Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Walgreens Instant Digital Ear Thermometer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Walgreens Instant Digital Ear Thermometer

For easy, noninvasive temperatures readings. This thermometers is ideal for children and infants and reliable for the whole family. Temperatures readings taken with this thermometer are comparable to oral thermometer readings. Proper positioning of this ear thermometer in the ear canal provides safe and accurate results. Fast, comfortable care Easy to read, 1 second readout Backlight display for nighttime use Measures in °F and °C With fever alert Beeps to indicate temperatures above 100.4°F (38°C) Stores 10 readings No tip covers required Storage case and lithium battery includedMade in China
Average Customer Rating:
2.177 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
9
3 out of 16(19%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Review 1 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Not reliable

Date:November 19, 2012
I bought this thermometer a few months ago, and I wish I would have checked the reviews before wasting my money. It's very hard to get an accurate reading, if I can get a ready it is usually below the normal body temperature. In fact I took it with me to my dr's office after replacing the battery (thought that was the problem), at my dr's it was registering 100.1 on my thermometer it was registering 96.8. Now that I have put a new battery in it, I can't get it off of Celsius either :( Very disappointed!
Review 2 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

so unclear

Date:June 2, 2012
This thermometer leaves you constantly wondering if you are using it correctly. The screen has no clear indication on when to insert and if it is reading properly. When I do get it to put out a temp it is usually way below normal body temperature. Does not give you any confidence that it is properly measuring your childs temp.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:West Melbourne, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Accurate IF used right

Date:November 27, 2011
Pros: Compact
Cons: Difficult To Use
This was the first ear thermometer my wife and I tried, mainly because there was an in-store coupon available. I had seen the ones used in the doctor's office, and thought it would be nice to have one to use at home.
Ours has been accurate, at least compared to an oral digital thermometer we've had for quite some time. The biggest problem is that it seems much more difficult to use than it should be. (I must note here that my wife lost the instructions before I got to see or read them; I found only the "quick reference card" and the FAQs booklet.) You hit the SCAN button to power it up (but it can be hard to tell how long you must press the button before it will power up), then it is supposed to give the last reading, followed by a "beep" to insert it into the ear canal, after which it will beep again upon reading. Well, that sequence of events has *never* worked for us. If the thing enters auto-scan mode, it's always when we place the probe into the ear canal, making us think it has already taken the temperature. More often than not, though, it will never enter that mode on its own, requiring us to hit the SCAN button again, hoping it will work this time. To me, hitting a power-on button, inserting it into the ear, then hitting the SCAN button, makes much more sense.
I concur with other reviewers who say that the Memory button is poorly placed. I don't need any memory capability, and would prefer not having some button right where my finger tends to go.
Review 4 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gainesville, Ga
Age:25-34
Gender:female

awesome

Date:September 1, 2011
My thermometer works great. I actually have 2 of them because I thought I lost one when I moved. I use them both on my whole family and they both work. I would suggest an exchange to those whose thermometers don't work; I'm sure Walgreens will back up their products. Thank you to the nurse on the F to C! I finally just got mine changed back :)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
mommaof1
Missouri
Posted October 27, 2011
How did you get your changed back to F. Mine is stuck on C, and I lost the book :(
Customer Avatar
amanda
NM
Posted October 15, 2011
hi i was wondering if u can explain to me how to change it back to "F"? Thanks much
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do Not Buy

Date:April 25, 2011
I still haven't been able to find a thermometer for my infant that I like. My husband bought this one when I was having a break down because I couldn't get a good read on her with any thermometer we have. This one is VERY inaccurate, the worst one yet. It said that I had a fever, but that my daughter didn't, when it was really the other way arround. We kept it, thinking I was just frustrated and using it incorrectly, but we've never been able to get the thing to read my daughter at higher than 97.7, and it thinks I'm usually around 99.0. Seriously a waste of money.
Review 6 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:male

HORRIBLE!

Date:March 19, 2011
Cons: Not Functional
Insists my temp is 93 degrees, when in fact I had the flu and was burning up. Even if I weren't ill, NOBODY is 93. Normal is 98.6. I bought another because I figured this one was broken.... SAME THING! Totally trash. Gave it to the kids to play with.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fahrenheit/Celsius AHHHHH!

Date:March 7, 2011
We have had this thermometer for a couple of months and really liked it. Unfortunately, the last time I used it I somehow changed it from Fahrenheit to Celsius. What the heck! How do I change it back?
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Julie
Valparaiso, In
Posted November 13, 2012
Thanks so much!! Mine did that while I was on vacation (probably from being packed with other stuff) and I didn't know how to change it back. It worked for me!!
Customer Avatar
SCRMOM
ARIZONA
Posted September 20, 2012
model no: 661763/IR1DA1-1
Changing from Fahrenheit to Celsius and vice-versa
The Walgreens Deluxe Instant Thermometer can display temperature measurements in either Fahrenheit or Celsius.
To switch the display between °C and °F, turn the unit off. Press and hold the Start button for 5 seconds, the display will show ---°C or ---°F. Release the Start button. Push the Start button again to toggle between °C or °F. Five seconds after completing the change to °C or °F, the unit will prepare for a measurement, and beep when ready.
Customer Avatar
JenS
Indiana
Posted January 27, 2012
Ours did the same thing & I can't get it switched back. Did you get any response?
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 8 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Good for kids

Date:February 23, 2011
Pros: Easy To Use, screen lights up to easily few temperature
Cons: Small, location of memory button
I am a nurse, and I love this product. My family of 5 has gotten sick lately so I bought this. I have used it on myself, my 7 year-old, my 2 year-old and my 6 month old children.
My only issue is the location of the memory (M) button. It is located on the underside of the thermometer...exactly where I want to place my hand when I am holding it to take a temp reading. I tend to hit the M button while trying to also push the scan button and end up changing between Fahrenheit and Celsius modes. Otherwise, I love this thermometer.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted June 27, 2012
yeah! thanks for telling me how to switch from C to F. I figured out you have to hold down the start button and push the memory button once. Hurray finally!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Stay Away

Date:January 31, 2011
Cons: does not work!!!, waste of $
I have a 12 month old and her temp with this product is never above 93deg even when her fever is at 104. It does not even work on my ears! it gives me a reading of L no matter how I place it in the ear. Also it is stuck on C and even following the directions I can not get it to change back.
Review 10 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose californiia
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Poor poor poor

Date:January 30, 2011
Pros: Convenient Size
Cons: Dosent work
This thermometer ids poor in all categories. It has never shown a temp. of more than 97 even when the doctors thermometer has said that my children have had fevers of over 100. Although it it is a convenient size that does not make up for its lack of functionality.
Review 11 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Age:35-44
Gender:male

Poor usability

Date:January 5, 2011
Pros: works sometimes
Cons: frustrating as all heck
There are 2 basic problems with the device. First is figuring out exactly how to use it - when to insert, when to press the button, when to read, etc. Eventually you'll figure this out - sort of. Then one day it'll get stuck in Celsius mode when your child is sick and, we'll let's just say that it's easier to figure out how to convert from C to F than it is to figure out how to get this thing working again!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Save your money

Date:December 31, 2010
Pros: small and portable
Cons: Unreliable
This thermometer is very unreliable. I bought one when my 3 year old felt very hot one night, in one ear it would say she was 102.3 and I would immediately take it again in the other ear and it would be 97.9. Pretty big difference. This is the consistant pattern of this thermometer. I thought maybe I was doing something wrong or it was defective, however I was talking to another mom recently who was describing the exact same problems with her thermometer and I asked her if it was this one, sure enough. Choose another thermometer.
Review 13 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richview, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:female

I would NOT recommend this product to anyone

Date:August 7, 2010
Pros: Its small
Cons: more expensive brands are sometimes worth the mone
I purchased this product for my 4 month old son because the regular thermometers took way to long to take his temp. He has been sick and has also started teething so he has been having low grade fevers. The first time I tried this product was on myself. It worked fantastic at first. then I went to try to use it again it did not work right at all. It says in the owners manual that you need to hit scan first, then everything shows up on the screen (mine didnt) then put it in your ear when it beeps your done and your temp should appear on the screen. with mine when you hit scan it automatically said "lo" then if you put it in your ear and hit the scan button it would say some really low number like 94.1 or something. when it did come up with a number that sounded accurate if you took the temp again in the same ear it was way off from the last number. I will be returning mine to purchase a different thermometer product. I would not recommend to anyone especially if you have children.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:male

C to F

Date:July 28, 2010
Pros: quick readings on infants
Cons: button usage
I thought I was in the same boat as a few other people on this board, but then found the manual for Model 68-340 (according to sticker on back of thermometer). Per manual, "To switch between F and C, press and hold the SCAN button. While holding the SCAN button, press the Memory (M) button to toggle between modes." It worked for me.
Agree with other users it's a little quirky getting used to the way to take a temperature reading (ie button usage), but it works well on squirmy infants.
19 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay area, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Works well unless you...

Date:July 25, 2010
The thermometer works fine, though I agree with another poster, it takes a bit to get used to when you press the button and how many times. Once you do, it's a snap.
That said the issue I have is one day I somehow set it to Celsius and dont now how. I also ditched the manual after I learned how to use the device. I went online to find one and it's no where to be found, though read a number of posters who also need a manual for the same reason.
Review 16 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Date:June 29, 2010
Worst digital thermometer I've used. The light doesn't stay on, you have to hit the button several times just to get it to work, it takes far too long to reset for another reading, it's too difficult to get the positioning right for little ears, and if you manage to get it stuck in C, good luck trying to get it back into F, I haven't been able to yet.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Instant Digital Ear Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Leominster, MA

baby friendly

Date:January 12, 2010
Pros: Reads very quick
Cons: Light doesn't stay on
This is the first thermometer that I could use on my 6 mo. baby without having him crying. I had even tried the forehead one which I thought he wouldn't mind, but this was really the only I could use on him. The great thing is that it literally takes only 1 sec to read the temperature,so it's great for a baby that doesn't stay still. What I didn't like is the fact that the screen light doesn't stay on for too long so you'll need extra light to see it when using it at night. The other thing is that you have to push the button a few times before inserting it into the ear so it's a bit confusing,but once you get the hang of it it becomes easier.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.