Walgreens Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Walgreens Forever Cool Gelmat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walgreens.

Walgreens Forever Cool Gelmat

This product is cool and refreshing when you need it. Inside it is a special gel that becomes cool with contact with your body. The cool feeling helps lower your body temperature and enables you to enjoy a great night's sleep. It provides a cool feeling for up to an hour and naturally refreshes itself as your body changes positions during the night. No refrigeration or electricity required Ideal for at home, in the office, in the car & outdoor activitiesMade in China
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
16 out of 22(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forever Cool Gelmat
Review 1 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cape Coral, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Relief for breast cancer survivor!

Date:July 14, 2013
I survived breast cancer almost 2 years ago but had to start taking Tomoxifin. This prescription pushes you right into menopause regardless of age. Now I know what hot flashes feel like. I get warm enough at night as it is. But it was getting unbearable until I accidentally ran across this on the bottom shelf at Walgreens. Love, love, love it. I keep it tucked in the side rail of the bed frame. When I need it, I slide it on my pillow (half asleep) & can immediately get back to sleep. It stays cool for about 20 minutes. I do see the wrinkles others are talking about that show up over time. I think I'll try to wash it by hand since that seems to smooth some of them out. Regardless, even if it only lasted 6 months before wrinkling, I'd buy one again & again. I have a girlfriend that had to start taking the same pill & she's about 15 years younger than am. I bought the last one off the shelf & gave it to her as a gift. She also uses it every night & calls it a life saver & can't thank me enough. Thank goodness I can still buy it online. My local store no longer carries it.
Review 2 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rochester NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Honestly -Don't waste your money!

Date:June 24, 2013
This thing stays "cool" for about 2 mintues. Then, yes "absorbs your body heat" - TRUE. But what that means is IT HEATS UP. (Think about it, if it absorbs your body heat, it DOESN'T STAY COOL!) IT just then becomes a warm pack. You can flip it, but it's not cool on the other side either. It's a total waste of money.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female

disappointed

Date:June 2, 2013
Pros: helped keep me comfortable
Cons: Does not last long
I purchased this mat about a year ago! It was $40 at the time if I recall right. It initially felt good and helped me with menopausal symptoms. I put it away closet for the winter and when I took it out to use it recently it looks all wrinkled up. I can not sleep on it like this because the wrinkles are everywhere and they are very rigid making it very uncomfortable to lay on. Also, It does not seem very cool any longer either. The outside of the mat is plastic and it appears to have to have possibly shrunk or something which makes it look like I vacuum packed something inside it; with the outside having all these rigid wrinkles on the mat! I am very disappointed and was hoping that I saw someone else with the same problem that possibly had a solution such as wetting or something! I do not know how I feel about spending another $20 plus shipping for another mat that will probably do the same thing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sleepless in St. Louis
Missouri
Posted July 13, 2013
Same thing happened to me, also! It barely lasted a few months, then came the wrinkles, etc.
I also paid about $40 or so at the time, so I was very disappointed. Walgreen's refunded the money or gave me a store credit, I can't remember which.
Customer Avatar
Canver
Las Vegas
Posted July 2, 2013
I had the same problem and Walgreens replaced it as there is an expiration on the box and it was still good.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Large Gel Pad

Date:January 4, 2013
Pros: brings such relief, large pad gives more opportunities to find cool pl
Cons: slides off of my bed easily
Got it as a gift and works wonderful. I like the size as it hits my hips down to my feet. Has definitely lessened my need to a constant blowing of a fan. Pros - size is large enough that I can move and find a cool spot when first one wears out, CONS- tends to slide off on my bed.. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who has body heat problems in any way to get one!
Review 5 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western Wa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female

also bought for dogs fever

Date:October 18, 2012
Pros: Works great, no electricity, use any where
Cons: None
I love our forever cool
First I bought my Mother one to put on her neck. Her neck hurt and the home where she lives is always quite warm. She loves it. Next I bought myself one because my husband likes the room warmer that I do. Cools me enough to get to sleep. My little dog has med problems sometimes and runs a bad fever. I have him sleep on it and it really helps to cool him off when nothing else does. I have three gelmats so I can always have a cool one for him and myself when we need it. I love it and so does Fox. Thank you
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Forever Cool Gelmat

Date:August 7, 2012
Pros: cools great.
Cons: cooling effect dosen't last long enough.
I think it does a good job for me. Wish I had a larger mat to use. It only stays cool for about 20 minutes and then you need to remove it and let it cool off again, so, if continued relief is what you are looking for, this is not for you. Also I use it at night so I have to awake to remove it when its cooling effect is gone. If you have problems getting and staying sleep, it might disturb your sleep habits. My mother has a large size mat she sleeps on every night and loves it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stonrville, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Can't live without!

Date:June 13, 2012
You need to promote these! Anybody who suffers from hot flashes and night sweats needs this product! I've bought many for my girlfriends as gifts! Need to buy more, Don't ever want to be without it! Have it on my night stand, and when I feel the fire building, I grab it and put on top of my pillow. Awwww! Instant relief! Lasts about 20 minutes, then needs to reactivate. Walgreens is the only store that carries these!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NORM
Posted July 12, 2012
DOES IT STILL HAVE WRINKLES IN AFTER IT'S WASHED ?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:female

summer heat relief!

Date:June 4, 2012
Pros: it works for a short time!, Good Value, no weird smells, no advance preperation
Cons: the coolness only lasts a short time, the pad is kind of small
I bought this product in the store because our upstairs bedroom was too hot at night in the summer and it sounded helpful. What a cool relief if was! I put it under the sheet on top of the matress and experienced a rapid cooling effect in my upper back area. I fell asleep very fast but woke up hot again an hour later. It's great for a temporary cool down but doesn't last all night. I'm pleased with it and might buy another for the lower back area or rotate them out through the night when one gets too hot.
Review 9 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Good Way to Chill

Date:April 19, 2012
Pros: relatively inexpensive solution, doesn't have to be refrigerated, Actually works
Cons: the large pad is too heavy to use as a travel pad, both wrinkled but smoothed after washing, retains heat for a while
It's a relatively inexpensive way to help chill out despite the hot flashes. It does absorb the body heat (not sure how it does that), but does the trick in keeping me cool. I will say that the mat I use in my bed is firm and initially a bit uncomfortable to use under the sheet. However, being a side sleeper the heat isn't an issue for me, and everything to do with every little bit helping to offset too much heat. I like the little pad for my desk chair and helps ease some of the same issues, as well as easing the pain in my back from sitting too much.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Russ
Salt Lake City, UT
Posted April 23, 2013
This product does work when new. The problem arises when the coating develops wrinkles that cannot be removed. It is as if the material in the gelmat shrinks and can no longer displace the required volume. The outer coating wrinkles and the wrinkles keep you from being comfortable and degrade the cooling ability. This happened to mine well before two years.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Chester, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female

Worked

Date:April 16, 2012
Pros: keep cool
This product does what it said it will do cool you off for 15-20 mim. Then you remove it let the product cool off and when you sit or lean on it again it cools you off again.
4 co-workers all bought it for use in office with leather chairs and it does the job. No more sweaty back. Place this on your back leab in the chair and your good to go. works well for long car rides also. Just do not leave it in the car,.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SW Wisconsin
Age:45-54

Cools me off

Date:March 25, 2012
Pros: instant cool without refridgeration
Cons: wish it would stay cool longer
I purchased this mat because of night sweats. It cools me off and absorbs the heat from my body. I agree with the other reviewers, the mat retains the heat so it is necessary to let it cool off after about 30 minutes. I don't know how it works but I am pleased with the product.
Review 12 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Review of

Date:January 23, 2012
I bought to put in my pillow to hopefully stop my head from sweating. Two days in and I am going to return it, sweat the exact same. Waste in my Opin.
Review 13 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65

Does the job!

Date:January 10, 2012
Pros: Keeps you cool
I bought one of these to replace ice packs for my knees at night. Works like a charm. I wish it lasted more than 30 or so minutes. But it works so well that I bought one for my daughter. She took it to work for her back. The secret to having it when you need it is to roll off of it after about 30 minutes. In about the same amount of time it will be ready to cool you again.
Review 14 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Hot Flash Help

Date:October 24, 2011
Pros: great size. folds for travel
I was experiencing hot flashes and especially at night. My sister recommended this pad and it works so well I bought another. Anyone suffering from hot flashes at night should sleep on one of these.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female

LOVE it

Date:September 14, 2011
Pros: no refridgeration required, easily packed into a suitcase
I bought this as a desparate measure when the power was out in June. I couldn't sleep because it was so hot, so I went to Walgreens hoping to find a battery operated fan. I put this on my pillow for my pre-men. night sweats. It stays cool long enough to cool me off and then it regenerates itself in an hour or so (just set it aside...no refridgeration required). I use it all the time now! Love it, love it, love it!
Review 16 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Brewer,Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Wouldn't buy

Date:September 11, 2011
Cons: doesn't stay cool
Was so happy to find this product but it doesn't keep you cool. Had a chillo before and there is no comparison. Tried moving forver cool around but it was still hot
Review 17 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:female

Forever cool gelmat

Date:August 27, 2011
I love this gel mat--- it really helps keep my pillow cool all night!!! The night sweats are more bearable with this gel mat. I even have one to use on the couch at night!
Review 18 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female

Not Just for Hot Flashes

Date:August 25, 2011
Pros: Good concept
Cons: coolness duration is short
Although advertised for menopausal hot flashes, I found that this product also worked for muscle aches requiring coolness (not super cold). My disappointment was that it only worked about 20 minutes until becoming very warm. As indicated in the directions, moving the pad around promoted the return to coolness (just moving your body around was not enough).
The concept is great; just wish the coolness lasted at least an hour so I could continue to sleep.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted September 4, 2011
i bought my mom the bed size matt and she loves it. i went back to find another for my sister and myself.. the website dont have them. help me.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lincolnton, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:female

love it

Date:August 18, 2011
I originally bought the bedmat for my fiance b/c it was on clearance. I bought it b/c he has literally woken up more than once hugging the cold air vents in our bedroom. I put it on the bed and when he laid down he was like "why is the bed so cold?!" Then he fell in love with the cool feeling it gave him. Worked until he fell asleep almost an hour later and then he said as he changed positions through the night it actually stayed cold. I bought one the next day for my pillow and even though it's a little hard to sleep on, it's good to keep my face cool on the pillow! love it :)
Review 20 for Forever Cool Gelmat
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
I was hoping this would be a winner but after a few minutes of cool it heats up and stays very warm. No amount of moving around made it get cooler.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sammy
Grand Rapids MI
Posted August 6, 2012
I have the same problem. I have had it a year and now it won't get cool at all. It has been a hot summer. I hope it gets cool again this fall. I miss it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>