Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ortho Options Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Ortho Options Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel

With Nonoxynol-9.Effective birth control.For the prevent of pregnancy.For use with condom or alone.No hormonal side effects.Easy-to-use.The leader in women's birth control.Ortho Options offers women a full-range of easy-to-use contraceptive product forms that are highly effective, safe, and non-hormonal.Ortho Options Conceptrol Contraceptive Gel is unscented, clear, unflavored and stainless.It is prefilled into a single dose, convenient, easy to use, disposable plastic applicator containing Nonoxynol-9, making it one of the most effective contraceptives you can use without a prescription.Spermicides like Conceptrol are 94% effective when used correctly and consistently.Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.185 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
1 out of 2(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Review 1 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:August 14, 2010
I loved this product! It worked so well for me. I didn't find it messy or itchy. I used this for about a year and never got pregnant. I think it is a great product and would recommend it to anyone!!!!!!
Review 2 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jackson Heights, NY

Always Worked For Me

Date:April 23, 2010
Pros: VERY EFFECTIVE
Cons: Somewhat Messy
Even though I no longer need to use birth control, this product remains one of the most effective and easiest to use contraceptives I had ever found. It always worked for me. You just have to be sure to use it properly each and every time.
Review 3 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:nj

Great-Easy To Use

Date:August 3, 2009
Pros: Effective, Comfortable, Easy To Use
After trying several different kinds I found this to be the best. Not messy and no waiting time.
Review 4 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:brooklyn, ny

#1 contraceptive sold over the counter

Date:May 27, 2009
Pros: Sterile, Portable, Reliable
Have used this product for over 9 years and can swear by its effectiveness have never experienced side effects and have never encountered a pregnancy scare using this product.Best contraceptive product sold over the counter.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Somewhere, Illinois

Great Option that's not hormonal!

Date:September 12, 2008
Pros: Comfortable, Effective, Easy To Use
We used this to prevent pregnancy for about 5 years. I normally get pregnant very easily but never did while using this product. We never had any issues with itching or irritation. It worked great for us and we'd highly recommend it!
Review 6 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC

GREAT!!

Date:June 17, 2008
Pros: Effective, Comfortable, Easy To Use
I have been using this for many many years. No burning, itching or rash. My husband is very sensitive to products. This does NOT bother him at all. Just came from Walgreens with a new box!
Review 7 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV

The best product out there!

Date:November 5, 2007
Pros: Easy To Use, Effective, Comfortable, No waiting
The best thing about this product is that it works! I have used it for over 15 years and it has never failed me. It is quick, odorless and easy to use. I have tried other products in the past but this is the best.
Review 8 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ohio

Easy to use

Date:July 12, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Comfortable
I was wary of trying this because it sounded messy and awkward. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it is to use, and is not messy at all. I didnt find it uncomfortable or irritating at all. Hope it works!
Review 9 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Trust-worthy and Effective...for us

Date:May 28, 2009
Pros: Effective, Enhances Sexual Experience, Easy To Use
Cons: Messy
We've been using this product for about four years now ...maybe more and have had no failure. If used correctly, it is very effective. Only con is that it can be messy...You should also always check the expiration date on the package... Unfortunately, sometimes there are old packages on the shelves.
Review 10 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montana

Effective when used with a diaphragm

Date:March 17, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Effective, Comfortable
Cons: Messy
We have 4 kids, but none while using the cream with a diaphragm. Never trusted it by itself and never tried the diaphragm by itself either. Together however they are batting 1.000.
Review 11 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon

Great product

Date:April 23, 2008
Pros: Effective, Easy To Use
Great to use with a condom- not very effective on it's own.
Review 12 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:san jose CA

What messy means...

Date:September 12, 2007
Pros: Effective, Easy To Use, Comfortable
Cons: Messy
I use this stuff with condoms. I have yet to try it alone, as I do not want to risk pregnancy. The first time I used it (we were away), I couldnt believe what happened... As we were walking around a few hours after doing the deed, it all just leaked out. THANK GOD for pantiliners. I guess I never realized what goes in must come out.... If you decide to use this, be prepared for plenty of discharge in addition to the usual.
Review 13 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jackson Heights, NY

Effective Birth Control

Date:April 6, 2007
Pros: Easy To Use, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: Messy
This product has always worked for me; I've been using it since 1988 when my OB/GYN gave me a sample after the birth of our older daughter. My husband and I have 2 daughters only, both planned, ages 16 and 18. I've never had an unplanned pregnancy. You need to use it every time you have sex. Before using this product, I used a diaphragm; however, this is much easier to use. Originally, you did not need to assemble the applicator, now you have to before inserting it. This and the fact that I occasionally get an itch from the gel are the only complaints I have (to get rid of the itch, I use yeast infection cream; works like a charm). My husband has never had a problem with any side effects. These are minor inconveniences compared to having children we can't afford. This method, as with any contraceptive, needs to be used consistently; you can't skip "just this one time".
Review 14 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Carolina, PR

Very Good

Date:January 30, 2007
Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Use, Effective
Its kinda messy, but its no big deal. It works, thats what matters
Review 15 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Utah

Satisfied

Date:January 16, 2007
Pros: Enhances Sexual Experience, Comfortable, Easy To Use, Effective
Cons: Messy
Great product, except caused some irritation with my partner. If it weren't for that, this would be my #1 choice for preg. prevention.
Review 16 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL

Not for daily use

Date:October 28, 2007
Pros: Effective, Easy To Use
Cons: Messy, Uncomfortable
As an alternative to condoms to prevent pregnancy, it's a great product but, if used frequently it be irritating and I've noticed an increase in urinary tract infections as well. On the positive side, it's not as messey as the foam products.
Review 17 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas

Different Reaction this time around

Date:July 31, 2007
Cons: Messy
I have purchased this in the past and have used it numerous times, and my boyfriend and I have not gotten pregnant. However this past time of using it, it created such an intense itching that I am barely able to sit still. It has been horrible. Not sure if I would reccommened to anyone.
Review 18 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Ortho Options

Date:July 14, 2010
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Messy, Leaky, itchiness, lack of sensation
I've used this before moving onto something else..............AND I really never liked it. It did make me itchy after using it. It also was very leaky, before and after. Just a gross feeling(the lack of sensation was a problem, too). NEVER got pregnant though, which was my main concern.
Review 19 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Mooresville NC

Im pregnant!

Date:March 23, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Not Effective
We have used this product since my youngest was born, she will be 2 April 9th so almost 2 years.
We dont forget either use it at all times! I am now suprisingly pregnant!
So I say say use condoms too
Review 20 for Conceptrol Vaginal Contraceptive Gel
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Florida

Itchy!

Date:January 27, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Uncomfortable, Causes itching
My new husband and I have only been using this product for a month now and I also take birth control so I cant say whether this product is excellent for preventing a pregnancy or not. I can say, however, that after about 5 minutes the gel starts to create an itching sensation. Over time it becomes increasingly worst. I would say that the itching stops after about 3 hours. If that doesnt matter to you, buy it.
1 2 next>>