Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Today Sponge Vaginal Contraceptive

Today Sponge Vaginal Contraceptive

Today® Sponge is a soft polyurethane foam sponge containing nonoxynol 9, a spermicide used by millions of women for more than 20 years in other forms of intravaginal drug products. Today Sponge has a unique 3-way action which provides safe and effective protection without hormones. 24-hour protection Convenient Not messy Safe Effective disposable Easy to use Allows spontaneity Today Sponge provides 3-way protection: Today Sponge blocks the sperm's path. Today Sponge absorbs sperm. Today Sponge continuously releases an effective spermicide which quickly kills sperm on contact.Made in USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
5 out of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vaginal Contraceptive
Review 1 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Binghamton, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female

My Go To Product

Date:July 14, 2013
Pros: extremely effective
I have been using the Today Sponge for years. I have never had any of the difficulties some other reviewers have mentioned. It works effectively, comfortably, and reliably.
Review 2 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Date:June 15, 2013
When using them propertly I still go pregnant. Bad choice
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Date:December 16, 2012
This customer did not provide a text review.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female

best contraception out there

Date:December 1, 2012
Pros: Effective
Cons: None
i started using the sponge back in the 1990s. it was and will always remain the most effective and convenient method of birth control, if used correctly, on the market. Thank you for listening.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Messy

Date:June 13, 2012
Pros: Easy To Use, no feeling
Cons: Messy
It was easy to use and last long, so in that aspect it works great. Neither of us felt nothing. But, it caused a such mess! I had fluid coming out for 3 days after first use.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:new york
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Got pregnant on month 9

Date:May 15, 2012
Cons: you will get pregnant., maybe not the first month, but soon enough!
So I'm 39. Women aged 35 to 39 have less than 30% chance in any one menstrual cycle of getting pregnant. Combine that low statistic with the sponge efficacy claims, and you would think my chances were exceptionally low. I used the sponge religiously. Loved it. Can't recommend it. In fact I need to warn women about it. You will get pregnant.
5 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

The Best Product Ever

Date:February 17, 2012
I am also very happy that this product is back. It's easy to use, comfortable and truly works im actually headed to the stoe now to stock up.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Right On!!

Date:July 26, 2011
Cons: Pricey
So I bought these because I absolutely don't take medicine of any sort (birth control pills included) I religiously use condoms but I since trust isn't an issue and pregnancy is I decided to try these. I really thought it was gonna be difficult to insert and most importantly remove but it is isn't. Once I put it in I just forget about it and neither of us can feel a thing. I would recommend these to anyone who is in a committed relationship but trying to avoid pregnancy. They're a little pricey so thankfully we can get it in for 24 hrs before having to remove it lol
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL

Amazing!

Date:May 8, 2010
Pros: Easy To Use, Clean, No horomones, Lasts 24 hours
This is a great product. I recommend to anyone looking for an easy alternative to hormonal contraceptives or condoms. I thought it would be tricky to insert or to take out, but both were a breeze.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:tx

Great product

Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: Easy To Use, Dependable, No Side Effects
This is a great product. No messy foams or gels. Easy to use. Natural with the assurance of protection. I use these the majority of the time. I cannot use birthcontrol pills, so this is the best option I have found.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois

Fantastic Product!

Date:January 29, 2010
Pros: Not Messy, Easy To Use, Works for 24 hours
Cons: A little pricey
I found out about the Today Sponge when researching alternatives to condoms for my boyfriend and me. At first I was nervous about being able to remove it and whether or not it would get in the way of sensations. As soon as we tried it for the first time, I was completely committed to it as my form of birth control. It's very easy to insert and you don't notice it once it's in. It is a little tricky to grasp the loop that's there for removal because it's long and tends to get pushed out of reach. However, I find it easier just to bear down and then it will slide out. I do feel like they are a little pricey when compared to condoms, but I guess one could argue that since you can have sex an unlimited amount of times during the 24 hours, you can get your money's worth.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:east coast

Spongeworthy!

Date:January 11, 2010
I'm thrilled the sponge is back on the market. I am sensitive to hormonal birth control and prefer to use natural methods. For a committed monogamous couple, the sponge is ideal. It can be inserted hours before intercoure, and left in for hours. It does not interfere with sensation like condoms, and it is not messy at all. I cannot feel it once inserted. New users will find it awkward at first but after a few times, no problems.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vaginal Contraceptive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico

So happy this is back!

Date:December 30, 2009
Pros: Non-hormonal, Easy To Use
Cons: Need to plan to insert
I have been using the sponge for years. Please remember to follow the instructions carefully. The goal is to not get pregnant so take the time to learn how to use this product correctly.
This product does not prevent STD's so be sure to only use with a trusted partner or as a combination with condom. I use it alone with my husband and it has worked well for years.
When the Today Sponge was off the market I tried using the Nuva Ring. My body was too sensitive to the hormones, although doctors claim that they are released in low doses. My moods were horrible and I found the ring to be irritating.
The sponge works wonderfully for me. However, each woman must find what works best for her.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tea1
McAllen
Posted June 18, 2012
do not use this, it will break, It takes awhile to get out. other then that it did the job. make sure you have long fingers to hook the pieces out if they break. I don't recommend this to young girls
Comments (1)
Comment (1)