Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Walgreens Digital Temple Thermometer

Walgreens Digital Temple Thermometer

This product is for use on temple or underarm and is gentle & non invasive, awake or asleep. It is also equipped with R.A.T.E (Rapid Accurate Temperature Establishment) technology. Utilizing a unique sensor, R.A.T.E rapidly samples the heat flowing from the blood vessels to the skin surface and translates it accurately to the body temperature. Large back lighted easy to read display With fever alert and memory recall Fast and accurate Sensor reads in °F & °C Power control and timing feature Contains: Temple thermometer2-AAA batteriesInstructionsWarranty informationMade in China
Average Customer Rating:
2.9 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
3 out of 9(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Digital Temple Thermometer
Review 1 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rural NorCal
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Settings

Date:December 26, 2013
Pros: Easy To Use, accurate when used properly, Reasonably priced, gentle on children
Cons: very specific procedures, procedures unclear
After reading many poor reviews I found one that helped. If you use the 'set' button to set the unit for the area you're testing ie. head or underarm ( symbols at top of screen at start- up) AND rub the thermometer around the area, it's very accurate. Be sure arm has been down, then held up just for the duration of the test for best results. Also, forehead reading is consistently one degree low.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Las Cruces, NM
Age:25-34
Gender:female

frustration

Date:November 27, 2013
Cons: unrealiable
I have had this product for three months now and it has proved to be unreliable. I have been frustrated when I take the temp of a 5 and 2 year old and unsure of what I am getting. Thermometer switched from c to f and could not get it back for awhile. Reading is different every time so its makes me wary of the accuracy of the results. Not good when you have sick kiddos at home.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lincoln, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female

not good quality

Date:December 22, 2012
Pros: digital readout was clearly visible
Cons: not accurate 90% of the time
Got a good deal at $20. Wasn't worth $2. As a mother of 5 children I need a dependable thermometer. This was not it! After about 10 uses (late december flu season) it had a display of "error 3" and now it doesn't even turn on. I changed the batteries and nothing. I have no idea what "error 3" is. I just thought it would last through the flu season. NOT!!! I do NOT recommend this product.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Horizon
El paso, tx
Posted May 4, 2013
Error 3 also. Poor product and unreliable for the money. I'm glad I buy my prescriptions from Wal Mart.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tampa FL
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Useless: returned to store.

Date:December 8, 2012
Cons: Inaccurate, Not reliable
This is worst thermometer. I already had temporal thermometer (exergen) but I bought this because I could have backup if using be cool strips. this thermometer gave weird results on me and my sick child too. Not reliable at all, It showed different reading at different uses. Please don't waste your money and time suing this I had to rush store to returned this product. Now bought Braun EAR thermometer and feeling good about that one.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Forest City, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Unsure of accuracy

Date:November 18, 2012
Pros: Easy To Read, easy to change battery, Easy To Clean, Durable, rapid reading
Cons: back light turns off with elevated temp, uncertain of accuracy
I've had this thermometer for almost 3 years now, but I'm still uncertain of it's accuracy. If I get an elevated axillary temp on my son I usually compare it to a temporal temp. Many times I will get 3 or 4 different readings which is kind of frustrating, so I just have to assume that the temp is around the results I get closest together. I've seen it vary anywhere from 98.0 to 100+. It is easy to hold, easy to use (if my son's don't get ahold of it & change the settings), & results are quick. If it gets changed to celsius, it can be tricky to figure out how to change that. Also, I find it frustrating when I'm taking a temp in the middle of the night & it is elevated the thermometer does beep to indicate there is a fever, but the backlight turns off & you can't read it. Batteries are easy to change & it's easy to clean. it is durable & has so far survived two small boys playing w/ it & putting it in their mouthes.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:female

off 1 degree

Date:February 8, 2012
Pros: Very easy to use
Cons: off by one degree
Once we realized that those tiny marks are actually a litte face and a little torso, showing where you are taking the temperature, we have been getting fairly consistent readings but they are always lower by one degree. I took it in to our pediatrician's office and tested it against their expensive thermometers and it was consistently off 1 degree.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female

not accurate on baby

Date:November 9, 2011
Seems fairly accurate on underarm but does not work at all on baby's temple. It also doesn't stay backlit after taking temp making it difficult to read.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Inconsistent

Date:March 31, 2011
This does not work well at all. It seems to work fine on adults (although sometimes the readings vary even in a matter of minutes), but it does not work on the kids.
Review 9 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Great buy

Date:October 21, 2010
This has come in handy with my 3 year old son since he does not like us taking his temperature any other way. The only problem was it changed to Celsius and I didn't have the instructions but thanks to a review on here it was pretty simple to change it back by : keeping it off and then holding down the set button and then at the same time the power button until it changed back to F ! Thanks to the reviewer on here that left those instructions.
25 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted August 3, 2012
thanx! not sure how it got changed but i messed with this thing for 30 minutes before finding your review/info....thanx!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:illinois

Celcius to Fahrenheit

Date:April 26, 2010
To change from C to F start with the thermometer off. Hold down the set button. Then push and hold the power button till it changes to F
55 of 56 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted October 15, 2012
Thanks so much for letting me know this. I had the same problem and couldn't figure out how to change it back. After reading your post I changed it right back. Thanks!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ohio

very handy....

Date:April 25, 2010
very easy to use just don't throw manual away if you did here is the site to get it [@]
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL

Couldn't be any easier!

Date:March 7, 2010
Easy to use and fast. Accurate and hygienic.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:arlington, VA

not a good buy

Date:February 22, 2010
Cons: Not user friendly, Loud, Inaccurate
temperature taken does not seem accurate at all, I've taken my daughters several time in a matter of minutes & each time it's different. Also, our thermometer changed from F to C & cannot get it to change back, this is quite a pain at 1am when trying to check my 4 year olds temp because I don't know off hand the conversion. We bought it on sale & thought we were getting a good deal, next time we will spend a bit more for a quality one or stay with our old fashioned stick thermometer.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kate (RN)
OHIO
Posted August 14, 2012
Temperature readings vary by where you take the temperature on the body & the child's age. Sometimes you have to add a degree, or take one away. Ask your DR.
IE) A rectal reading & a temple read are not going to be the same!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Irving, TX

changes from farenheit to celcius

Date:January 18, 2010
I like this thermometer however it changed from farenheit to celcius and I do not have the directions to change it back. Other than that the product works great.
Review 15 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO

Not Accurate

Date:January 11, 2010
Cons: Loud, NOT ACCURATE
This thermometer is not accurate at all. I was babysitting and the 9 mo baby had a fever. I checked her temperature with this product and it showed 98.6F. I thought it was impossible because she was feeling to hot. Got another thermometer and her temp was 101.6! I tried it several times on me and on her, but it was never accurate. It showed my temp as 99.8 and I did not have a fever. Plus, it is noisy and woke the baby up. Even when she was awake she would know when I would take her temp because it beeps all the time.
By the time she got to the doctor, her temp was 102.2 and this product still showed 98.6. She has a double ear infection.
Not reliable at all.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kate (RN)
OHIO
Posted August 14, 2012
Temperature readings vary by where you take the temperature on the body & the child's age. Sometimes you have to add a degree, or take one away. Ask a DR or take a babysitting course.
IE) A rectal reading & a temple read are not going to be the same!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:USA

No Good

Date:December 19, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Not reliable
My wife and I both took several readings on our daughter. She went to bed with a high fever and I ran to Walgreens for this one so we would not have to wake her to take her rear end temp. Each time was a different reading, 100.1, 98.0, 102.0, 98.4 and 101.1. We finally woke her and took it the old fashioned way - 102.9! I took it back and bought one for her ear.
Sorry, but it was not reliable enough for me to keep.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kate (RN)
OHIO
Posted August 14, 2012
Temperature readings vary by where you take the temperature on the body & the child's age. Sometimes you have to add a degree, or take one away. Ask your DR.
IE) A rectal reading & a temple read are not going to be the same!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MN

Love It except..

Date:December 13, 2009
Pros: Accurate, Backlight, Fits easily in your hand, Easy To Use, Able to get room temp, Medication timer
Cons: Beeps are too loud
I think it is great, affordable and has some great bonus features but not so many that it is hard to use. Make sure you read the directions, as you have to wait for 2 mins in between readings. When I did that I got accurate readings.
My only issues is the beeping...It is a little too shrill and loud...The process of taking the temp on the temple would not wake the baby/child...but the beeping would possibly. The whole process has four beeps if you are successful..more if they have a low or high temp!
I think it needs to beep, but an option to adjust volume or turn it off would be more appropriate considering it is marketed to be easy to use on sleeping children/toddlers.
Other than that is is a great value.
Review 18 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Greeneville, TN

Not as simple as I would like.

Date:December 7, 2009
Pros: QUICK, Both temple and under arm, Timer for medication
Cons: Changes to Celcius often
I enjoy using this and it is quick when you need it to be. However, it is hard to use when on C because if you don't know, you have to find a way to look it up in F. I have had this problem since I bought the unit and am not that satisfied with it. Would rather use a stick thermometer and wait extra time to know what degree I am reading.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:raleigh, nc

Great Product

Date:November 23, 2009
Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use, Non invasive, Fast
Great to use on a baby or fidgety child because it is so gentle and easy. Simple touch to the temple area and it gives a reading in about 5-6 seconds.
The timer is a nice extra feature. Tells you how much time left until it tis safe to administer another dose of medication. This is really useful when you wake up in the middle of the night.
Review 20 for Digital Temple Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut

Great product

Date:October 13, 2009
Pros: Decent price, Great product accurate
Very accurate,quick reading, easiest to use on my 18 month old. Can use if child is asleep. Used it on myself and compared reading to other thermometers I have and it was just as accurate as the oral ones. Nice size,compact. Great product!!