Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Walgreens Warm Steam Vaporizer

Walgreens Warm Steam Vaporizer

Helps temporarily relieve cough & congestion. Includes medicine cup for use with liquid inhalants and night light.Auto shut off Easy to fill Up to 14 hours run time* 1.0 gallon capacity; for small rooms** Walgreens pharmacist recommended^*Run time will vary and is dependent on hardness of water.**Test data based on measurement in accordance with American National Standards Institute standard HU-1-2006 for homes of average insulation.^Walgreens pharmacist survey study, November 2012.Made in Mexico
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
12 out of 20(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Review 1 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Better than nothing, but not great

Date:February 12, 2014
Pros: provides some humidity
Cons: barely adequate output, no locking lid, less well designed than previous version
I have chronic sinus problems and depend greatly on having a good vaporizer around. I have been buying the previous version of this vaporizer (made by Sunbeam) at Walgreens for years. It produced steam like a fog machine, was well made, and was a real bargain. This new design has been greatly cheapened. The lid no longer locks in place but just flops around on top of the tank. The tank is also smaller, and the vapor output is much reduced. If you can't find anything better, this vaporizer is better than none at all. I just wonder why Walgreens has chosen to cheapen a product that actually worked. Be sure to use some salt or this unit won't produce any steam at all. I'm not thrilled, but this vaporizer is better than none at all.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
darkstar
planet earth
Posted March 12, 2014
If you add a teaspoon or so of salt to the water in a recalcitrant vaporizer, it may surprise you!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Appleton, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Good quality

Date:January 27, 2014
Good vaporizer for a great price.
I've had ours going on 2 yrs now. It will work through the night. Add a little salt and it works even better. My son took out the heat element and left it on the carpet for who knows how long. No damage was done to the carpet or device. It is safe this way.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas,Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female

can tell a difference in 30 minutes

Date:January 1, 2014
Pros: lots of steam, Works well, No Leaks, Easy To Use, Easy To Clean, No filter needed, Great Price, has a medicine cup
Cons: loud gurgly
I used this last night and woke up angry thinking it was a worthless vaporizer. Then I remembered I used distilled water when I should have used tap water. I put in some salt, like the directions tell you, a cup full of tap water, and voila. A towering stream of glorious steam! Now, 30 minutes later, my throat feels better and I'm able to cough productively. I am 7 months pregnant, sick with upper resp infection, sleep in a large bedroom, door shut, central heat (gas) set to 68, and could not be more pleased. I read the directions again to make sure I clean and maintain the unit correctly. Empty and wipe clean daily, shake mineral junk out of heating unit with vinegar weekly, and use a tsp of bleach to soak the container once weekly for twenty minutes. For $15, no filters, no leaking, I'll take it. It is def not quiet, though. I'd recommend ear plugs if you need a quiet room. I even took a picture of the steam because it is so plentiful. Nowhere to post it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Okay

Date:June 7, 2013
It produces a reasonable amount of steam (once you remember to add salt to the water), but not so much that you'll get much benefit from it unless you're more or less leaning right over it. Even in a small bedroom with the door closed, I don't feel like I'm getting any steam when I'm just a few feet away. I can't compare it to other vaporizers in that regard, but in retrospect I wish I had gotten one of the personal steam inhalers with a mask. A smaller unit like that would be more convenient, given that I've got to use this one in basically the same way anyway.
Some reviewers comment on the head not staying turned the right way. That comes from overfilling; put too much water in and the head floats. But it doesn't matter much which you turn the head, because after a few inches the steam is going straight up anyway.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shavertown, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Works like a charm.

Date:May 19, 2013
Pros: worked fast, Great Price, Easy set-up
Went out and bought this late last evening for my son. He's never had allergy issues but this season his are off the charts. In desperate need to do something after several nights of poor sleep. I set up the vaporizer, pored in the solution and fired it up. The steam filled up the room in moments. I still can't believe how fast it started doing its job. I love this vaporizer and we finally got some sleep. Great price and great results.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

TERRIBLE PRODUCT

Date:March 16, 2013
This product does not work!!! We returned it THREE times and all three did not work!! I have a very sick little girl and was instructed to buy one to help her cough. Now I have spend all evening fighting with vaporizers and trying to keep a sick 1year old happy! I wouldn't use this product if they were free!!! Someone needs to fix this!! DO NOT BUY IT!!!
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Works better than expected

Date:March 3, 2013
My wife was suffering from the usual sore throat stuffy sinus problem she gets about once every year. We were looking for a humidifier....but most reviews on them weren't very good, and some needed replacement filters, etc. We were in Walgreen's, saw the little $16 Vaporizer, said "what the heck" and bought it. We also bought a bottle of their Vaporizing Steam Liquid. Once you figure out the salt/water balance, the thing works great. It won't do a whole room, but placed close to the bed...it does the job. It's also easy to keep clean. For those of you having problems with it...here's a tip: FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good, when used correctly

Date:March 3, 2013
Pros: Great Value, works well after some trial&error for your water
Cons: lacks the features of $200 unit (unsurprisingly)
Wow, people have unrealistic expectations of a less-than-$20 humidifier! And don't seem to understand how they work. The composition of YOUR OWN WATER affects many aspects of performance. Sodium content of public water supplies varies from location to location, if your water has little, you will probably have to add some to get good steam from this. If you aren't getting enough steam, add more salt. The sediment comes from the minerals in your water; it's what's left after the water has been "distilled" off. And I find the unit only floats if it is filled too full! If you want something that can hold 10 gallons, will vaporize low-sodium water, and clean its own sediment, then go spend a couple of hundred dollars and get what you want. I don't mind adding some salt and cleaning it out now and then. For $16, it's fantastic!
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

helps 4 children breathe better

Date:February 9, 2013
We've used humidifiers for years and prefer this one. This is our second Walgreens vaporizer in 2 years- the first died after about 8 months of use, but that's how all things seem to be made in this day and age. In any case, wouldn't buy another-- for these reasons: no filters to change and spend more money on, the steam is the right amount and warms the room, we're on a serious budget and this is very affordable. My 4 children need it to breathe well through the dry winter. I understand the critical reviews, but there are very simple solutions to the stated problems. The instructions do say to add salt if steam doesn't produce, and this does work. There is an indication in the design showing how high to fill the resevoir with water, and the top will float of you go over, so just pour the extra water out. The grey bits in the water just remind me to clean the unit out, which should be done regularly anyway.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hope
Posted August 30, 2013
Well, just purchase this product. My daughter has a stuffy nose that dry up at night hopefully this work...Update with the results.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Not woth it

Date:January 5, 2013
Just cheap, fine if you need a vaporizer for little money. It doesn't produce a nice steam, especially in the right direction, like other vaporizers. The vaporizing unit just floats on the water and the cord weight itself will make it turn, so sometimes it not facing in the right direction when you wake up.
Review 11 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Worked Well!

Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: simple easy to use, ECONOMICAL, directions specific, Easy To Clean
Cons: hard to grip the top of the unit
Followed directions (adding salt if needed) & it worked like a charm. Grandson had a cold with dry cough & this did the trick. It's very quiet. Kept his small room warm, too. We'll be purchasing another one since this season everyone is getting sick often.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, Co
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Works just fine

Date:December 15, 2011
I've had this unit (or similar) for going on six years now. It generally only gets used a couple months per year and then gets put in storage. The inital time I use it each year I add a pinch of salt and that seems to work the entire time it is used. It does leave some charcoal bits in the water now and then but I change the water daily when in use and haven't had any issues. For the folks that it is not working for, I had to put in about a tablespoon of salt the first time to get it running but haven't had an issue since. Also for the person who said the motor was floating, that happens when you overfill the reservoir...
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cubsfan
pekin il
Posted January 23, 2012
I have been using this for a week now and it works great. I live in an area with hard water and do not have a water softner. I dont have to put salt in the water at all. great product for the price.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Works just fine

Date:April 16, 2011
No trouble in the 2 years that I've had it. I add a little salt to the water (as the directions indicate if you don't have enough steam )and it works perfectly.
The amount of sediment is going to vary based on the mineral content of YOUR water - it's not the unit's fault!
It's a simple, no frills vaporizer which is exactly what I wanted.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Deerfield, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Total Junk

Date:March 1, 2011
Pros: it's red
Cons: junk
Initially filling the resevoir made the vaporizor unit float and bob in the water...produced charcoal in the tank every time...had to add salt to the water to get it to produce steam...very disappointed...don't waste time even looking at this item...buy the Vicks larger hard/clear plastic model and you'll be glad you spent an extra $10-$15...I am posting this because my friend made the same mistake...learn from us.
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RobK
Denton, TX
Posted January 4, 2013
I might have written this myself. Unit produces almost no steam
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female

I can breathe again!

Date:February 11, 2011
Pros: Price
I am 32 weeks pregnant and I have a horrible chest cold. I purchased this late one night and used it all night. It worked wonders! I coughed all night, but it made me able to breathe again. The price was very reasonable as well.
My fiance put it together for me, and he said something about having to place salt in the water to get it to steam and it was time-consuming, but well worth it!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Can't Live without it

Date:February 7, 2011
Pros: plenty of steam, Easy To Clean
Helps us survive the winters 8 yrs running.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HLC51
Chicago
Posted January 8, 2013
Had terrible chest congestion,needed something inexpensive, was easy to use and I could breath better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas
Age:45-54
Gender:female

One Season

Date:January 22, 2011
Pros: good for one season
Cons: Short Lifespan
I purchased this product in 2009. It worked well, produced a lot of steam. There was some charcoal debris floating in the water so the water needed change quite often.
This year it worked only a few times and then just stopped producing steam.
I didn't know what to expect from a humidifier, but it gave me my money's worth.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eden Praire, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Junk

Date:January 18, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: junk
Doesn't produce any steam, returned two before giving up, my bad.
Review 19 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Not a great product

Date:January 11, 2011
My mother-in-law kindly bought this vaporizer for us, but unfortunately, it had been a disappointment. It worked very well initially but eventually stopped producing any real steam. Also, every time we used it a layer of charcoal littered the bottom of the water reservoir. Not sure if that was normal.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Warm Steam Vaporizer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:weston, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female

dont buy it

Date:December 17, 2010
after 4 times of being used it stopped creating steam. Don't be tricked by the price its not worth 5 dollars
5 of 6 found this review helpful.