Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Orajel Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Orajel Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.

8 Unit-dose patches, containing 3 mg Dyclonine Hydrochloride each. Treats overnight. Treats cold sores while you sleep. Concentrates moisture to speed healing. Fast relief of pain and itching. Made in U.S.A.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Review 1 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN

Relieves Pain

Date:March 9, 2010
Pros: Relieves Pain
Cons: Hard To Remove, Tastes Bad
I bought these patches in conjunction with Viroxyn in an effort to get rid of a painful cold sore ASAP. While this DOES alleviate pain it is very hard to get off (have to soak it with water over and over) and it will numb any area of your lips that it touches. In my case, the sore was on my bottom lip and it also numbed my top lip. I would recommend it if you have painful cold sores.
Review 2 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Iowa

Loved product

Date:January 14, 2010
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Pricey
My daughter gets cold sores once or twice a year. After trying numerous products including prescription she has found that she likes these the best. They took the pain away and soothed the sores a great deal! Now the hard part is finding them. Good luck! Great to know they are available on line.
Review 3 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, PA

Definitely worth a try

Date:November 10, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, While you sleep
A friend recommended and I tried the patches. They definitely made a difference. I had one box and then could not find them again. Was so psyched to see them on-line. As many of your know cold sores can be such and individual thing but I would suggest you try. I used Valtrax prescription and that was good but expensive, Abreva really helps but these were great.
Review 4 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Independence, MO

Works wonderfully

Date:August 23, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
I cut the patch in half and wear it all day by wetting it off and on. When I put lipstick on you can hardly see it.
Review 5 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Columbus Ohio

worked for me

Date:April 9, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use
I get about 3-4 cold sores yearly and while Abreva usually works well I am always on the look out for something new and hopefully better. The other morning I broke out with a cold sore without warning. I started using Abreva right away and that afternoon went to the drug store to pick up some L-lysine (supposed to help with cold sores) and I found these patches and decided to give them a try. I put one on right away and left it on for about three hours. It numbed the sore well and felt soothing. I then had to take it off as I was going to go out and thought that it looked too stupid to wear in public. I didn't have any trouble getting that one off. I then put on another to wear through the night. That one was more difficult to remove the next morning and I am not sure I got it all washed off. That day I decided to look stupid and wear another patch all day (not like cold sores look pretty anyway). When I got home about 13 hours later I took that patch off (once again no problem removing it) and the small patch of blisters were nearly gone.
This product really helped to keep it from cracking and bleeding and seemed to speed the healing process for me. I would tell anyone that these patches are at least worth a try if you get cold sores!
Review 6 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Petersburg, Florida

Not worth the money

Date:March 9, 2009
Pros: Stops itching, Long Lasting, Easy To Use
Cons: Uncomfortable, A bit pricy, A bit stiff, Ineffective, Difficult to Remove
I had a small cold sore at the corner of my top lip. It was in the early stages and still relatively unnoticable. I put one of the patches on it, and it did stop the sore from itching. That is the only good thing about it. It was stiff and uncomfortable, and it did not dissolve like the package claimed that it would. Taking it off was a bit difficult. In addition, once I took the patch off, my sore was actually a lot bigger than it was when I had put the patch on.
I paid a lot of money for this product, and I only got 8 small disks. For that amount of money, I would expect it to do a lot more. Campho Phenique costs half as much, and stops itching just as well.
I will definitely not be buying it again. There are several products out there that are more effective, and a better value.
Review 7 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO

I'm sold!

Date:February 18, 2009
Pros: Reduces Pain, Reduces itchiness, Reduces appearance
Cons: NOT invisible, Not fun to remove, Semi-complicated to use
Normally I get warning of a cold sore. I'm able to take Valtrex & use Abreva & tea-tree oil to fend it off before it blisters. Not yesterday, it just appeared with a vengence! It was HUGE too! No fair!!
So I hit Walgreens to get these, because heck...I'll try anything to get rid of them faster. I put the patch on as soon as I got home & wore it around the house before dinner & throughout bed.
My biggest complaint is that I thought it would be invisible (claims that it dissolves) & it is so far from invisible that my 19 month-old was pointing at it! That aside, it's hard to get off the package, but easy to put on. Just use a TON of water after you stick it down. Removal is another story. You have to pretty much pick it off. Not attractive! :o)
But those are the only complaints! It did reduce the size of the blisters (a cluster of small ones this time) & the best part is that once it was covered with the patch...it no longer itched! This morning it was small enough to be covered with make-up & lipstick. Yes, if you look closely, you can still see it. But...who's looking that closely? I plan on putting another one on as soon as I get off work this p.m. & changing it again before bed.
All in all, I'm sold on the product & plan to keep some on-hand in my desk at work & at home for the next episode.
Review 8 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, Missouri

Not so fast relief

Date:January 30, 2009
Cons: Doesn't dissolve, Doesn't minimize coldsore, Semi difficult to use
I get cold sores very frequently; I have tried every possibly cold sore medicine available. I saw these new Orajel overnight patches and decided I would give them a try. The patches were sort of difficult to remove from packaging without tearing the patch. The patch also does not dissolve like it mentions in the instructions. Also, my cold sore did not minimize, it actually got the same as it would have gotten if I wouldn't have used any medicine at all. The packaging also mentions it's quick at relieving pain and itching related to cold sores. This was also false in my case. After putting the patch on, the cold sore still had a burning sensation and also itched. This product may not have been right for me personally, but it might work differently for people. I would recommend giving it a try and see how it personally works for you.
Review 9 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angles, CA

Does it really work?

Date:January 29, 2009
Pros: It works, Easy To Use, Durable
Cons: I don't know any cons
i get cold sores sooooooooooooo often and this works great. BUY IT NOWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!
CAPTIAN'S ORDERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review 10 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Miami,Fl

Doesnt work!!!

Date:January 12, 2009
Cons: Tastes Bad, Doesn't dissolve
Bought this at the first sign of my cold sore. Put it on and went to bed. Woke up with a swollen lip and the blisters had spread to almost half on one lip. It was painful to get off because it doesn't dissolve. Doesn't help with the pain....if you need some immediate relief....DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!
Review 11 for Orajel Maximum Strength Overnight Cold Sore Patch 8ea.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago

Amazing!

Date:January 1, 2009
Pros: Easy To Use, Effective, Good Value
These patches are amazing! I saw these on this website last night after I broke out with a huge cold sore on my chin. This is the first one I have ever gotten, and did not know it was a cold sore for about a week, and have tried all sorts of remedies. I bought these patches today around noon. Though they are for overnight use, I was in a hurry to get some results, so I went home and immediately applied one. I left it on for about four hours until I had to leave, then rinsed it off. To my surprise, my cold sore had reduced by more than half! In just four hours! I was not expecting such a noticeable difference. I just applied another patch for bedtime, and completely believe that by tomorrow, this cold sore should be not much more than a red mark... easily covered by make up! I am so glad I tried these patches and would recommend them to anyone who is looking to rid themselves of the worst of cold sores - fast and cheap!