Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garnier Fructis Style Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Garnier Fructis Style Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit

Finally, you can achieve the perfect, bouncy blow dry! Two easy steps give you frizz-resistant, silky-smooth hair that's easier and faster to blow dry for up to 7 shampoos.Step 1: 20-min smooth-it serum is formulated with a protein building block, found naturally in hair, to smooth and tame unmanageable hairStep 2: heat-activated perfect-it cream, with natural rice oil, helps seal in lasting smoothness and conditioning, and helps create a weightless, humidity-resistant barrier to frizzThis is a non-permanent styling aid. It is not a relaxer or straightener. It is suitable on color-treated hair.var wcCpi = "prod6038723";
Average Customer Rating:
2.421 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
9
6 out of 19(32%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Review 1 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Hair Stuff

Date:March 8, 2013
Pros: easy on the hair
Cons: have to use more than one straightening tool somet
I use this product regularly and wouldn't like to do without it. It is easier to use than some smoothing kits.
Review 2 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female

GREAT PRODUCT!!! BUY IT. USE IT. FABULOUS!!!, Apri

Date:April 21, 2011
Pros: works, second step smells great, love the results
Cons: first step stinks
Hair Type: Wavy Hair
Pros: Easy To Use, Second step smells great, Strong Hold, IT WORKS, Now i LOVE my hair, Controls Frizz
Cons: First step STINKS, A little heavyBest
Uses: Look great all week, Before vacation, Thicker Hair, Travel
Describe Yourself: Beauty Conscious
Bottom Line:Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT. IM so glad garnier did this. I read Many reviews before i used this product so i was worried my hair my fall out if i used it. So i tested a lock of hair in the back of my head first and followed the directions. Everything was OK so the next day i used it like this:
put lotion on my forehead, temples, ears, and neck so the stink and harshness would not soak into my skin.
also lotioned my scalp. i dont need straightener there.
put on the gloves.
applied the STEP 1 to my hair avoiding roots and scalp.
left it on 20-25 min.
rinsed it well.
applied STEP 2.
combed it thru.
blow dried and styled.
my hair stayed as styled with body bounce but straight and shiney. NO fly aways NO frizz!!!!
the only improvement i can think of would be to
find a way to make it a little more lightweight.
but i will use it as is for now!
LOVE IT!!
it has a real bad stink.
the stink goes away.
but while working with STEP 1 it is just BAD!
a little more lightweight.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted September 26, 2012
Horrible product!!!! My hair feels terrible and dry.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Great Results so far...

Date:October 27, 2010
Cons: Smells Bad
GREAT PRODUCT SO FAR, I am loving the way it left my hair.
Review 4 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Wonderful product!

Date:September 24, 2010
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Price, delivers great results
Cons: Smell
This product work just as it states, and is fast and simple to use. My hair is smooth, silky and shiny even after 3 shampoos (Garnier says up to 7) without a sign of slowing down. It dries faster and with so much less frizz.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female

Love it

Date:July 5, 2011
Pros: hair stays frizz free, hair straightens much more easily
Cons: first step stinks
I used this stuff for the first time yesterday. I have to admit, the first step smells horrible. It smells like you're getting a perm or something, it's just all chemicals. But once it's over (I left it in for about 30 min because I have very thick hair) you wash it out and put in the second step. This made my hair very smooth and straight just after blowdrying it. Then I flat ironed it to make sure it would stay straight, and then I put it up in a ponytail because it was hot outside. I kept it in a ponytail all night but let it down before I went to bed. When I woke up this morning my hair looked like it had been just flat ironed and it was still frizz free even though it's very humid and hot outside. I have yet to was my hair and see how long this actually stays in, but I really like this product.
Review 6 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Made my hair smoother.

Date:March 19, 2011
Pros: works well if you follow the directions, made my hair silky and smooth controlled flyaways, Easy application, makes blow-drying/styling so fast for the week aft
Cons: the first product is pretty smellyq, must follow directions completely, should wait 48 hours before shampooing or products
I have relatively straight hair that is very thick - the bottom and some of the little hairs around the edges of my scalp are a different texture and are a little wavy/wirey. I really wanted to just smooth out those areas and also help control some of the fly aways/rogue wavy hairs in other sections.
I followed the directions exactly, and left it on for 25 minutes, since I have such thick hairs. This product was very easy to use but did have a strong odor - I'd recommend sitting outside or in a well-ventilated room while leaving it on for the 20 minutes. I concentrated the product on the middle to ends of the hair and didn't really let it touch my scalp at all. I rinsed it thoroughly, and applied a very liberal amount of the rice oil heat activated straightening serum.
I blow-dryed it straight in the style I usually wear it - I flat ironed some of the unruly sections but also used a large curling iron to curl/flip the ends of some of the layers. I let it cool completely after shaping/styling before brushing or playing with it. I did not use any other chemicals on my hair and waited 48 hours before shampooing again. 7 shampoos later, my hair looks great and is smooth and is very easy to style the way I originally blow-dryed it.
I recommend this if you are going into a week where you'd like your hair styled perfectly and easily with quick blow-drying time. I'll definitely do this about 48 hours before any trips or special occassions so I don't have to spend a lot of time styling my hair.
Review 7 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oakland, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female

ehh...

Date:November 1, 2010
Pros: Adds Shine
Cons: Smells Bad
I didn't notice too much of a difference in my hair when I used this product. It was a little shinier, though. Otherwise, I'm not that impressed.
Review 8 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female

Good But Not Good!

Date:January 10, 2011
Cons: after frizz
OK so i bought this used( by the way the stench was HORRIFIC) it but then after my hair got super frizzy!!!!!! i didnt know what happened but my hair just reacted to the harsh chemicals.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MIlwaukee, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:female

Bad Product

Date:December 21, 2010
This product claims to make "frizz-resistant, silky-smooth hair that's easier and faster to blow dry for up to 7 shampoos." The product may have made my hair dry faster, but it definitely did not keep my hair straight or "frizz-resistant," as my hair curled up as soon as it came in contact with any kind of heat/humidity and looked as curly as normal. According to the box, my hair should have been just right for the product (medium length and thickness, loose spiral curls), but it definitely did not live up to it's promises.
Review 10 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:18-24

Smells HORRID!

Date:November 11, 2010
Pros: slightly smooths
Cons: stinks!!
This made my hair a little smoother which is why I gave it the extra star but it really does smell like rotten eggs! I could smell my hair for days! Not worth your money at all!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female

SMELL!

Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: don't know yet.
Cons: Smell, smell!!!!
Okay I bought this product today because I have fine frizzy hair. Actually it's in my hair as I'm typing this! The smell of the first step is so bad Ive almost threw up about three time already and I'm only 10min. into the first step! If you really want to stop frizz try a hot oil treatment it doesn't smell half as bad! I hope this works! If not I'm going to be one very very very unhappy customer, well more unhappy than I already am. So just because the smell alone I gave it only one star. Sorry they could have done something anything!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:Under 18
Gender:female

Stinky Frizz

Date:May 26, 2012
Pros: Shiny, some what straighter
Cons: Frizz, unhealthy appearnce, looks kind of dried out, first step smells horrible
Okay so I tried this product with high hopes and it turned out to be a real let down. So my hair is a little straighter and it did dry faster but it made my hair FRIZZY and look unhealthy. Like its shiny and all but it just has a dried out appearance with lotsssss of frizz.
also the first steps stench was DISGUSTING!! i can still smell step 1 after step 2. I would suggest just drying your hair and straightening it.. it would look much better than this product. I am very disappointed in garnier and feel as though i cannot trust there products. also it kind of made my scalp sting after drying my hair!
Review 13 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Extremely Damaging

Date:January 24, 2012
Pros: ABSOLUTELY none
Cons: extremely damaging, fries hair especially ends, causes bad split ends to healty hair
I have never had anything bad to say about Garnier Products. In fact, I absolutely love their hair color. However, this particular product is terrible. Just terrible..I have medium length straight hair with a bit of frizz. It is color treated, which the product states that it safe for color treated hair. I had no split ends before the use of the product. Yes, step one smells like rotten eggs, but it's gone as soon as you wash your hair. It was this first step that does the irrepitable damage to your hair. When I went to run a comb through my wet hair, it wa a tangled mushy mess, I could comb and and once I blow dryed it, and ran a straightner through it, it wasn't any better. My hair had kinked-up and it is still slightly kinked three weeks later. My hair had horrible split ends and was very hard to brush or comb especially wet. Step 2, when used alone, would be a decent product. FOr the past three weeks I have curtelled the use of heat on my hair and have had to use very deep conditioning treatments, over night repair and leave in treatments to begin to repair some of the damage done. I had to have 2 inches cut from my hair since, as well. I strongly suggest using an anti-frizz serum to wet hari wsuch and John Frieda. This product is far too harsh to be used unless you have extremely thick, curly hair.
Review 14 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Modesto,Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Dried out my hair BAD.

Date:May 12, 2011
I follwed instructions to the Tee.
My hair is horrible and course!
What a mistate and waste of money this was!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Littleton, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female

My hair is destroyed!

Date:January 24, 2011
Cons: Smells, damaging, Drying
I used this nasty smelling product two months ago (over 20 shampoos) and my hair is a frizzy mess, static all the time and I have lost most of my natural curl. My hair is usually ringlets, now it is stick straight in some spots and normal in others. When I straighten my hair now it is so frizzy, dry and unmanageable. Unfortunately I am unable to wear my hair naturally now either. My previous products also do not work in my hair any longer, I can’t seem to get the frizz gone. Sadly, I am going to have to cut my long hair due to this.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Champaign,Il
Gender:female

Not worth it

Date:November 21, 2010
Pros: slightly smoother
Cons: Bad Smell, Dries out hair, changes texture
As others have warned the smell can be overpowering but that did not bother me too much. After you use it it does make your hair seem dry. I would only recommend using it if you do not plan on wearing your hair curly or wavy after the 7 days. It's been two months since I used it and I finally had to get my hair cut because it changed the texture of my hair so it was less curly well after the 7 days. It also split my ends really badly. I would suggest taking the extra time and using a normal straightening balm each time you blow dry your hair because this is not worth it.
Review 17 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Forest Hills, Ny
Age:25-34
Gender:female

not worth it

Date:November 3, 2010
Cons: Frizz, Static
it made the hair real smooth and easy to blow dry, but after 2 days and even after the first shampoo it has made my hair frizzy and with a lot, I mean a lot of static. yeah my hair it's smoother but just touch it once and all the hairs go up like I just rubbed a baloon on it.
Review 18 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Blow dry fry out

Date:October 26, 2010
This product did work, it did make my hair have more volume and an over all quoffed look but it really really fried my hair out especially the ends and my bangs. The dogs couldn't even stand the smell of it, they came into the bathroom howling. Try it if you want, but I wouldn't.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sleek & Shine Blow Dry Perfector 2-Step Smoothing Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:18-24
Gender:female

Oh well...

Date:October 26, 2010
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Smells, Doesn't Work
This product did nothing to my hair. It is the exact same as it was before except it smells like rotten eggs.