blonde color to cover my roots and it turned the rest of my hair that was highlighted a nasty blonde/green color.
So I bought oops and applied it, mostly to the highlighted areas. It worked AWESOME. It took all the green out and just left this pretty blonde with my natural red highlights to it. It will not turn your hair back to brown if you bleach it, it will just get rid of the green tint.
I definitely recommend it!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Extra Strength Hair Color Remover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:female

WONDERFUL!!!

Date:May 15, 2011
I had been using a dark red/brown semi-permanent color for a few months, and decided to go back to my natural (gray, brown, red, blond...weird, I know) color. After much research, I decided on Color Oops. It worked GREAT! I have to admit that once I was done, my hair color wasn't exactly my natural shade, but instead a beautiful golden blonde...perfect for summer. The final outcome is close enough to my natural color that I'm a little blonder, with my gray hair looking like highlights. The smell really wasn't bad, the 20 minutes to rinse wasn't real fun (but it was tolerable) and my hair felt fine after I conditioned it. I went for a trim yesterday and suggested it to my hairdresser, who has another customer looking for this type of product...she was going to call her customer to tell her about Color Oops. I strongly suggest this product to anyone...I'm a HUGE skeptic when it comes to any type of beauty product, and I can say with conviction this product is wonderful, and does what it says.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 35 next>>