Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SheaMoisture African Black Soap

SheaMoisture African Black Soap

To Balance & Resolve Trouble SkinCalm, Clear & HealNatural & Certified Organic IngredientsLeaves Skin Soft & RefreshedOur soothing body bar soap is specially formulated with organic Shea Butter, Oats and Aloe to cleanse, moisturize and comfort irritated skin while absorbing excess oil.  African Black Soap, an honored beauty secret, made from palm ash, tamarind extract, tar and plantain peel, helps to calm and clear blemishes and troubled skin. Leaves skin soft and refreshed.  Perfect for helping relieve symptoms of eczema or psoriasis.Key Ingredients:Oats:  Help soothe irritated skin while absorbing excess oil.Aloe:  Moisturizes & calms dry, sensitive skin.Vitamin E:  A powerful antioxidant highly effective in protecting skin from free radical damage.No Parabens, No Phthalates, No Paraffin, No Gluten, No Propylene Glycol, No Mineral Oil, No Synthetic Fragrance, No PABA, No Synthetic Color, No DEA, No Sulfates, No Animal Testing.Our Story:Sofi Tucker started selling Shea Nuts at the village market in Bonthe, Sierra Leone in 1912.  By age 19, the widowed mother of four was selling Shea Butter, African Black Soap and her homemade hair and skin preparations all over the countryside.  Sofi Tucker was our Grandmother and SheaMoisture is her legacy.  With this purchase you help empower disadvantaged women to realize a brighter, healthier future.Ethically Traded Ingredients Sustainably Produced.Pioneering Community Commerce and Fair Trade Since 1912.Tested on our family for four generations.  Never on animals.Made in USA  
Average Customer Rating:
4.871 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for African Black Soap
Review 1 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:palm harbor, fl
Age:18-24
Gender:female

my miracle

Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy To Use, convenient in stores near you, large bar for the price, wax like wrapper makes it easy to use
This product has proven itself to me in 2 days. I was using, rather expensive, Vichy acne care products and the Shea Moisture African black soap bar has cleared my face to a beauty. I opened the packaging on only 1 end and squeezed the soap out. I use the end of the bar and rub it on my face. I also use a face sponge scrubbing lightly in circular motions to renew my skin. I almost don't have to wear my daily bb cream. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Review 2 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female

A+ product!

Date:January 28, 2014
Pros: Great Scent, Quality Ingredients
Everything about Shea Moisture and its products are A+. I've used various products by it and for quite a while, and they all deliver on every point. No complaints and I highly recommend them. I'm surprised they don't cost more. More specifically, this masque made my hair incredibly healthy-looking and shiny even after blow-drying it. Also, my grandparents were having persistent issues with their skin even after doctor recommendations, but Shea Moisture African Black products were the only ones that helped alleviate their scalp and general skin ailments.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Really great for eczema.

Date:January 25, 2014
This soap has really helped the itching that occurs in relation to my eczema. I recently ordered some of the other scents to try while they were on sale. I can't wait to test them out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good soap but not raw African Blk Soap

Date:January 15, 2014
Smells great and will last a long time because of it's size BUT this isn't %100 raw natural black soap. 100% raw natural black soap is brown and black...not solid black. Other than that this is a great soap. My skin is squeaky clean without feeling dry. I will use this until it runs out and then purchase the natural raw soap elsewhere.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Sauce!!!

Date:December 12, 2013
Pros: long lasting smells great works very well.
Cons: leaves face slightly dry but not too bad
This soap is absolutley amazing, I have tried so many soaps for my acne and I have finally found my perfect match! I had two cyctic acne pimples on my chin and forehead, I used this soap and it was literally gone within 3 days.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:female

African Black Soap...Lovely

Date:November 30, 2013
This soap is a nice sized bar, lathers nicely, and when my husband uses it on his face...it smells heavenly!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted April 8, 2014
This soap is awesome for acne prone skin. I have bad ingrown hairs on back of neck and they are clearing up quickly. Smell is pleasant. No more harsh chemicals.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Erie, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female

The best black soap ever

Date:November 15, 2013
Pros: large sized bar lasts, Great Scent, exfoliating properties, Natural ingredients
I fell in love with this soap from the very first use. The large bar is economical because it lasts. I was saddened to hear that my local Walgreens had stopped carrying it, but lo and behold, as I was preparing to order it online, they have it back in stock! Yay! Works wonders for problem skin anywhere on the body. Wonderful scent, and it helps me to feel really clean. Thanks Walgreens for continuing to offer this awesome product.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get it Tyler

Date:November 7, 2013
I did recommend this product to a friend, because I didnt want to be the only person I knew that could experience the magical properties behind " The Black Paragon"... So get it Tyler..
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:vallejo, ca

afican black soap

Date:October 13, 2013
I love this soap I have eczema and it helps my skin tremendously
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Use it believe it

Date:July 23, 2013
Pros: chemical free, Gentle, Good for acne prone skin
This, my friends, is one of the best kept secrets from around the world. I got my hands on the last piece of this soap at our nearest Walgreens. This is what happened when I used it -
1. It worked as effectively, if not better, as my favorite but more "chemical" facewash
2. Smelled good without being overpowering. It gives a nice smell in the bathroom. And sometimes I can actually smell the soap instead of the room-deo.
3. I got a pimple. Washed it with a lot of this soap at night. Come morning it was gone.
4. My tub does not have any black stains or anything but my towel sometimes catches a bit of grey. (Maybe I didn't wash off properly)
5. My face doesn't feel dry after washing.
6.One problem I am seeing is I am getting a couple of whiteheads that I've never ever had before. But they are not much of a bother. I'll just keep using this soap and see where it gets me.
Oh, BTW, I am not of African ethnicity, so don't let that be a factor in deciding to use this soap or not. Trust me, if you have troublesome skin, you've got to try this atleast once in your lifetime.
19 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tomball, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Great Product! Great Price!

Date:June 8, 2013
Pros: minimal soap scum
I bought several bars of Shea Moisture soaps as stocking stuffers for my family and we all liked them! The African Black is outstanding and has a wonderful aroma. The suds will be dark as a result of the ash used to make it, so it can get messy, but what soap doesn't. The bars are super large. My teens each have their own still after several months!
Review 12 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female

Soothing

Date:May 2, 2013
Soothing to rough dry skin! I have used on broken skin & believe it promotes healing & repairs the area. It does stain your washcloth but not the tub or shower area!!
Review 13 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida

Great for acne

Date:April 30, 2013
I have heard that African Black soap is good for acne. I have been using this product line for weeks and I have yet to find a product I don't absolutely love!
First, this bar is big and I cut it with a butter knife into slices. The smell will make you wan to eat it.
I have noticed a nice, bright glow to my skin and no more acne forming which is amazing for me. It's like the world's best kept beauty secret! I have very sensitive skin and this do not leave a horrible white residue feeling or look but it can be a little drying. I use it every other day and I also use a sugar scrub 2x a week. My skin has never looked better!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jena
Marietta, Ga
Posted July 9, 2013
For acne on your back? Like blackheads or acne on your face??
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WI
Age:18-24
Gender:female

Fantastic!

Date:April 20, 2013
I have never written a review for anything before. This is how impressed I am! I have never had really bad acne, but I have always had very sensitive skin - prone to drying, razor burn, ingrown hairs, bumps on the backs of my arms, occasional breakouts, etc. I tried this and I noticed improvement within a week! The very first time that I used it with gentle exfoliation, small blackheads seemed the roll out off my face (gross but true). All other problem areas also cleared up and/or showed marked improvement. I replaced my normal face wash with it and used it as a replacement for my shaving gel for my legs. Face was nearly perfect and my legs the best they have ever been (no ingrown hairs normally seen from waxing, shaving, chemical remover, etc.). Ran out of it and starting using old products and problems returned. Just bought another bar and plan to always have on hand now.
Bar lasts a long time. Other bars may be cheaper, but the benefits are worth it - especially since it replaced my face cleanser, and shaving products (simplifying is wonderful!).
Leaves black residue in tub and on washcloths. Easily cleaned from tub with cleaning products, but white washcloths become permanently stained grey, even when bleach is used. May not be a problem if you have colored wash cloths. Mesh sponges come clean.
Bar when new has kind of a cherry cough drop scent, but is more vanilla-like as bar wears away. Always leaves the skin smelling pleasant. (interpretation of scent may entirely be my own opinion)
There are no synthetic fragrances or colors. Synthetic fragrances or colors / some other unknown ingredients have begun to cause me problems, which is why I began to explore this product line. The African Black soap (bar) is a winner in my book, which I do not say often.
I am a very fair-skinned white girl. Never be afraid to try products that do not seem to be targeted directly for you.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Wonderful Soap!

Date:April 16, 2013
Pros: wonderful lather, Fresh Scent, Moisturizes Skin, Heals acne, lasts a long time, Well worth the price
Cons: need to buy in quantity!
I wish I could by a CASE of this soap. It has done wonders for my entire body. Acne prone skin went from rough and dry to clear and soft. Even dry trouble spots have healed! No lotion necessary (I can HARDLY believe that!) And it makes a luxurious lather. At 4.99, I buy every bar from the store when I go (usually only one or two are out at a time unfortunately) so I've resorted to online so that I'm never without it.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
krisd
Sun City, AZ
Posted October 11, 2013
This is great! Finding cruelty free at a reasonable price can become a real treasure hunt but this is wonderful. It was the first thing I actually found my husband would use and loved it. You can't get men to take the time to help their skin and this was the perfect solution. He loved it and his skin is so soft, even elbows. I highly recommend this to male and female. It may not be the prettiest but try it, you'll like it............
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female

stock up on this

Date:April 14, 2013
Pros: Scent, Gentle
I love this soap. Great smell and it is huge so it last a long time. I use it as a facial cleanser. Price is way cheaper than any other cleaner, and it cleans my face without irritation.
Review 17 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Charles
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Soft skin

Date:March 26, 2013
Pros: Moisturizing, Exfoliating, Softens Skin, Smells Wonderful
Cons: None
This soap has given me the softest skin. I can't tell you how many people have said "wow" to how soft my skin is. It is also so moisturizing that I haven't needed to lotion my legs but a few times this winter.
Review 18 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female

AWESOME!!!!!!

Date:March 14, 2013
I just purchased this soap for the first time. I am so impressed. The First time I used it it felt so good I reapplied it again within 15 minutes. My skin was so soft, I will definitely recommend this product and purchase it again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Chesterfield, Va.
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Skin Maintenance

Date:March 6, 2013
Pros: effective on acne, Moisturizes Skin
Cons: None
This product is very effective when used daily. I shower and bathe using the soap daily,and have noticed an impressive change of my skin. This soap is the ticket for overall skin maintenance.I.E.,Face,Back,ETC. Looking forward to trying the body wash when I shower.Thanks!Shea Moisture.Very Satisfied!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 20 for African Black Soap
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:All over the USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Good Clean FeelingI

Date:February 11, 2013
Pros: Smells good, skin is soft, skin feels clean
I bought this after reading and hearing many things about African Black Soap. This soap smells sooo good and it does have my face feeling clean and oh so soft, however, this is not what I though it was. I was looking for Raw African Black Soap and this isn't it.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>