Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VCF Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films

VCF Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films

Safe, effective birth control you both can't feel!VCF is a translucent square of material containing the active ingredient Nonoxynol-9, a widely used highly efficient spermicide - the spermicide doctors recommend most! Placed high in the vagina as close as possible to the neck of the womb (cervix), it dissolves into a gel which exerts a powerful contraceptive effect against sperm. It is a potent spermicidal agent used successfully by millions of women.Because VCF is small and unnoticed in use, it can be used discreetly by the woman. It does not run and will not stain. It is eventually washed away with the natural body fluids. Becomes unnoticeable to either partner You won't even know it's there Begins to dissolve instantly No hormonal side effects Kills sperm on contact Sexually enhancing Lasts up to 3 hoursMade in USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.342 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
12
3 out of 7(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Review 1 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Read the instructions!

Date:September 15, 2013
Pros: Easy To Use, Doesn't burn, last 3 hours!
Cons: takes 15 minutes
I love these! But those who are complaining that you got preggers, all spermicide has a 15 percent failure rate on average, it never claims that's it's 99.9 percent effective. Do your research, the ONLY thing that does that is the pill. And those who complain that it sticks to your finger, it says in the instructions that if that happens, fold again.
I have never had issues using this product, and doesn't burn or make my man sensitive like other spermicides. And I always put it in before we start anything, (15 minutes of foreplay!) But I can not stress enough how much you should be using two kinds of birth control!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Daphne, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female

ineffective

Date:April 29, 2013
Cons: Useless
Not effective in preventing pregnancy!!!!!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:pittsburgh PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female

good times

Date:December 13, 2012
Pros: its ready when u are
Cons: havn't found one yet
I love this product! I,m over 40years now and a smoker so the birth control pill is not an option for me at this stage in my life. This product allows me to be spontainious and still protected deffantily a welcome alternative to the condom,if youve never tried it you should, so not a mood breaker 15 mins. and its already on the job.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female

don't trust product

Date:September 13, 2012
Cons: everything
I followed directions and it was always sticky, would not dissolve so I never trusted it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Pregnant

Date:August 13, 2012
My husband and I have been using these for 2 years. We follow the directions EXACTLY. The directions say to wait 15 mintues after inserting before intercourse. On one of our last uses, we wait 30 minutes and afterwards found it still had not dissolved completely, or really very much at all. Sorry if this is TMI. We are now pregnant and expecting our first child in the winter. We are stable so after the initial shock are delighted. It was just not something we were looking to do so soon.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:female

6 years

Date:June 5, 2012
I have used vcf for 6 years. Its works really good. I have not got pregnant yet.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Grove, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Not Happy

Date:October 6, 2011
Cons: Messy, Doesn't Work
I followed the directions exactly and I still got pregnant.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nebraska

Great Stuff

Date:February 21, 2010
Pros: Comfortable Fit
My hubby and I have been using these for around 5 years with no complaints. The only slightly annoying thing is the 15 min time lapse. This is easily worked around with planning ahead. :) I have learned that if you fold them in half a second time they do not stick to your finger as easily. We will continue to buy this product.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:JAX. FL

Love them!

Date:August 11, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Use, Effective
Cons: Occasional dryness
I have been using VCF for about 3 years, and love them. They are very descrete, are easy to use, and very effective----NO OOPS BABIES!... My husband loves them (of coarse because he doesn't have to do anything).... only bad side-- causes occasional dryness.
Review 10 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:nj

Sticky

Date:August 3, 2009
Pros: Effective, Easy To Use
Cons: Uncomfortable
Husband commented it had a sticky feeling to it.
Review 11 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ohio

Too difficult to insert

Date:May 24, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Messy
-Interrupts sex ("hold on honey let me stick this in")
-You have to time insertion just right to not have the film stuck to your finger and not inserted far enough in
I ONLY recommend it because it seems to work better than most other spermicides (from reviews)
Review 12 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO

FANTASTIC if you follow directions!!

Date:March 31, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Comfortable, Effective
When I started having hormonal problems and weight gain related to my birth control pill, I really thought I was going to live a sexless marriage! My husband HATES condoms, and I refuse to use anything with foam. I was so happy to find VCF!! When I first bought them, I made sure to read the directions and follow them exactly - it took me 2 tries and I got the hang of inserting the film. I actually find that folding it up one more time makes it easier to insert, and keeping them in a COOL, DRY place is essential-don't keep them in the bathroom where it gets steamy from the shower. We've been using these for appx. 1 year, and we couldn't be happier. I tell everybody about VCF!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:new York

If you can't take the pill try these.

Date:February 2, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Effective, Easy To Use
I am unable to take the Pill or ring because of strokes. This allows me to have sex without a condom. It is a spermicide which can bother some people casuing irritation and redness. Spermicides also can have a numbing effect. There is a sample available from the manufacturer for those that may have problems with spermicide. I have had zero problems with it sticking to my finger. It's just a relief to know that there is something easy-to-use and effective for preventing pregnancy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PR

I Love VCF!!!

Date:February 1, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Effective, Easy To Use, Enhances Sexual Experience
I would buy this product again and again...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Orleans,LA

finger is safe!

Date:January 18, 2009
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Messy
I followed the instructions perfectly on 4 occasions and ended up with a filmed finger. The film would not come off of my finger or my partners finger no matter how fast we inserted it. I'm happy to know that our fingers are safe from pregnancy.
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cape Coral, FL

I got pregnant on this product!

Date:January 14, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Not Effective
We used this on a regular basis but somewhere in the second box, I got pregnant.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC

Loved it!

Date:January 4, 2009
Pros: Enhances Sexual Experience, Comfortable, Easy To Use
I love love love this product! My partner and I have tried several different methods of birth control but are limited due to our respective allergies and other medical problems. This was the first time we didn't have any issues with the contraceptive we used! I do recommend if you have not used a spermicide or condoms with spermicide before to test it first and be certain to clean yourself up afterward, but other than that it was great! I think I have found a product I will use for the rest of my life!
Review 18 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:lincoln, ne

Film great, but stay away from the foam!

Date:January 3, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Effective, Easy To Use
This is a great product! Beware of the vaginal contraceptive FOAM, however... it has a list of ingredients a mile long & STINGS! The FILM is the best product I have ever used & only has 4 total ingredients- both myself & my partner have no complaints. Just follow box's instructions exactly.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas

Useless!

Date:December 7, 2008
Cons: Messy, Not Effective
These sounded great and easy to apply. I did as the instructions said and the sticky strip was stuck to my finger and would not come off! I tried three times and no luck!
I was really hoping these would work but no luck this time. Wish the today sponge would come back!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted June 2, 2012
THE TODAY SPONGE IS BACK AND ON THE CLEARANCE RACK!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted May 6, 2012
Don't fret. They do still sell the today sponge! They even have it on this site.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for Dissolving Vaginal Contraceptive Films
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN

Scarey

Date:November 9, 2008
Pros: None
Cons: Pain on urination, Burning, Decreases Sexual Stimulation, Itching, Uncomfortable, Painful
We were able to insert product and used appropriate time. Everything seemed fine at first but then there was an increased feeling like I had to urinate (almost felt like I did a little-I didn't). When I went to the bathroom after it was so painful I yelled out. I had itching and irritation in the area all night. I WILL NEVER use this product again!! I DO NOT recommend it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>