Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Max Factor Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Max Factor Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup

Water activated Make-upMade in USA  
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Review 1 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female

Max Factor Pancake

Date:August 27, 2013
Pros: water based
Cons: hard to find at a reasonable price
Not sure why Max Factor has stopped producing this in the US. I have used this product for 44 years.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax Station, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Beautiful Skin for 40 yeaars

Date:August 17, 2010
I learned about this in college from an upperclassman with perfect skin; and for the last 40 years, that's been me. This stuff is totally non-oily, goes on quicly, can be blended when dry with dry hands, is a perfect base for other things, and looks as though you are wearing no make-up base at all. Men have always told me how they loved that I didn't "cake on that other gunk" like other girls. I think the name "Pan-Cake" scares people off because it brings to mind the thick heavy theatrical make-up. Nothing could be further from the truth. It gets harder and harder to find... PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE MAKING THIS PRODUCT!! When nothing else is going right, your skin will still be lovely.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit,Mi
Age:55-65
Gender:female

WHY

Date:August 9, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Why stop a good thing? This has been around forever, I've tried all the major make up and I always go back to the panstick. Its cheap,good, and no other can match it. If they can please let me know,because I haven't been able to find this in stores in yrs. Always order online. But how long wil that last. I'm ordering 10 this time and that makes about 30 I bought in the last 5 yrs,. I share with my daughter, who wears makeup every day.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Max Factor PanCake makeup

Date:July 13, 2010
Pros: great value - $8 - $10 and lasts several months!, read all the reviews on other sites
I have used this make up for over 20 yrs. I've tried others, but never found anything. Now I can't hardly find MaxFactor Pancake make up & I don't know what to do. It looks natural, works for all skin types - as I used it as a teenager & now as 40-something. Please restock it up!!!
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles California
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Great product

Date:July 2, 2010
Cons: no cons!!!
Best makeup I've ever used!! I refuse to use anything else. Nothing is as good as Max factor pancake makeup!! Gives a flawless finish!! Hides all imperfections and stays all day!!!
Review 6 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:McAllen, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female

good for your face

Date:June 5, 2010
this make up helps you specially for the hot weather, it doesnt smmir or anything like that is number one make up!! it doesn't look think on your face try it everyone!! i really need this product, please!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sandy
TX
Posted February 23, 2013
I too started wearing Max Factor Water-activated makeup in college. Goodness, 30+ years ago. I am getting the hint they are going to stop making it? Goodness NO! This is not my color so I will have to look elsewhere. My skin was always oily and this helped it tremendously. One super makeup ladies...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TX

THIS YOUR ANSWER TO OILY SKIN, LADIES!

Date:May 15, 2010
Pros: Long-Lasting, Goes On Smoothly, Easy To Apply, Lightweight, Blends Well
I have worn Max Factor's pancake make up since my college days and only that ever since. I am a retired teacher. I do not have dark skin but I wear the darkest shade they make. I don't know why and it shows no lines, it just blends perfectly with my skin. Anything ligher doesn't look right on me. When you find the perfect product for YOU, stick with it! Never heard they might stop making this product, I'll be buying it up if so. Please don't start rumors!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BASELEINE/GUADALUPE GILBERT ARIZONA

i can't go out without it

Date:December 3, 2009
I HAVE PAN CAKE MAKE UP SINCE 15 YRS. OLD AND I AM 58 NOW. ALL MAKE I TRIED I WAS ALLERGIC EXCEPT MAX FACTOR KEEP ON PRODUCING
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:monroe nc

water activated pancake makeup by maxfac

Date:November 22, 2009
Pros: Matte Finish, Noncomodegenic, Goes On Smoothly, Long-Lasting, The best perfect skin, Lightweight, Blends Well, Easy To Apply, Good Pigmentation
Cons: No cons
Please put this product back in the stores .i can't live without it!!it is flawless ,wet a cosmet.sponge and aply over face let dry and aply other make up .it is so natural you dont feel you have it on you ,very natural it also diminish wrinkles.not heavy,no cons like other prod.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Louis , Missouri

Max Factor is great for oily skin

Date:March 3, 2009
Pros: Long-Lasting, Lightweight, Goes On Smoothly, Easy To Apply, Noncomodegenic, Good Pigmentation, Matte Finish, Blends Well
Hey Ladies ;
There is a trick to applying well & it just takes some practice . I have been using this for over 15 years . I tan in the summer so I have to mix colors as I tan to a darker color . I have found that smoothing it on with a sponge in upward strokes gets the smoothest look for me . I blow dry my face & then smoothe out any uneveness with cloth or hand towel . After that I do mascara & blush if I need it . Oily skin is such a pain & using this kind of makeup with water is fantastic . Bless you Max Factor for such a great product . It also DOSENT make me break out . I will buy this product forever . Hope I can take it to heaven with me :)
Review 11 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Arkansas

Definitely different

Date:May 19, 2008
Pros: Lightweight, Long Lasting, Easy To Take-off
Cons: Not easy to apply
I bought this foundation cause I read it was really good for oily skin - and it is. The thing is that it is not easy to apply. If you apply more than one layer, it turns streaky and awful because it dries real fast. I guess less is the way to go with this foundation. I also wish they would make darker colors cause I got medium beige and it is light.
Review 12 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, Florida

I'm in love

Date:April 21, 2008
Pros: Covers Well, Easy To Apply, Smooth, Long Lasting, Lightweight
I have been using this makeup since I was 15. I am 30 now and I wouldn't use anything else. I am very fair and this foundation is easy for me to apply and goes on even. It fills in my pores and makes my skin look very smooth. I have always been told that I have porcelain skin and I know it's because of this product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas

Pancake Make-Up

Date:April 13, 2008
Pros: Long Lasting, Covers Well, Easy To Apply, GREAT for oily skin
Maxfactor Pancake Make-up is the best make-up for oily skin or any skin type. I have worn it for many, many years from college days until now and I am retired. It doesn't run, smear, or clog your pores. I find the darkest color best for my skin and I am not dark in color. Each person's skin type accepts color differently. Don't give up, try another color.
Review 14 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Johnston. R.I.

God Bless pan-cake make up

Date:January 17, 2008
Pros: E for 52 years I began w, Easy To Take-off, Smooth, Long Lasting, Lightweight, Covers Well, Easy To Apply
Cons: No cons
I have been using Pan-cake make-up for 52 years.I began using it when I was 16 and now I am going on 68 and my skin is still flawless.I use it every day, and I showed my sixteen year old twin nieces how to apply it and they love it,too.Pan-cake is the reason all those beautys of the 1940'slook so flawless in all those Technicolor movies.[...] Never stop making it. sincerely Tina Sardi
Review 15 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waco TX

I've Used Max Factor Pancake Forever!

Date:December 10, 2007
Pros: Enjoy, You won't be sorry, I've used it for decades, Light skinwonderful, I use Tan 2 and have, For your own skin, Smooth, Long Lasting, Wonderful Product, Covers Well, Learn how to apply, Wouldn't use any other, Easy To Take-off, Easy To Apply, Lightweight, Blends Easily
Cons: NO CONS FOR ME
This is a wonderful product for me and has covered any blemishes. Learn how to use it on YOUR skin, you won't be sorry. All make up needs a learning process for your own skin, enjoy learning how to beautify YOU!
Review 16 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cape Coral, FL

What the....?

Date:November 28, 2007
Pros: uh...that would be NONE
Cons: Heavy, everything, Clumpy
Alright, obviously I don't know how to use this product properly b/c I found it awful. Hideous. I wet my sponge, swirl it around the makeup, and rub it on my face. Uh, don't know what else I'm supposed to do with it. The end result? An unblendable, heavy, cakey mess. I don't know what the "activation" is about but trying to rub water into powder creates a muddy mess. Like smearing moist clay on your face. Not the look I'm going for and definitely not "natural". Thanks anyway.
Review 17 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hercules, CA

Very Heavy and Cakey

Date:October 14, 2007
Pros: Smells Great, Long Lasting, Easy To Apply
Cons: Heavy, Cakey, Ineffective, Clumpy
I bought this and used it with water. You have to put on and on again to get the coverage you want. It's also very heavy looking. This would probably work if you're going to have a photo shoot or big occasions like Wedding etc. Smells good though!
Review 18 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:battle ground, washington

one word... WOW!

Date:October 5, 2007
Pros: Easy To Apply, Long Lasting, Prevents oily skin, Smooth, Natural looking, Lightweight, Matte, Flawless finish
Cons: Omg none
ok let me start off by saying this, its the best foundation ive ever used! AND LISTEN WHEN IM TELLING YOU THIS... IT IS NOT CAKEY OR HEAVY AT ALL!!!! its just sooooo perfect i love this stuff, and i am NEVER going to use anything else EVER again!!!! when i first read that it covers all your imperfections i was like... im getting that!!! and it did just that!! i didnt even need to use concealer!! it totally covered everything, its sooo awsome!ok, im going to leave a few tips that i didnt know about, that i had to search for to find out... ok so to apply the makeup you cant really use one of those latex wedge makeup sponges cuz they dont absorb anything [they need to be able to absorb the water[& this is something that i didnt know, and would have been totally mad if i didnt get the right sponge...]], so when your picking out your max factor makeup, look for the natural sea sponge, it should be next to the makeup somewhere [its only [$], & it will last a few years... & here is a link of what it looks like...[@] ok so thats the sponge you want to use when applying the makeup. ok second tip, when picking out the shade that matches your skintone, keep this in mind... the makeup you see in the container is two shades darker than what it will look like when you apply it... so if the colors look too dark, dont worry, you can probably find your shade... [this was a very helpful tip for me, thank god i found that out before buying my makeup.] ok so more info on the right shades... ok so i have light, yellow toned skin... this is the link for the makeup that blends in perfectly with my skin and looks natural... [@] i was a little worried when i saw the selection of shades, since they all look a little pinkish to me... if you had the same problems i had then youll probably find this a little helpful :)i also have skin that gets oily during the day and my skin dosent get oily at all when i have this stuff on :D[and as soon as i put it on, my sister looked at me and said 'omg, i want that stuff"... shes going to the store tomorrow to buy it!!!ok so overall you should really buy this stuff if you want great coverage, and you have total control of how much or how little you put on and where you need it the most!and remember blend, blend, blend!!!i hope this review was helpful, lol.&& plus, if this stuff wasnt the best, it wouldnt have gotten 5 stars from all the people who purchased it :), im tellin you its awsome stuff!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA

Still Wonderful After All These Years

Date:September 1, 2007
Pros: Covers very well, Lightweight, Long Lasting, Easy To Apply, Smooth
Cons: Rubs Off
Max Factor Pancake Makeup has been used for decades by those who want a matte finish with excellent coverage. I use Amber Rose in the winter and Tan #1 in the summer. I have learned to use a moisturizer with an SPF 15 before applying the foundation. The only downer is that the foundation does transfer to my DH's jacket/shirt when he holds me close, but it comes right off.
Review 20 for Pan-Cake Water-Activated Makeup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, Ca

Max Factor Pancake Makeup

Date:May 24, 2007
Pros: Natural Look, Lightweight, Smooth, Long Lasting, Love it, Easy To Apply
Cons: None
My mom has used this product for years, and suggested I stop paying a fortune for my makeup and try this. I love it.
1 2 next>>