Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Walgreens Nicotine Patches Step 1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Walgreens Nicotine Patches Step 1

21 mg of nicotine delivered over 24 hours Stop smoking aid  With behavior support program Free audio CD upon request  2 week kitMade in Switzerland
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Review 1 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Camby, Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Date:August 5, 2013
This customer did not provide a text review.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Date:April 12, 2013
These patches do everthing They're supposed to. I did wear them for 24 hours and had no problems. You still have to be motivated to quit, however.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brentwood CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female

Great value

Date:January 2, 2013
Pros: Great quality
The Walgreens brand of the nicotine patches is superb in every way. On top of the quality of the product, the price was great too. I got them on sale: buy one, get one half off. It was just what hubby and me needed to get us started on "no smoking"! I am very happy with the product, shipping time and cost.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cowboy Bob
Terrible Haute
Posted January 23, 2013
I am a "you must prove it to me" type of person and this product did just that. It works! and was well worth the money.
I am not a smoker, but have been a longtime chewer. I started using this patch and have went thru my first box of step 1 from walgreens and haven't chewed in the 14 days. Longest time period I have been since I can't remember when without a chew. I chewed about a can and a half per day. Going back for another box and then hopefully I will have no cravings! My WIFE Is very happy!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Age:35-44
Gender:male

Quitting Sucks!

Date:October 30, 2012
But these patches will help ease the pain. IMO, they work just as well as the brand name patches, but they're cheaper. You may need to experiment to make it work for you: when I initially quit, I put the patch on before I went to bed, so I had some nicotine in my system when I woke up. I didn't want to smoke in the morning. As time went on, I discovered that I slept better without the patch, and putting it on after my morning shower worked well. Soon, I'll be on step 3 and am looking forward to being cigarette AND patch free!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Orleans, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Most successful method for me yet

Date:April 3, 2012
Pros: cheaper than name brand, adheres to skin will, takes away about 90% of my physical cravings
Cons: burns/itches for about 5 minutes after application, disrupts sleep, draws on addiction to nicotine longer than "cold t
I have been smoking 10-15 cigarettes a day for over a decade. Before the patch I tried to quit once using nicotine gum and was successful for about a month. This is the second time I have tried to quit using the Walgreens patch. I was unsuccessful the first time through no fault of the product but my own mentality. I stayed strong at first but then reached a point after the first four weeks where I would take it off to smoke while drinking or out with friends who smoked. This escalated into "just one" after a long work day or "just one" after a stressful phonecall and so on. On my second quit attempt I knew I had to cut out the cheating and I am happy to say I have just entered the final "Step 3" phase of the patch and have not had one cigarette since I started using it 2 months ago. I guess the point of this is that, as cliche as it sounds, the patch only gets you half-way there, and the rest has to be sheer will power. But it certainly makes things a lot easier. The Walgreens version works well for me- it adheres to my skin all day (even through exercising and showering) and starts to kick in about 20 minutes after putting it on. The Step 1 itches and burns after about 5 minutes of putting it on but 5 minutes later this feeling completely goes away. The only drawback is accidentally falling asleep with it on as I find sleep becomes extremely lucid and unrestful (especially with the high dosage patch). Anyways, I strongly recommend the patch. While it may cost more than quitting cold turkey and draws your addiction to nicotine out a little further it seems that by taking care of the strong physical cravings, it ultimately increases the chance of breaking the habit mentally.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmond, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:male

This worked for a dipper of 20 years.

Date:February 21, 2012
Pros: Affordable, Effective
I am currently on step 3 of the 3-step program. I have tried nicotine gum and "cold turkey" in the past with limited success. This patch is the easiest method I've used thus far. I apply a patch at 7:00am and remove it each night around 9:00pm to mimic my consumption habits of copenhagen.
I'm not going to lie to you and say that I haven't suffered through strong cravings OR that I have not cheated a time or two because I have. The bottom line is that I have been 100% snuff free for 20 days now. This is a habit that I've had for 20 years. You really have to want to quit while you're on this and really apply yourself. You have to motivate yourself through the urges to pull into the nearest gas station and buy a log of snuff. This is not some magic cure that eliminates all cravings as there are some physical activities associated with the use of snuff. Heck, I still look for my can in the morning as I leave for work. BUT, if you're dedicated to changing your ways, I've found this to be the least painful method.
Here are some tips that I'd like to share based on my experiences:
1) It made my joint nearest the patch ache. I was placing it on the back side of my shoulder for the first week and had to move it to my quad. I shave a little 2" square on my leg to accommodate the patch. Laugh all you want (my wife sure did); but I'm gonna win this one!
2) Buy enough to place them everywhere! I leave them in my work desk, my car, my bathroom and so on. If you forget to apply one in the morning; you will use that as an excuse to go buy a can/pack. Don't give yourself any excuses.
3) you may need to take it off before bed. It gives me severe nightmares if I leave it on for bed. I try to take it off at least an hour before I hit the sack.
4) get rid of your stash of smokes or cans of snuff. Knowing that you have a fallback plan is planning for failure. I've found cans that are older than my youngest child while digging through my tool boxes in a nicotine hunt. Get rid of that junk and WORK killing this addiction.
5) mentally prepare yourself for the steps (from 21mg to 14mg and so on) as you will notice the reduction in nicotine. If you're not ready fo the jump, go back to a higher dosage for a day or two more. It's better than buying a new can of snuff.
Good luck and remember "If it was easy, everyone would be doing it". Sorry, that's a quote from every HS football coach in America but it's true. Quitting this garbage is not easy. It's going to be tough but your health depends upon it.
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Do not stick well

Date:November 21, 2011
This is my first time using the patch to quit smoking. I went with the Walgreens brand to save some money and that was a big mistake! These patches fall off everyday. I had one on today for 3 hours and it just fell off in the shower. I have tired to place it in many different areas and have even used bandaids to keep it on. I am about to throw these useless things away and go buy the name brand. Do NOT buy these!
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
3rd times a charm
NJ
Posted February 16, 2012
I learned the 1st time to put it on after you shower to a clean / fresh body it adhears alot better . and then its habitual after shower replace i did it for 3 reasons would always be about same time of day (Night) then 2 i would never forget 3 i hated the circle ring of dirt and fuzz that was in the edge . worked great i fell off wagon but bow back on and thanks to walgreens its alot cheaper
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Great Nicotine Push!!!

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: good adhesive
Cons: still smoking but that's my fault!!!
I am 'addicted' to these as I've never really gotten close to ever "quitting" cigarettes, but at least this product cuts down on the toxicities you obtain by smoking a cigarette which I have read contains 8,000 toxic ingredients. The adhesive is by far better than other products I've used, including the Nicoderm as that actually peeled my skin off and left round scars on my skin. Great product for those of us who are still addicted to nicotine unfortunately.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburg, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Better than name brand

Date:May 7, 2011
Pros: works well to cut cravings, sticks and stays put, not as expensive as the name brand
I've tried both Walgreen's and Nicoderm CQ nicotine patches. The adhesive on the Walgreen's patches work better for me than the big-name patches do. Every other aspect of the patches, from the amount to the distribution of nicotine throughout the day, is the same between the two. Even the enclosed booklets are the very same. I noticed no difference between the patches other than the adhesive.
Since these work better for me and are less expensive, I'll stick (no pun intended) with the Walgreen's brand.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Happy!!!

Date:May 5, 2011
I am a closet smoker and got really tired of hiding it and always making sure I didnt smell, you know all that stuff...
I finally just made the choice to buy the patch, honestly thinking it wouldnt work...
now I dont smoke during the day and usually only one in the morning...the majority is in the evening when I am home alone, so i put the patch on in the morning...
First thing...after about having it on 2 hours it started to itch...now I will remind you its practically a medicated patch so i am not surprised by this...but it really itched!
Then after a while it just stopped itching...i can only conclude it was actually making its way in to my skin ...now I ate lunch and on my way back to the office with a friend got really car sick.....this has not happened to me in a long time so i think the 2 may be connected...however not entirly sure...
Around3 in the after noon i had to take it off becuase I was just feeling queezy...i may have grabbed to strong a dose...i felt fine after about an hour but i cant honestly say i dont know which one thing caused the other...
I do know 1 very important thing....its 12 hours later and I am not "craving" a cig...even though i dont have the patch on...i am planning on putting it on again just to see if that was infact what made me queezy....All i can say is I am still very happy with this product....i really think i can quit even though its day 2 and i still need to find things to get my mind off it sometimes....this with out a doubt gets rid of the withdrawl part which is 50% of the problem!!! And as far as the stickiness factor,...its very stick no problem with it coming off....good luck all!!!
P.S if this particular product doesnt work for you dont stop trying there is one out there for you!!!! all patches are kinda different...stick with it!!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
smokeless in Texas
Victoria, TX
Posted May 4, 2012
I am week 4 and it has worked great! The only thing is that it seems to wear off a bit earlier in the evening than I would like it to. Until it wears off, I do nothave a craving for food, but I do when it wears off.I recently lost a lot of weight and refuse to put it back on. I really have not had the feeling that I just have to smoke a cigarrette...knock on wood...I am taking it one day at a time! I did have a couple of empty pkts in my box, though and that bothered me. I plan to call the store today since I opened the 2nd empty one this morning.
Customer Avatar
joeletaxi1983
Boston
Posted April 19, 2012
I was wondering can I just walk in and buy it or do I need a prescription or talk to a pharmacist I shop regularly at the one on Washington St.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lodi, Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female

It works!

Date:April 28, 2011
Pros: clear in color
There are two addictions with smoking. The habit of having a something in your hand and the chemical addiction of nicotene. By using the patch my husband was able to attack the physical addiction first and will be able to slowly reduce the use of the patches. We are elated with his success!!!
Review 12 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Nicotine Patch

Date:April 22, 2011
Cons: wont stay on while sweating. must use bandaid
Helpful in quitting smoking. No cravings when using this product.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about Sylvia is loaded.
Additional information about Sylvia could not be loaded.
Posted December 27, 2011
I cannot say enough good about this product. It really works! I inquired about some sort of protective covering because I was skeptical about the adhesive staying on. I was told by the pharmacist to use Dove soap, because it is the one soap that doesn't leave any residue. The residue is the culprit that has these things falling off. Well I bought Dove, which I love this soap anyway. And it stays on very well.
It cuts all the cravings I had, right after eating I think of having a cigarette, but it passes within about 10-15 seconds, once you get past that little bit of time, you're home free until your next patch I guess. I never felt it wearing off, really.
My mother was a 3-4 pack a day smoker, not lights either. But she went on the patch. My brother in law and I had a bet going that she could or couldn't do it, I was very skeptical because I'd seen her smoke my whole life. We bet a dinner, I lost. She's smoke free today, that was 15 yrs ago. If the price is an issue, just think about the cost of cigarettes. They will exceed the price of the patch very quickly. Good luck to all!
Customer Avatar
Jim H.
S.C.
Posted October 4, 2011
Chrissy, something you might find helpful.
Take a cotton ball and apply a little 91% rubbing alcohol to the site where you want to mount the patch.
Let dry, then apply the patch.
I think you'll find it adheres much better.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

These Work!

Date:March 20, 2011
Pros: stops really strong cravings
Cons: can itch or fall off if not put on in a good spot
If you have decided to stop smoking, these patches will help you do that. They curb the cravings so you can get through without giving in. I haven't had a cigarette in 11 days and doing great!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Haven, CT
Age:25-34
Gender:male

burns me

Date:March 19, 2011
Pros: not smoking
Cons: burns me
Smoked a pack of reds a day since I started two years ago, bought a 7-pack of nicoderm at the local walgreens. Worked surprisingly well - went 24 hours without a cigarette for the first time since I started. For those who smoke a lot of regular or light cigs I recommend switching to ultra-lights for a few days prior to starting since they have signigicantly less nicotine. That way you can keep the habit while reducing the amount of nicotine, otherwise 21mg over 24 hours isnt enough.
I ordered 14 nicoderm from walgreens.com but was sent walgreens brand instead. I didn't feel like complaining about it so I've been using them the past couple days. They work well too. The only problem is that the adhesive for the walgreens brand gives a burning sensation for the first hour or so - perhaps it's a different adhesive. I'd still rather not have the burning. Maybe it's just me who is allergic.
Anyways, nicotine patches are amazing. One morning I wasnt wearing the patch and bought a pack of cigarettes. I got to work and put on a patch, and boom, a few minutes later I didn't want to smoke. In fact if you smoke on the patch you can get sick from having too much. I haven't been completely smoke free, but I've only bought a pack this week and still have half left. All but one I smoked while drinking. Highly recommended.
Review 15 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Willsboro NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male

Nicotine Patch

Date:January 31, 2011
Nicotine patch Is a good product to use when quitting smoking. I give it 5 stars becouse it has help me out alot. I nevver been this for before and im not doing it for any on im doing it for my self and i found the will power on quitting smoking.
This product is better than nicoderm cq. When you are quitting smoking I recondmend you buy nicotine patch from walgreens.
Review 16 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male

good price product

Date:January 14, 2011
Pros: Price, works, Clear color
Cons: adhesive too strong
I bought this product to stop smoking, well thats pretty obvious.
It is working so far, so I am satisfied for the performance of this product. Also, compared to the similar product, the price is very reasonable, so I can recommend this product to anyone, at least give it a try.
However, I gave this product 4-stars because of one con.
The only issue that I have and still having is the adhesive of this patch. As the product discription says, you can take shower with patch on, which is true. I tested and did not come off at all. But the reason is ahesive for this patch is too strong (at least to me). when I put it on, it only takes few seconds, but when I try to remove old one, it takes at least few mins, and you can see few layer of my skin come off with it. Although it is not strong enough to create skin problem, but very unconfortable and I think it would be more unconfortable if I am hairly (I am not). so for the 2nd step, I might use different product and test other brand also have similer adhesiveness or not.
Review 17 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-65
Gender:female

It's working

Date:January 6, 2011
I am a long time smoker who has tried to quit many times. I could never make it thru the first day. Now I am 5 days smoke free and having very little nicotine withdrawal. I couldn't have gotten this far without the Nicotine Patch. It's still not easy but with the help of the patch I think I will make it this time. The value of buying the Walgreen's brand is tremendous. Wish me luck.
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tulsa,OK
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Ease of ordering

Date:August 29, 2010
Pros: online ordering is the green and easier way to go
Ordering was easy and product was exactly as described.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nicotine Patches Step 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina

Great product

Date:April 23, 2010
Pros: Easy To Use, Effective, Good Value
I have finally quit smoking after 1 1/2 pack a day habit of 34 years. Thanks to this patch I am smoke free on day 8. I have had no problems with this patch. I still have the urge to smoke, but I choose not to. This patch has really taken the edge off of the nicotine withdrawal I have made it this far and I know I will continue to succeed.
23 of 24 found this review helpful.