Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Delstar OpenBook E-Book Reader

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Delstar OpenBook E-Book Reader

Features Ebook Reader Stores approx. 700 Ebooks MP3 Player Picture Viewer 1GB Internal Memory Standard SD Card Slot Rechargeable Battery Specifications 5 inch color TFT screen 800x480 Resolution Built in Li Polymer Battery Supports: ANSI, UNICODE TXT, DOC, PDF, HTML, FB2, PDB, and EPUB Ebook Formats Skip, Read, Save, Bookmark, and Delete Bookmarks Supports MP3, WMA, FLAC, and AAC Music Files Supports JPEG and BMP Image Files Music Effects: Rock, Classic, Pop, Bass, and Jazz
Average Customer Rating:
2.448 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Reviews for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Review 1 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL

Too bad it didn't turn out so well.

Date:April 23, 2010
I tried it out for a week or so and was so frustrated. There were too many updates or issues to deal with. When I buy a product, I want to open the package and start using it. It took me almost 2 days to even be able to really use it. I loved the lit background, music player and beautiful color pics. But, it had tech issues. I returned it at the store (which was good) and I ended up buying a NOOK (which I sooooo love). I took the NOOK out of the package and BAM!!! it worked. The NOOK was well worth the price.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland

Very Disappointing

Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: Good Photo Viewer, Price
Cons: Poor Ebook Reader, Firmware, Display
I had high hopes for this when I purchased it. The price was great and I wanted a backlit ereader for reading in bed. [...]included a charger and case. However, books in epub format (all I tried) did not display well due to lack of formatting. The background was tan and not white and not very clear for me to read on. There was supposed to be a user manual on the device but it was merely an instruction to go to the company website to get one there. There was a firmware update available in a few days but the interface was in Chinese and did not work on my Windows 7 PC. I gave up and returned during the 30 day window. There are no Walgreens in my part of the state so it cost [$] to ship it back. [...]
Review 3 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Springfield, IL

This Reader Is Cute, But Has Limits!

Date:April 18, 2010
Pros: Small compact and cute
Cons: Only 'read' certain books
This product looks very cute and attractive, but it is not a perfect product. I like that it can store pictures and music, but it had a hard time retrieving my music file from my PC to the reading device. This device does read books; however, the types of books it can actually download is very limited. I will probably end up giving this reader away to someone, and just saving up to by a 'Nook' or 'Kindle'.--My advice is: don't waste your time or money on this product unless you don't read that many books and only want a limited amount of books read electronically!
Review 4 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vegas

Delstar E- Reader

Date:April 15, 2010
I think it is a great affordable e-reader, but it is contrary when you try to go to a book that you are reading, it takes awhile before it does the command, it is a simple reader and it downloads from free sites easily,and from paid sites, but you can't download from your public library, so if you want this feature, you should get the Sony Reader. But overall it is a good first reader because it is easy to use and has allot of features.
Review 5 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Macon, GA

Need to be computer savy

Date:April 14, 2010
Pros: Easy to copy files to, Stores music, Comes with cover, Compact, SD card slot up to 32 gb, Ease of use, Can display your pictures, Color, Much lower cost, Long battery life
Cons: Pdf files don't wrap line, Doesn't work all the time, All epub files don't work
I cannot find that many free ebooks that are current on the internet. I thought I would be able to transfer ebooks from Amazon.com and Barnesandnoble.com books but can't. Alot of epub books copy but then won't open on the ereader.
Review 6 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dayton, OH

Met all my expectations and more!

Date:April 14, 2010
Morning ride share to work.
I do not need a book light.
Sun light cause a glare makes it hard to see words on page.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Parrish, FL

EREADER

Date:April 13, 2010
Pros: Download music, Download photos, Download video
Cons: Unable to down load books
I can't download books I called the technician and still can't do it.
Review 8 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX

In the palm of my hand

Date:April 12, 2010
Pros: Nice Looking, Great Zoom, The only ereader in color, Comes with protective cov, Does so many files, Easy to hold
Cons: Cannot read it in the SUN, Does not zoom well on pdf
I found this eReader to be excellent in every way but two. It can handle so many formats and most have hundreds of titles free on the internet. I love this reader, except for the way it handles pdf. It does not zoom digitally, but zooms in on the page making you scroll sideways to read just one line. So far, that is the only format it has this problem with. All others will word wrap properly on zoom.
Then it has the worst problem - - that made me quite sad - - since it is like most LED screens it cannot be read in bright sunlight. My laptop, my camera and lots of technology today is like that, so it is a limitation that I cannot take it by the pool, or basically outdoor in sunlight.
I kept the eReader for all the other wonderful reasons I mentioned above. Oh, and the price was excellent for all that it does.
Review 9 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mid Wisconsin

Difficult, confusing, stressful

Date:April 12, 2010
Pros: Price is Right, Beautifully Designed, Multiply options wonderfu, Great idea and size
Cons: Dimly lit pictures, Difficult process to play, Speaker very weak, Jumps between screens, Too many stepsbuttons, Confusing directions
I opened this ebook with great joy and then was greatly disappointed in the directions, which were confusing and contradicted itself. The player refused to obey commands but did its own thing jumping around from song to song or dimly lit picture to dimly lit picture and the efforts to download a book were confusing also as it did not work with every internet download site.
Review 10 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:decatur in

Great gadget

Date:April 12, 2010
This is so easy to use, I love it no problems with downloads of pics, music, books off the internet. Definitly worth the money and better then the more expensive brands. No regrets on this purchase
Review 11 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland OH

A decent reader after the firmware fix

Date:April 6, 2010
Pros: Good for night reading, Nice bright screen
Cons: Lack of formatting
A good reader for the price, but you need to read the manual and download the firmware fix. Once that is done it actually works pretty well.
Review 12 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern New Jersy

Great price for a large screen, however?

Date:April 4, 2010
Pros: Expandable SD memory, Large color screen, Photographs look nice, Nice Menu, Nice graphics in PDF file, Easy USB loading of books, Downloadable Firmware
Cons: No news of newer firmware, Hoping for more support, Lacking search capability
[...]
Review 13 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bayonne, NJ

More of a multimedia player than Ereader

Date:April 4, 2010
Pros: Video player, Txt reader, Music player
Cons: No formating
I've been using as a video player mostly, some txt reading with no formatting. Company has posted on forums( although I think some of the folks there may of scared them away). I trust they will upgrade to fix the formatting. BTW battery life last way longer than it's described.
Review 14 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bonne Terre, Mo

I like the OpenBook but,

Date:March 31, 2010
Pros: Light weight, Compact, Lots of books available, Easy To Read
Cons: Books loaded on SD bad, Hard to update software, Needs better software
If you load an ebook onto the SD card you can not use all the functions of the OpenBook. Can't read in landscape mode and can't change font size.
Review 15 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York

Very unhappy with this product!

Date:March 30, 2010
Pros: Pretty case
Difficult, Delstar told me I had to download the updates because if wouldn't take the PDF books I purchased. Instructions were in Chinese and they kept telling me it didn't matter. I had to get the IT specialist at my job to load it and he had trouble since the Delstar customer service were hard to reach and didn't help much. The display cut off words if you increase the font size. I'm returning this product.
Review 16 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX

Don't believe the hype

Date:March 29, 2010
Pros: Size and appearance, Features
Cons: No detailed manual, Downloading
I liked the look of the ereader, the feature that allowed listening to music without earphones, and the color screen. However, I ended up returning the item. When I received firmware to download to assist with being able to add books it was written in Chinese. Not very helpful.
Review 17 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington, D.C.

OpenBook Ereader Not Ready

Date:March 29, 2010
The Openbook ereader is interesting. It has a very clear color screen that seems as good or better than the non-color E-Ink screens of most ebook readers. The controls seem well thoughtout. If, in the future, the software lives up to the promise of the hardware,it will be very good. Unfortunately now it only can display plain text correctly. Ebook formats include layout info, display of bold, underline, correct hypenation and more. This reader cannot display them. The reader delivered to me could not even open the PDF[Acrobat] format of so many ebooks. Many popular readers do not display PDF properly, but at least they render it so it can be read. I returned the reader within Walgreens liberal 30 day period. I would not have bought this reader otherwise. This is a brand new offering that is not ready for sale. Perhaps in time it will be. I hope so. In the few days after the reader was offered for sale, the manufacturer released an update to the software. It didn't correct most of the reader's problems. I think potential purchasers should wait until independent reviews of this reader indicate it can do the job properly before buying.
Review 18 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St Charles, Illinois

WOW, what a piece of JUNK

Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: Can return it to a store
I bought this for my wife. I have a competitor ebook that is great. If you want to get books from your local library with this turkey...FORGET IT! [...] In addition, it wouldn't charge and we wasted a lot of time talking to Delstar customer service.
Review 19 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV

Pass on this

Date:March 28, 2010
Really, really awful. Great price, awful product. I returned device within 24 hours. Buggy software, poor support, not an e-ink device. Well made but NOT a substitute for a NOOK, KINDLE, etc. Really a waste of your money. Spend the extra money and get the real thing.
Review 20 for OpenBook E-Book Reader
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Waukesha, WI

E-Reader

Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: Good product, For free e-books only
Cons: Common Formats not accept, Limmit on e-book purchase
Good e-reader for free e-books. First e-book purchase I couldn't download because of format only.
1 2 next>>