Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abreva Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream

Abreva Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream

Only FDA approved medicine to shorten healing time* Portable convenient pump Pharmacist recommended*Only non-prescription cold sore medicine approved by the FDA to shorten healing time and duration of symptoms.Made in Germany
Average Customer Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(560 Reviews) 560
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (560 reviews)
5 stars
434
4 stars
82
3 stars
19
2 stars
7
1 star
18
507 out of 532(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Review 1 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX

it works but average

Date:December 13, 2013
After seeing so many positive review, I decided to give a try as I just had a sore to cure.
Pro: made the area dry, pain less and kind of invisible.
Con: didn't seem to expedite the cure time as I'm on a 3rd day now but I haven't seen much improvement yet in terms of the size, color and feel of the sore.
Well, I guess it works at least but @ a cost.
Review 2 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Belvidere, Il
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Please change the pump

Date:October 26, 2013
Pros: product is excellant
Cons: the pump does not work
I love this product. BUT ONE BIG MISTAKE.....why did you change the packaging. The pump does not work. When you go to pump it, its squirts out everywhere. For 20.00 they should have left it in the tube. It is no longer the cream. It is a white clear liquid. Big mistake who ever decided to change the packaging. Very dissapointed.
Review 3 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MEM, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:male

A+

Date:December 9, 2012
Pros: Fast Acting, otc
Cons: Pricey
Unfortunately I have been afflicted with this condition since birth and have tried numerous treatments over the years with varying degrees of success. However, this product brought noticeable relief upon application. The only complaint is of course the price, however sometimes relief comes at a high price.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:18-24
Gender:female

great

Date:August 6, 2012
Best invention ever. Works almost right away.
Review 5 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WI
Age:18-24
Gender:female

Use it RIGHT away

Date:November 28, 2011
Pros: prevents sore from spreading, minimizes redness and swelling, reduces discomfort
Cons: have to use it right away
Great product, but only if you use it at the absolute first sign of a cold sore. For that reason, buy it now, when you don't have a cold sore. That way, you'll already have it when one pops up. Trust me, I keep one in my purse at all times, especially when I travel. The stress can get to you and it's great to have this ready to tackle a cold sore.
I've used many other products that can actually be painful to use, but this stuff dulls the pain AND keeps the sore to a minimum.
Review 6 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Norton, MA

Love the Product - HATE THE DESIGN!

Date:April 7, 2010
Pros: Works As Advertised
Cons: Pump Wastes Product
I have always used Abreva for cold sores and never mind paying "extra" for their product. Compared to other cold sore medications, their product works the best at healing cold sores quicker. HOWEVER, the pump design is terrible as it wastes too much product. No one wants to spend money on something where half the product is being wasted by a poor design. I will not buy this pump design again and highly recommend that no one else does. Very disappointing.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Norwich, CT

Don't waste the extra dollar on the pump

Date:February 12, 2010
I like the product, but the pump does not work well. I have never left the product uncapped, yet the pump is always clogging, putting out clear liquid instead of the cream portion of the medication, and sometimes the pump sticks and you wind up with way more product than you need. They claim that the pump makes the product portable. What's so non-portable about a metal tube with a screw cap?
Oh and by the way: In response to another reviewer, the product becomes invisible when you rub it in. If it shows, you used too much or didn't rub it in enough.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA

Horrible product! Want money back

Date:February 1, 2010
Cons: Pricey, Cream is white, Can't apply during day
I don't know where to start with this product. This thing is so bad that I think it extended my cold sore by several days. I still have a red scar from the use of this product.
You can't even apply during the day because it is white. I mean who would want to talk around with some white cream on there lips. You can only apply it at night.
Please save your self the money and get something else.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern New Jersey

I went out and got some Anbesol

Date:September 26, 2009
Cons: Wears Out Quickly, Pricey
It does very little for the pain of cold sores and does not shorten healing time as far as I can tell. Very expensive and nearly useless.
Review 10 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL

New form factor is a no go

Date:August 31, 2009
Pros: Helps heal cold sores
Cons: Pump sucks
Abreva's one of the only things I've found that actually will help a cold sore heal. However, I'd stick to the tube. The pump is no improvement and is really a lot worse. It's impossible to really modulate how much medication you dispense with the pump. You always get way too much with the pump. It probably depends where you buy it--but I think it might actually be more for the pump. Save yourself some money and wasted product and get the little tube.
Otherwise, though, abreva actually does work to help cold sores heal (don't expect miracles though). It really works best, though, if you start using it as soon as you feel the cold sore coming on (i.e. the itchy, tingly feeling on your lips you should be pretty familiar with). I've actually stopped cold sores from emerging by using the abreva early enough.
Review 11 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:elwood Il

THis product is VERY BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:April 26, 2009
Cons: Does Not Work
I have used this product in the past and it did not work then. So I thought I would give it another chance. I thought after 5+ years that they would have gotten it right. Well I used it this time and it made my cold sore worse. It is going on 18 days and it is not gone. I spent [$]on it and now I have to go and buy something else. DON'T BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:jersey

meh

Date:April 19, 2009
ive tried many brands in the past all of which didn't really work. it always took me weeks before the cold sore would heal. But abreva actually did heal it much quicker i was surprised, in less than a week it would go away, also it would restrict how big the cold sore got.
Review 13 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Costa Mesa, CA

Toss the pump - stay with the tube.

Date:August 29, 2008
Pros: Absorbs Quickly, Healing, Soothing, Effective
Cons: Wasteful
Product itself is recommended, just avoid the pump. The pump shoots out too much of the medicine, half goes all over the tube, complete waste considering how expensive the medicine is. Doesn't matter how slow you push down, how careful - ultimately just a bad pump design. Stick with the tube.
Review 14 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:IA

Tube much Better than the Pump

Date:May 6, 2008
Pros: Effective, Healing, Soothing
The product itself would recommend, but the pump is horrible. Way to much waste, compared to the tube. as much as it costs you dont want to waste half of it cause it comes out way to fast. Stick with tube.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX

Abreva

Date:March 19, 2008
Pros: Healing, Effective
Cons: For a small tube, Expensive
My husband suffers from painfull cold sores on occasions.He has tried different remedies. I've always saw the commercials for Abreva.I went and bought it to try it out the next time he got a cold sore. He applied it on and first the pain went down and then in a couple of hours, he could see that the sore was decreasing in size. For several days he applied till it cleared up.For as much as it cost. It sure did work!
Review 16 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA

Stick to the tube

Date:February 13, 2008
Pros: Absorbs Quickly, Soothing
Cons: Too much excess, Messy, Greasy
The pump disperses too much of the cream. Unless you have a cold sore the size of a quarter, you should stick with the tube. You squeeze onto your finger an then smear on your sore. The tube is better for direct application.
Why haven't they made this stuff clear by now?
Review 17 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:georgia

works great

Date:February 9, 2008
Pros: Absorbs Quickly, Soothing, Healing, Effective
i have had a cold sor for 5 days and it has healed
Review 18 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:STL

Stick to the Tube!

Date:January 23, 2008
Pros: Healing, Soothing, Effective
Cons: Too much comes out, Can't change amount
I love abreva, but when i went to the store they only had the pump... I definatly need my tube.. the pump gives you enough that if your feverblister was the size of your lip you'd be covered! Stick to the tube!
Review 19 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN

Abreva

Date:January 12, 2008
Pros: Effective, Soothing, Healing, Absorbs Quickly
I have had cold sores since high school. They occur less frequently than when I was younger but I've even awakened with a full blown one on my lip. Abreva does a good job of making it feel better, especially if I can put it on when I first get a cold sore. My doctor has prescribed Valtrex for use if I get the tingle before a break out.
Review 20 for Cold Sore/Fever Blister Treatment Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gulf Coast, MS

It Works!!!

Date:December 12, 2007
Pros: Effective, Soothing, Absorbs Quickly, Healing, Non-stinging, Gentle
Finally a product for cold sores that really works. This is a great fix. I suffer from the occasional cold sore, and this stuff is FANTASTIC! It works fast and my cold sore never really became very big and went away in under two days. In fact, my cold sore never got red and swollen like they used to. No more public embarrassment!! The cream is mild and doesn't sting...unlike the numerous products out there.
1 2 next>>