Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BD Home Sharps Container

BD Home Sharps Container

A worldwide leader in diabetes care.Safe containment of sharps. For insulin syringes, pen needles and lancets. Can hold 70-100 insulin syringes or up to 300 pen needles. Leak- and puncture-resistant. Snap lock lid.Made in USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
0 out of 1(0%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Home Sharps Container
Review 1 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Lack Of Information

Date:January 24, 2011
Pros: small yet holds a lot great price
Cons: locking lid can be removed without any effort., there is no documentation on disposing, the container once it's full.
i have been using these containers for a few years now. They are good. But i have a couple of issues. My first problem is that once the lid is put on.. it's very east to take back off. It says on the box, that it's a Locking Lid. My 2nd Problem,... No Where on the Box does it say how to dispose of the containers once they are Full. i have 17 of them sitting in box in my bathroom. i asked my Doctor... he said they have a company pick theirs up.. i called the Health Dept.. they don't take them.. and that i better NOT put them in the General Trash. So.. What are we suppose to do with them once they are Full??
Sorry..
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Rich
Florida
Posted January 10, 2013
We used to take ours to the local fire department.
Customer Avatar
Paul
Wheeling
Posted April 22, 2012
I would check with your village, they have a program called, medical waste disposal. Usually once or twice a month they'll accept the waste, you can also get the replacement once you drop one off.
Customer Avatar
KatieJ
California
Posted March 19, 2012
Your local garbage company should have information on how to get rid of them. My hospital/insurance co. has drop off boxes (like the library) that you can put the containers in. Before they installed them, I had to go to a special drop off spot on the other end of town... it is a pain in the butt...
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted November 28, 2011
Check with your states DNR department. Many Hospitals or healthcare sites will dispose of them for you.
Customer Avatar
a friend
greensboro, NC
Posted October 5, 2011
You may want to contact your local garbage or recycle company. Our's will pick them up for free, when we call them. Our garbage pickup is handled by the city, so you would have to contact the city department that handles this.
Customer Avatar
mommagee
Upstate NY
Posted September 27, 2011
call your pharmacy or hospital. I take mine to the hospital and they dispose of them for me at no charge
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Review 2 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco CA

Great Product

Date:August 3, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Compact
Cons: Expensive
while I find this a great product I wouldn't buy it because I get these for free from my doctor or from the pharmacy.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tulsa OK

Keep Children Safe

Date:July 19, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Compact, Reliable
It's very helpful to keep used syringes away from grandchildren.
Review 4 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois

Improves home safety

Date:March 18, 2009
Pros: Accurate, Compact, Painless, Reliable, Easy To Use
Gives safe disposal system for sharps and helps to control contaminated injection syringes. Openings would be easier to use if slightly larger but that would also increase the risk of small children putting fingers into the holes.
Review 5 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY

Great to have with children around

Date:December 8, 2008
Pros: Compact, Easy To Use
I use this product to dispose of lancets and insulin syringes. It is small enough to keep with my other diabetic supplies in a box that I keep on top of the refridgerator so my young children cannot reach it. I rely on this product to keep my family safe from accidental needle sticks from used needles. I thought of saving money and using an old milk jug but the plastic on those are too thin and a needle could penetrate through and the lid and also the milk jug would be too easily opened by little hands. The lid on this product would be too hard for my children to open if I were to ever forget to put it out of their reach. For a home WITHOUT children a milk jug would work but I feel safe using this product.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san jose, ca

great for properly disposing syringes

Date:October 25, 2008
Pros: Reliable, Easy To Use, Compact
this product is perfect for disposing syringes and lancets responsibly and accepted at any hazardous waste locations
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Timberon New Mexico

a 1/2 gallon milk jug is just as good

Date:September 21, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Ineffective
After using a 1/2 gallon milk jug for several years, I decided to buy this product and see how different it was from what I HAD been using. You buy milk in a 1/2 gallon plastic jug, drink it, wash out the container, and then use it to dispose of your syringes. Not much difference in what you get with this Sharps Container, except that it is "supposed to have" a non op enable lid. If you really wanted to, you could get the lid off the Sharps container without any problem. I will save my money in the future and use the milk jugs.
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Layton, Utah

Great Catch

Date:July 22, 2008
Pros: Easy To Use, Compact, Painless, Reliable, Safe and easy
Cons: No cons
Great way to safely discard used lancets and/or needles.
Review 9 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ

Home Sharps

Date:June 16, 2007
Pros: Painless, Reliable, Easy To Use, Compact, Accurate
Cons: Should carry in store
Daily disposition of insulin injection device.
Review 10 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las vegas

Product is portable and easy!

Date:June 6, 2007
Pros: Reliable, Easy To Use, Young kids cannot get in, Compact
Cons: Hard for me to open
This product does the job. I am a newly diagnosed diabetic and this product I recommend if you have children under 4 years of age. The container is easy light and portable.
Review 11 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles

I'd buy this product again.

Date:May 1, 2007
Pros: Compact, Reliable, Painless, Easy To Use, Accurate
I used this product before. It is completely safe for needles and lancets.
Review 12 for Home Sharps Container
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:nj

great product

Date:April 7, 2007
Pros: Compact, Reliable, Easy To Use
space saver