Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DenTek Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair

DenTek Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair

Instant Pain Relief10 + Repairs Lost Fillings Loose CapsTemparin® Max is designed to repair with the same ingredients dentists use.  Total Net Wt. - 2.2 g (0.08 oz)800-4DENTEK Made in Italy
Average Customer Rating:
2.75 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
6 out of 12(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Review 1 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:El Paso, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male

DentekTemparin Max

Date:April 11, 2014
I followed the directions to the letter, and I still failed to secure my crown to the molar. The second time I tried it I waited four hours before trying to eat, and after a few bites the crown came off. Bazooka bubble gum would probably do a better job.
Review 2 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bronx, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Terrible product

Date:April 3, 2014
Cons: did not harden, moisture only made it softer and disolve
I brought this product because my back upper tooth broke and it has a sharp edge that is poking the inside of my cheek. Followed the directions but despite it stating moisture accelerates the process, it just kept dissolving. It stood soft and falling apart. Never hardened and eventually just all came out. Would not recommend this product at all.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
swede53
El Paso, Texas
Posted April 11, 2014
I had the same experience. The product might work on filings, but for crowns its worthless.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seminole, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male

Worked as advertised

Date:December 3, 2013
Pros: gave a smooth finish.
Cons: None
I decided to use the kit after losing a back rear filling. Due to the holiday I was not able to see the dentist for 5 days. I had great success and showed it to the dentist today and he said what I did looked good and that he was familiar with the product. What do you have to lose. Give it a try.
Review 4 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Saved

Date:March 26, 2013
Pros: It works
I read the reviews and almost didn't try it. I was in pain and out of options. Follow the directions, it works. I used it the first time Thursday and its Tuesday and still intact and I am pain free. Ive eaten and brushed my teeth and everything I do normally. This product works.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:male

Not worth it

Date:March 23, 2013
Have tried this stuff before. Sometimes it worked just OK, mostly it didn't work at all. It is very hard to get a good bound and the filling material will dissolve quickly.
This time, I decided to buy a more expensive 3M material that will last from a dental supply store. This is not available at Walgreens, It costs more upfront, but unlike this stuff, the repair will last more than a day or two.
Review 6 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:METAIRIE, La.
Age:Over 65

IT REALLY WORKS !!

Date:January 2, 2013
I'LL ADMIT I WAS A SKEPTIC. I LOST A
LARGE MOLAR FILLING AND WAS IN
PAIN. MY DENTIST WAS OUT OF TOWN
FOR THE HOLIDAYS, AND I COULDN'T
SEE ANYONE FOR ALMOST TWO
WEEKS. I FOUND THIS PRODUCT ON
THIS SITE AND TRIED THE DENTEK.
IT WORKED VERY WELL. JUST FOLLOW
THE DIRECTIONS TO A TEE. IT LASTED
TWO WEEKS WITH NO PROBLEMS, AND
I WAS EVEN ABLE TO CHEW ON IT.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Beaver P.A
Age:18-24
Gender:female

what do u have to lose

Date:February 16, 2012
I rated this as a 3 star because it stopped the pain. I have used it before on my back lower tooth and it worked well. I just used it in the side of my upper back tooth and its awsome.. I'm really happy that this worked so well for me. It may not work so well for everyone but what have you got to lose right? you should try it if it dont work your still in pain right were you were before you tried it.You may try it and it could work very well for you so you feel better in the end... Well good luck everyone... Hope you feel better..............
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Muncie,IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Life saver

Date:November 20, 2011
Pros: 3 hours is quick setting for what it does, Easy To Use, can't tell it's there
Cons: None
I have been using Dentek Temparin Max for over a year now. And have only had to replace it twice in that period since I am not able to go to a dentist. Just follow the directions and it will work. This is not for people who have half a big tooth missing or a whole tooth for that matter. I have a whole in the front bottom row of my teeth that would cause my tongue to scrape up against it every time I moved my tongue and with this stuff in there I can't even tell it's there. So it's great!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Not strong enough to rebuild a broken tooth

Date:October 15, 2011
Pros: readily available, Inexpensive
Cons: too soft., Not long lasting
I bought DenTek Temparin Max because an old ceramic crown broke, and the sharp edges were cutting on the side of my mouth. I didn't have pain at the tooth area, so pain was not an issue for me. That tooth was long dead. I applied DenTek as was stated on the package, waiting until bedtime, so there would be plenty of time for it to set. Unfortunately, it never really got very hard. In the morning I was careful, yet some small pieces came off. Later, I accidently chewed some peanut butter on that area, and most of the DenTek disappeared. There was still a little there, but not enough to cover the sharp edges. It's the weekend, and I don't even have a dentist locally, having just moved to this area, so I need this to at least last for a couple of days. I have applied some more DenTek, to cover the sharp edges, but my confidence in this product is gone. I would like to know what yolee did to make it last for a month. Perhaps this product works better if it's in a more interior spot, like a filling in the middle of a tooth, or when it is covered by a crown. However, it is not strong enough for the edges of broken teeth.
Perhaps a better alternative would be to use a mixture of Zinc Oxide powder and Eugenol Oil, if you can find those ingredients. Walgreens can order the Zinc Oxide powder, and you might be able to find Eugenol at a health food or aromatherapy place. Just be careful, as swallowing Eugenol can be bad for you. There is a University of Michigan video on YouTube that tells how to mix this stuff properly.
Of course, your best bet is to have a dentist fix the problem, if you can afford it. On monday I will try out Backpacking Sue's idea, and look for a local dental school, since I have neither employment nor insurance.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Great value

Date:June 27, 2011
Pros: follow directions exactly
Use product exactly as directions stated and it has been excellent. I lost a filling and after Dentek my pain is gone. I waited the 3 hours for it to set and have had it for over a month now.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

no good

Date:March 13, 2011
Pros: temp relief from air hitting cavity
Cons: Too Many
i started getting bad teeth after i had my kid this stuff sounded like a good idea, but sadly it is useless it stayed in until i brushed my teeth since i do that multiple times daily im constantly having to redo it and it takes forever to set the best option is to put it in right before u go to sleep so u dont have to eat or drink anything or talk to anyone
Review 12 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Temp fill really temp!

Date:August 5, 2010
Cons: Doesn't stick well, get too soft, takes too long to harden
Could actually work better and dry harder quicker
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ResultsoftheRECESSION
STL MO
Posted December 26, 2012
Tried this on a broken tooth with no luck it wouldn't stay on the tooth and now more has broken off since I have tried to repair it. So now I look like a Sea Hag with no dental insurance and cant afford to get anything removed filled nothing... WHAT AM I TO DO ??? I now regret that month way back in 2009 I had to make a choice of PAYING RENT & UTILITIES or spending a whole month worth of bills just to get my teeth fixed I'm paying for it now cause I CANT PAY FOR IT AT ALL... This RECESSION has caused my oral health too RECEDE...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Orleans area

Very Temp Temparin

Date:November 8, 2009
Cons: Wears Out Quickly
Got Temparin and learned it was VERY temp-it only works until you eat. Have followed directions at least five times and every time I eat, no matter how carefully, the Temparin disappears out of the hole in my tooth. I'm not eating gummy bears or gum-just regular food like meat and potatos. I'm not impressed by this product.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:bellingham,wa

horrible staying power

Date:October 14, 2009
Pros: Gentle On Gums
Cons: Disolves quickly, Wears Out Quickly, Tastes Bad
Got it when i lost a filling and couldn't get to a dentist for a while. It said maximum hold, so i tried it out. at first it worked okay,but not for eating on it, but now it just dissolves in my mouth and crumbles away. MOISTURE doesn't do anything wonderful like it says and does not help it set. I am sooooo frustrated,but i have to use something. Ever since using this stuff I have had dry mouth problems too, and it makes it hard for me to swallow and talk sometimes due to the dryness! Don't get this unless you are desperate.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:TN

USE

Date:May 22, 2009
Cons: Wears Out Quickly, Tastes Bad
I USE REGULAR STRENGTH TEMPARIN EVERY 1-2 WEEKS. It really does work. I DO NOT like maximum strength because 1) It will not stay put for even 5 minutes! 2) It has this aftertaste that I cannot stand. The regular Temparin I have been using for about a year now because without it the pain is excruciating. My tooth is nearly completely broken off and as soon as the filling falls out the air hits it and the pain is unbearable. I simply go brush my teeth and apply more Temparin. Then I'm good for at least a week! Forget the Q-Tips, simply roll regular strength Temparin in a ball and press it into place. Done!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:greensburg, pa

I would buy this product anytime

Date:April 9, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Gentle On Gums, Durable
I have weak enamel due to GI reflux and often experience "lost fillings" due to the acid wear. This is the ONLY product I have purchased that does what it says it will- it adheres quickly and sets very fast. I can chew easily and without worry that I will lose a filling while chewing. [...] thanks to DenTek for a wonderful epoxy.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:merritt island, fl

works great and tastes minty

Date:June 17, 2008
Pros: Tastes Good, Can eat normally no pain, Durable, Easy To Use, Cheaper than the dentist
Cons: Gritty when applying, Takes time to harden
this works great if like me your on limited income and can't afford a dentist. it allows me to eat normally and just about anything i could usually eat. feels funny when applying but once dry i highly recommended for temp repairs and emergency's.this is a must for any disaster kit as well.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Connecticut

Don't Waste Your Money !

Date:January 6, 2008
Cons: Wears Out Quickly
I bought this at a local Walgreens. It did good for about the first hour and it fell out. "Maximum Hold!" I would hate to see the product that wasn't "Maximum Hold"! Since there was 3 in the pack, I tried again. And it was the same as the first time. What a waste of money!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted March 29, 2012
Well its alright i guess.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA

Worked as it said it would

Date:November 27, 2007
Pros: Easy To Use
I'm not a dentist and have had no training in this regard. That having been said, the directions were accurate. I had occasion to patch a molar filling that was exposed when the tooth's front sidewall sheered off. Given the relatively low wear on this area, the first patch lasted 5 days (in the wilderness), a second patch lasted 3 days (at which time I was back in town and able to see a proper dentist). The pain ceased because I had covered the exposed part of the tooth. I have no experience with a more traditional lost filling top-down patching situation. Tip: 1) irrigate the area to be patched so that it is free of any foreign matter. 2) a moist finger, wet Q-tip, or toothpick may be useful in shaping the material in situ. Depending on the location and depth of the patch, two layers may work better than one (let the first one cure fully, then do the second).
This product is NOT a long term solution or replacement for real dental care provided by a trained professional. This stuff will hopefully get you through your backpacking trip or 11PM filling emergency until you can see a dentist.
*Most cities have dental schools/colleges that offer free or very low cost care.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Temparin Max - Lost Filling & Loose Cap Repair
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wash.

Maybe I expected too much

Date:November 18, 2007
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Wears Out Quickly
I lost a filling in my molar and had an "open and broach" procedure. I bought Temparin since it says "10X" strength, I thought good, it's strong, but--even after four hours it did not hold and came out. In some cases, the material came out in 30 minutes, in spite of it saying that "liquids accelerate the set." Uh-uh. It just doesn't work. What does? Isn't there some kind of epoxy that lasts for one day? I couldn't even get the temporary filling to a few hours, let alone one day. I need a viable alternative to a $300 filling, I just can't afford that right now.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.