Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SheaMoisture Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo

SheaMoisture Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo

Gently Cleanse & Moisturize HairHeal, Grow & StrengthenNatural & Certified Organic IngredientsSulfate Free & Color SafeThis Sulfate-free shampoo gently cleanses while deeply moisturizing and repairing dry, damaged or over-processed hair.  Our special blend of organic Shea Butter, nourishing Argan Oil and mineral-rich Sea Kelp is perfect for transitioning chemically treated hair to healthy natural hair.Key Ingredients:Sea Kelp:  Mineral-rich nutrition seals & smoothes hair cuticles.Argan Oil:  Restores shine while helping promote hair elasticity.Shea Butter:  Deeply moisturizes while conditioning hair & scalp.No Sulfates, No Parabens, No Phthalates, No Paraffin, No Gluten, No Propylene Glycol, No Mineral Oil, No Synthetic Fragrance, No PABA, No Synthetic Color, No DEA, No Animal Testing.Our Story:Sofi Tucker started selling Shea Nuts at the village market in Bonthe, Sierra Leone in 1912.  By age 19, the widowed mother of four was selling Shea Butter, African Black Soap and her homemade hair and skin preparations all over the countryside.  Sofi Tucker was our Grandmother and SheaMoisture is her legacy.  With this purchase you help empower disadvantaged women to realize a brighter, healthier future.Ethically Traded Ingredients Sustainably Produced.Pioneering Community Commerce and Fair Trade Since 1912.Tested on our family for four generations.  Never on animals.Made in USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
69 out of 74(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Review 1 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:female

Date:September 20, 2012
Pros: Price, Moisturizing, hair dries soft, Smells Great, very sudsy, only takes a little, everything!
Cons: all shea moisture products not avaialable in store, all shea moisture products not available online
Short answer: A must try!
Long explanation :)
I wanted to write this review to help others find this product. I've been trying to use natural products for a while and recently have had a very itchy scalp so I started using Alba's Coconut Moisture Shampoo & Conditioner. I usually buy it from Target @ $12 for 10 oz. It's better than regular products because it uses natural sources for their cleaning ingredients, but the ingredients are still too harsh.
I guess I should back up and say I am white with very sensitive skin and scalp and fine, curly/frizzy, dry, thin hair. Basically a combination for disaster. Oh, did I mention I have oily, acne prone skin on top of all that! My problem is trying to find a product that is moisturizing without being too oily to break out my scalp. I also need something that will not be too heavy so as to weigh down my fine hair. Not an easy task.
I recently researched natural oils online from some Black hair sites. I loved the idea, but it's hard to find the right products that work for white (caucasian) hair as well. I found a product line that uses all natural ingredients and lots of natural oils. Sounds good, except the price $18/bottle for shampoo/conditioner and only an 8-10 oz bottle.
I thought oh well, I'll give it a try and if it works it's well worth the money. I noticed right away the shampoo worked well, but would take a little more than usual which would make it much more expensive to use long term. The main problem was the moisturizing conditioner would not glide through my hair thus not detangling it, which is a huge problem for curly hair. I tried the conditioner I purchased for my son which was created for dry/flakey scalps and it did glide well, but didn't moisturize so I tried mixing them together. It was a good combination, but again very expensive.
I had also tried their soap which made my face red, so when I faithfully came back to purchase some Shea Moisture soap I thought I would give this a try since it was on sale a little. The size of the bottle is great, because it is very sudsy and only takes a little. I like to slather it on so I used a quarter size, but you could definitely use less with great results. I noticed after using the matching conditioner when I first combed my hair after showering it was very detangled, didn't shed as much and my hair just felt smoother.
The big test came after I let my hair air dry into natural curls, which after using the above mentioned brands would dry and become almost stiff and crunchy. Yuck! My hair was nice an soft, smelled great, my scalp was barely itchy (hoping it gets better after using for a little longer since this was my first use).
To make a long story short, I would VERY highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for soft, great smelling hair!
48 of 52 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Moisturizing

Date:March 23, 2014
My hair feels like silk after using this shampoo, especially if I use the matching conditioner.
Review 3 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newport News, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Clean and moisturized without feeling stripped

Date:March 9, 2014
This shampoo is amazing for my fine to medium, type 4 kinky curly APL hair.
Suds factor: Unlike many sulfate free shampoos, this one has plenty of suds so if this is something that makes you feel like you're really "cleaning" then this will give it to you.
Cleanses hair: Made my hair feel CLEAN. One problem I've had with other sulfate free shampoos is the feeling that my hair is "coated" with... ugh, something, after. The consistency of this almost reminds me of a loose clay mixture.
Enhances Moisture: Hair does not feel stripped with this shampoo. Even though it removes all the gunk, hair feels plump after using. This amazed me. Almost as if I had retained much of the moisture from my pre-poo.
Cost Effective: A little goes a long way with this shampoo. It gives so much lather and cleansing factor for a small amount. I really only needed a dollup in my squirt bottle with about an ounce of water and concentrated the nozzle on my scalp. Once the water and the fingers went to work I had a head full of lather. I wash my hair once or twice a week and estimate this shampoo will last me 3 months or more. Not bad for around $10.00, I say.
I've never waxed poetic about a shampoo before but this one right here has inspired me! I am hooked for life.
Review 4 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Great Product!

Date:January 18, 2014
Pros: moisturizing great smell good suds.
Cons: wish it came in larger bottle
Everyone has their own opinion on this shampoo, which is to be expected because all of our hair types aren't the same, but all I can say is, that this shampoo works really good for my natural 4c hair type. Does not dry it out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glyndon, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Wonderful

Date:December 26, 2013
Pros: leaves hair silky smooth without all the chemical.
I've tried just about every shampoo ever made, including Wen. I must say Raw Shea Butter for the value is ten times better than Wen. It does everything Wen does and is much cheaper...I love it! Try it, you'll love it too.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jefferson, SD
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Love this Shampoo...great for dry hair!

Date:December 23, 2013
Pros: Lathers Well, Great Smell
Cons: size of bottle small
I love this shampoo, It lathers up very nice and has a great smell. Decided to try it because I have very dry, damaged hair....With the great price, I even bought some for my sister to try
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mishawaka, IN
Age:18-24
Gender:female

You must try this shampoo!

Date:October 14, 2013
Pros: Great Price, Moisturizing, Lathers Well, Smells Great, soft manageable hair
Cons: did not have much effect on hair-fall.
My quest for a decent shampoo started several months ago. I have never chemically treated my hair and rarely do I heat-style, but stress and likely other factors had been increasing my hair-fall over the past few months. My ends were constantly split and brittle, and the upper and lower layers of my hair felt dry, crunchy, tangly, and just utterly dull and unmanageable. I would wear a ponytail to work every day just to not have to see, feel, or fuss with my awful hair. I've battled with my locks to some degree for probably 6 or 7 years now, but that all changed when I tried this stuff!
I am half-Mexican, half-Caucasian with thick hair that is somewhere in between my dad's stick-straight and my mom's super-curly texture. So... usually it's just big. After experimenting with at least five other "sulfate-free," "natural," "deep-moisturizing," and VERY expensive brands, I saw absolutely no improvement in my hair's life and texture.
DO NOT waste your money on that other stuff!! This shampoo is IT! It may be marketed toward textured hair, but give it a try, whatever hair type you have. I am telling you, my hair is soft, smooth, tangle-free, and utterly touchable. I started noticing improvement after the first wash, and by the third wash I was hooked.
I got a haircut this weekend and my stylist commented on how healthy my hair looked and felt. It held water throughout the entire cut because my cuticles were so moisturized and happy. My hair styles beautifully now. It doesn't become as greasy as it used to between washes, because the shampoo does not strip the root of its oils, which of course causes the hair to overreact and overproduce. On days when I don't style my hair, I notice that the amount of frizz I used to have is drastically reduced, and my hair still shines, even when it's left wavy and totally untreated.
This stuff really works! I don't know what else to say. It smells great, lathers up really well - almost as well as those shampoos loaded with nasty sulfates! - and I usually only have to wash every other day or every third day (depending on whether or not I style it).
Although the shampoo / conditioner did not do as much as I would have liked to counteract the increased hair-fall I started noticing a few months ago, I can't complain. My hair feels full and healthy, even if I still shed a bit.
Sorry for the long-winded review, but as one who always reads reviews before trying a new product, I felt it was my duty to get the word out there about this one. HIGHLY highly highly recommend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Best

Date:October 1, 2013
I love this shampoo. It makes the hair soft and sooo moisturized! It smells fantastic and doesn't strip the hair at all. I'm just not a fan of soending $10 for a bottle of shampoo. The good thing is I only use it a couple times a month on 4B hair.
Review 9 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female

whoa.

Date:September 8, 2013
Starting, I'm caucasian (25) with thick, frizzy, wavy, over-processed hair. I started coloring my hair in 7th grade, and haven't seen my natural hair color since. 6 months ago I decided to highlight my hair from a dark brunette to almost white-blonde, and fried it so bad the ends started breaking off. Had to have almost 6 inches chopped off, and have been trying to keep it moisturized and nourished since. This shampoo has serious miracle power-- It's gentle, yet effective. My hair has bounce, shine, and the wave is starting to show again. I'm so blessed to have found this product!!!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Best Shampoo Ever

Date:July 29, 2013
Cons: None
It left my hair soft manageable and feeling healthy
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:July 27, 2013
This is my staple shampoo! Leaves my hair soft and moist. I absolutely love the fact that it's organic: no colouring or parabens etc. I just wish that Walgreens would seal the bottle properly before shipping. When I receive these the caps seem loose.
Review 12 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marietta, Ga
Age:Under 18
Gender:female

YASS!!!

Date:July 25, 2013
Pros: smell, Organic, Moisturizes, keep hair soft
Cons: Smell, no sulfate, doesnt strip hair
Makes my hair feel moisturized and soft. The smell not all that but its cool. It also doesn't have chemicals in it , which doesn't leave hair stripped! Fave shampoo! Its better than kicky curly come clean in my opiniion.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Charleston, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female

EXCELLENT

Date:July 17, 2013
Pros: great smell gives hair shine and great texture
Cons: Absolutely none
Only used this product and the conditionar once and absolutely love everything about it. It leaves my hair soft and frizz-free. It brought out the natural wave that I have and I didn't even have to style it. I would recommend this product to anyone who suffers from frizzy, dry looking hair.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NASHVILLE, TN
Age:18-24

I <3 THIS STUFF!

Date:July 14, 2013
Pros: smell, Leaves hair soft, Great ingredients, Organic, Great Value, Affordable
Cons: Nothing
omg! This is the BEST shampoo I have ever used in my life! If you have never had a shampoo leaving your hair feeling like it DOESN'T need a conditioner....you NEED this in your life!
This shampoo is for ANYONE who has dry hair...I REPEAT: ANYONE, no matter what race or hair texture you have/are.
Since the main oil is Argan Oil, it DOESN'T leave your hair feeling/looking greasy. So if you have oily scalp & dry hair, your hair will be moisturized w/o your scalp being oily.
**THIS PRODUCT IS A MUST HAVE**
Review 15 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ocala FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Excellent

Date:July 11, 2013
I use all of these products. This really helps in retaining moisture. I am a Natural Hair Diva and this really helped me after my big chop. It's a staple for my hair routine. I would really recommend if your just starting to transition. Excellent
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great shampoo at a great price

Date:May 11, 2013
I decided to try the shampoo because i liked the shea bath wash and the philosophy of the product and its creation. It is a very good shampoo. i need something that will keep my hair healthy from the use of chemicals. this has worked well along with the conditioner, of course.
give it a try!
Review 17 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Great product

Date:April 26, 2013
Pros: Leaves hair clean, Leaves hair soft, no breakage, the value
Cons: i wish they had economical sizes
I have been meaning to try the Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter line for months now, one of friends had actually began using this product line and she swears by it. So I thought its about time I give it a try. This shampoo does what it said it would. My hair is manageable after just one wash. I can actually detangle without using a conditioner, yet my scalp and my hair is left clean of impurities. I love this product and will continue using it. I also use the Masque, Restorative conditioner and the Yucca and Aloe milk and have have already recommended this to friends.
Review 18 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nelson County, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Best Organic Shampoo

Date:March 11, 2013
Pros: gentle & organic, does not rob hair of moisture
Cons: pleasant but strong floral scent
If your hair craves moisture and you want a shampoo that cleans but doesn't rob your hair of it's moisture than this is the shampoo for you! I have been using this shampoo for about a year and can't find anything better that is Organic/All Natural!!
Review 19 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Awesome!!!

Date:February 5, 2013
Pros: Makes hair soft, No build up, Strengthens Hair
Cons: wish it came in a bigger bottle
started using Shea Moisture because of sensitive scalp and allergies to parabens/parafins and other harsh chemicals. I have locks and needed natural products to keep them from being brittle. I love this product and use all of them to include the oil. My hair has never been healthier and in the three years I have had my locks, they are oh so soft and halfway down my back. I always recommend this product to anyone who asks about my locks and to all of my friends. I don't know what I would do if I couldn't find these products.
Review 20 for Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:franklinville, nj
Age:25-34
Gender:female

BUY IT!!

Date:February 5, 2013
Pros: great on dry hair, great on colored hair, works very well in helping to repair split ends, Smells amazing, lathers very thick, has a matching conditioner
Cons: they don't make bigger bottles, can't be found at walmart, some stores jack up the price to high
Do not go with any other shampoo and matching conditioner without trying this first! it works the best on dry hair, hair that's been colored and hair that has split dead ends.. I have used this for months and switched to W*N to try it and was highly disappointed :( I will be buying much more of this!!
1 2 3 4 next>>