Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Walgreens Cold Sore Treatment

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Walgreens Cold Sore Treatment

Single dose treatment for fast pain reliefPatented application without using fingers
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cold Sore Treatment
Review 1 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:18-24
Gender:female

Don't expect miracles, but it works

Date:May 17, 2011
Pros: prevented blisters, shortened duration
Cons: stings uncomfortable application, does not relieve pain
When I get cold sores, I REALLY get cold sores. Multiple blisters form. They're extremely painful and embarassing when they are all around your mouth.
I usually use Abreva. This time, I tried this product at the first sign of a bump. It did sting, and I had to hold the applicator on for a while. It did not relieve symptoms whatsoever at first. I used the second tube later that day. That night, my sore was causing a lot of pain and was quite swollen.
Regardless, my sores never fully "blistered" as they normally do, and now, on the 4th day, they are healed. I only had one day of pain. I did continue to use Abreva after this treatment to relieve the discomfort and speed healing as well.
Since my cold sores usually last at least a week with a couple days of pain, this did help me and I will be keeping it on hand.
Review 2 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Little Rock Arkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Immediate Results!

Date:March 19, 2011
Cons: if blister is formed it really stings at applic
I found this product after already having a blister formed for two days; applied first tube on third day in the morning.. Applied second tube on third day at 10 pm. Woke up this fourth morning and blister had subsided dramatically and its just red. I've suffered for years and had settled with Abreva's three to four days it would take to rid me of my sore. I wont go anywhere without this product from now on!!
Review 3 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:female

AWESOME!!

Date:March 16, 2011
This product works wonders! Heals cold sores fast! It works exactly as other reviewers had described. I had a cold sore come up on a Friday - went to Walgreens Saturday and bought this, used it that day and by Sunday the sore had started drying up and did not hurt anymore. I usually have a cold sore for about a month - this was gone in less than a week! I frequently get them, so this is something I will keep in my purse, just in case one decides to pop up again. This product is great and I have recommended it to alot of people.
Review 4 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Works Wonders!!!!

Date:March 8, 2011
Pros: Fast
Cons: Burns a little
I put it on while in the parking lot of Walgreens. I looked at it an hour later and it was dried up but Just a lil sore.
 
My Product Recommendations
Cold Sore Treatment
4.8 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Go get it

Date:February 21, 2011
Cons: Nothing
This stuff is awesome! Seriously, a half hour later I could tell the cold sore was over. It's hard to believe something could work so well. My cold sore is healing faster than a pimple. I thought having cold sores were just a part of life till now. Very cool!
Review 6 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:male

it works!

Date:January 26, 2011
Pros: Fast, one time is all that is needed
Cons: Expensive
by far the best cold sore treament i've ever used. kills them with one dose. mine were already past the tingling stage and full blown on my lips. didn't matter, it killed them first try. awesome product.
Review 7 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female

works and is very sanitary

Date:January 4, 2011
Pros: Works Fast, keeps your fingers off!
Works great - real difference is ONE APPLICATION - not like other products that you need to keep using every few hours. Also, touching a cold sore is GROSS! This is very sanitary - you never have to risk spreading the cold sore to another part of your body because you don't touch it...
Review 8 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:south carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Great product

Date:December 30, 2010
Pros: stops the blister from forming
Cons: must really rub into the affected area and use all
This is by far the best coldsore/fever blister med I've ever used! The key is to have it on hand at the first tingle of a sore!! Doesn't work after the blister has appeared. My kids and husband get's sores, too, and I keep these in the med. cabinet because they swear by them, too.
Review 9 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Best ever!!!!!

Date:December 10, 2010
Pros: it stops the growth on contact!, you only need to buy 1 doseage., very sanitary and compact., easy to carry in pocket or purse.
Thank you so much for bringing this product to your stores! One treatment, and my cold sore has stopped hurting / itching. I can tell the healing has begun. Within minutes. The next day I use the 2nd vile, and the outbreak had stopped. It never had the chance to get bad. The trick is to have it on hand so you can use it at first tingle, and really rub it in. If you make sure the applicator is saturated, then the application is painless!!!!! I love this product, and I recommend it all the time. Thank you again for this great product. It is obvious you care about your customers!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Thank God for Walgreens

Date:November 18, 2010
I've suffered from cold sore for as long as I can remember. I can even recall having one in the 1st grade, they would just pop up and seem to never leave. I went to Walgreens one day to by medication for it and everything seemed so pricey, so I saw this one that was more affordable and I bought it. When I got back to my car I immediately applied it and drove home which is maybe like 10 mins away. By the time I got home I noticed the swelling was down and it stopped itching. 3 hours later I applied the other applicator and by the morning it was almost invisible.
Review 11 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Mary FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Thank you Walgreens!

Date:November 5, 2010
Lifetime cold sore sufferer here!. I have tried every product out there and NOTHING works as well as this! I was very skeptical at first when my husband brought it home. I used the first tube at 9:30 pm and the second tube at about 7 am the next morning. My husband asked me later in the afternoon how my cold sore was doing and I had completely forgotten I had one because it was dried up and I had NO PAIN! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you Walgreens!!! My only suggestion would be to make the fact that both tubes are actually one application more obvious for those who don't read instructions :). I've read other reviews of users who only used one tube and said the product didn't work. I think a lot of people assume one tube is one treatment.
Review 12 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MN

Best Cold Sore Treatment

Date:September 30, 2010
I have had cold sores my whole life and this is the ONLY product that works! I can't count how many different things I have tried. To get the best results use it as soon as you feel the itching/tingling before the sores appear. I have used it after the sores appear and it still works, but it takes a few days for them to go away. No matter when you use the product, it will dry up the sores pretty quick. If you use one vial and it doesn't appear to have worked after 12 hours, use another one. I always have this stuff around so i can use it any time I feel a cold sore coming.
Review 13 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
I read the reviews and thought I'd give the product a try. Unfortunately, it did not work for me. I'm not sure if I used it too late - I used the product at the onset of the blisters. Maybe I should have used it earlier, before the blisters appeared? At any rate, I guess I will have to let the cold sore run its course now. The applicator is rough and it did tingle after I applied the medication, but only for about 30 seconds. Since there are 2 applicators, I will try the second one on the next cold sore that I feel is coming on.
Review 14 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elizabethtown, KY

This is amazing!

Date:May 10, 2010
Pros: Reduces Pain, Promotes Healing, No Side Effects, Prevents Swelling
I have suffered from cold sores for longer than I can remember and have tried everything out there to include RX items, but nothing compares to this. It dries the sore right up. I always keep one in my purse so I can use it at the first sign of a blister. It's also very affordable.
Review 15 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX

WOW!!!

Date:April 13, 2010
Pros: Promotes Healing, Prevents Swelling, No Side Effects, Reduces Pain
Cons: Applicator is hard
I tried this product for the first time last night at about 9:30pm and noticed a difference within 30min. By morning the sore was almost gone. This product is best if used before bed so during the next day I used Campho Phenique to help heal the sore. This stuff works fast!! The only con is that the applicator is hard. The instructions say not to break the sore but with the applicator being so hard, it makes it almost impossible. Applying the medication does burn/hurt a little but is not unbearable. This is a great product to keep around for next time and the first product I will use every time.
Review 16 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville

Best I've used!

Date:April 6, 2010
Pros: Promotes Healing, Reduces Pain, No Side Effects, Prevents Swelling
Best cold sore product I've ever used, including prescriptions.
Review 17 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN

Wonderful!!!!

Date:March 9, 2010
Pros: Reduces Pain, Promotes Healing
I get cold sores as soon as I get any illness. I am leaving for vacation in a few days and of course I woke up with cold sores! I did a few internet searches and read about Viroxyn as a way to stop the virus from replicating. I went straight to Walgreens and picked this up. It was painful having to rub it into the sore but it only lasted a few seconds until the pain reliever kicked in. I applied it at 9 am and by 9 pm the sore is almost gone!!! I am a long time user of another (more pricey) tiny tube of competing cold sore treatment and I will NEVER purchase it again. This stuff is GOLD! Buy it, keep it on hand, and you will not be disappointed.
Review 18 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richfield, MN

Catch it early...kill it fast!

Date:February 15, 2010
Pros: Single Treatment, Fast Acting, Promotes Healing
I had a cold sore a week or so ago. I felt it coming on early and the area on my lip just started to feel tingly and red. The blister was still in its very early stages. I applied this one-time treatment and the cold sore was pretty much totally gone the next day. The key is to rub the whole vial of liquid into the cold sore. You have to be a bit aggressive, but it will pay off in the end. Though it is kinda pricey, it is money well-spent considering you don't have to apply cream constantly like other treatments.
Review 19 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan

FORGET abreva

Date:January 28, 2010
Pros: Promotes Healing, Reduces Pain, No Side Effects
Cons: Stings quite a bit
I get cold sore a couple time a year. I have tried abreva before and it was just a nightmare. it stops the itching and the pain, but only for like 20 mins. I had to keep reapply it. It goes on white, dries like white paste, it is unsightly.
This walgreen stuff works sooooo much better. it stings quite a bit but that's the key is too rub in all the antiviral in one potent treatment. I used it before i went to bed, the next morning i can't feel the sore anymore. It works even better if you use it before it actually breaks out, which mine did, so this med dried up the blister and it scabbed quick. now i just have to let the skin heal. but it does not bother me at all, no itching, no pain. if i dont look in the mirror i won't even remember i have it.
Review 20 for Cold Sore Treatment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC

Incredible - finally a solution!

Date:January 26, 2010
Pros: Reduces Pain, No Side Effects, Promotes Healing
This is the first and only treatment for cold sores that has ever actually worked for me AND it works in 1 day! I've used it twice and couldn't believe the results each time - once I caught the cold sore just as it was developing and put it on before bed; by morning there was no cold sore. The second time, I couldn't get to the treatment until the cold sore was already developed; again I put it on at night (and did disturb the skin) but it was cleared up and all better by morning. I plan to stock up and keep it on hand.
1 2 next>>