Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520

Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520

#1 Brand Trusted Among Pediatricians and Moms*Memory function recalls the last 8 temperature readingsFor infants, children & adultsProven more accurate then rectal or temple**Ensures accuracy every timeFast, gentle & easy to useExclusive pre-warmed tip technologyUnique positioning systemFlexible tip for gentlenessWhy Measure in The Ear?The ear canal is the best site to measure a fever because of its close proximity to the eardrum which shares the blood supply of the brain's temperature control center. This site allows for a more accurate reflection of the body's core temperature.The Braun ThermoScan thermometer has been carefully developed for accurate, safe and fast temperature measurements in the ear.  The shape of the thermometer prevents it from being inserted too far into the ear canal to hurt the eardrum.  Meets the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) accuracy requirement specified in ASTM standard E1965-98 as it pertains to infrared thermometers.Includes:1 - Thermometer1 - Protective Case21 - Disposal Lens Filters2Requires (2) AA batteries (included)Designed in GermanyMade in Mexico*Based on survey of pediatricians in the United States and syndicated ear thermometer data.**Measurements in detecting temperature changes.  Nimah, Marianne M., et al. "Infrared tympanic thermometry in comparison with other temperature measurement techniques in febrile children."  Pediatr Crit Care Med 7.1 (2006):  48-55.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Review 1 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OREGEN

great

Date:December 25, 2013
it's convinent and easy to measure, no great impact to baby, I love it
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female

It's so good

Date:December 3, 2013
It's so good as know you.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Nothing to rant about

Date:April 10, 2013
Pros: QUICK, Easy, pretty accurate (until stops working), name brand
Cons: Stopped working, temp does not light up, takes dispossable tip covers, Costly
I had this thermometer for about 3 years and over the weekend my children were sick when they started feeling better and felt normal to touch it kept reading 102 or 103 etc , had new batteries and everything it just stopped giving accurate readings. I did not want to spend another forty to fifty on a new thermometer so I started looking around, researching etc. and found one I like better. The new one does not need replacement caps is about twenty bucks less and even lights up so the temperature is readable I always hated that the temp on the Braun did not light up. Also, I would have to take the temp a couple times especially in younger children because you have to pull the ear back (As instructed with booklet) and make sure the tip is in the canal to get an accurate reading which can be a bit painful. All in all it’s a good basic (nothing special) digital ear thermometer and it lasted a fair amount of time so I would recommend if you want to spend the extra money and also buy the covers (if you don’t have them it will not take temp & does not work at all!)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
som1
NV
Posted July 15, 2013
I do not own one yet but I was reading on amazon's website reviews and someone posted about needing to re-calibrate the thermometer after using it. The person mentioned that he/she was a nurse and that it was the exact model that they used in the hospital where they worked. So it may not be broken but just need to be re-calibrated. It's something that's worth looking into having spent $50.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product

Date:January 8, 2013
This customer did not provide a text review.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Queens NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male

Great production

Date:December 23, 2012
This customer did not provide a text review.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florence, ky
Age:25-34
Gender:male

Excellent product and must have

Date:December 21, 2012
Pros: quick and correct reading, Handy
Cons: need to buy filters always.
This is an awesome product and is a must have for all families having a kid. As this measures temperature near to the ear and this device gives accurate reading, I liked it a lot. It is performing well.
Review 7 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best to buy

Date:December 3, 2012
Little over pricey and need to get plastic covers.
Review 8 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Excellent Buy

Date:November 28, 2012
Pros: QUICK, Easy
I bought this for my 16 mo old son and it has been terrific! I was using a regular thermometer before this and got tired of the length of time it took to get his temp to read. This thermometer is quick, easy and painless. Which is priceless when you have a busy toddler!
I would definitely recommend this product to anyone with young childern.
Yes, you have to replace the tip covers every time, but they are cheap - just stock up on them and you're set for awhile!
Review 9 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female

ThermoScan 5 Ear Thermometer

Date:October 18, 2012
In a classroom of 8 or 20 children this is the perfect tool to use to assess a child's temperature.
It is fast, accurate, very easy to use and takes very little time to master. It is also easy to use when you are trying to assess a uncooperative child. It works well for us and it is quick. Oh yes, and it is easy to read.
Review 10 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, DE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female

OK, but

Date:June 13, 2012
Cons: having to continually buy plastic covers
The thermometer that you move over the forehead would be easier for both patient & nurse.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:female

fantastic

Date:May 22, 2012
Pros: QUICK, Accurate, Easy To Use, Sanitary
Cons: A little pricey
This product is pricey but worth the money. I have been using a regular thermometer with my daughter which was always accurate. I decided to get something a little more convenient to use, now that she is a toddler, but it needed to be as accurate. I spent money on another product that scans the forehead, about the same price, and it was awful. I returned the product and purchased this one. I can not tell you how much happier I am with this thermometer. It is quick, accurate, and simple to use. It is everything it says it is.
Review 12 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome product

Date:January 13, 2012
I've had mine for over 10 yrs and 4 children. very quick and reliable. I've even purchased 2 for friends as a baby shower gift. Worth every penny
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anand
Posted December 3, 2012
Gr8 to buy
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female

Great Thermometer!!

Date:April 28, 2011
Pros: East to Use, Easy To Store, Works well, Accurate
Cons: is not as accurate on baby as it is on toddler
I bought this thermometer for my almost 3 year old son and it is great!
The temperatures are very consistant and accurate. Temps have been within .5 degrees (often closer) to rectal temp.
Both my older son and my 6th month old tolerate this thermometer well. The only downside is that temps on the baby are a little less accurate, I think because his ears are smaller and the probe cant get in as deep. Either way I HIGHLY recommend it!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
mom2one1boy
illinois
Posted October 3, 2012
I think Gary read the reviews incorrect. She said .5! NOT 5! Point 5 would mean like 98.5 vs 98! That is pretty accurate
Customer Avatar
Gary
Seattle, WA
Posted December 11, 2011
"great thermometer" but within 5 degrees of rectal temperature?
I would think (maybe incorrectly) that a 5 degree spread in temperature is pretty dramatic. 98.6 would be 103.6. a 100 degree temperature would be 105. Based on this, don't think I'll be purchasing one.
Customer Avatar
lila
toronto
Posted November 22, 2011
can i know it made on mexico or germany?
Comments (3)
Comments (3)